We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Discovery”
Review of The Old Bell Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Bell Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Delph B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2017

We needed accommodation for a couple of nights when we attended a family celebration in nearby Dobcross. Never been here before but knew we'd made the right choice as soon as we arrived. Staff were friendly, helpful and good at their jobs. We had Sunday lunch which was yummy (I had a half portion of lamb in order to have enough room for pudding and had the most delicious crème brulee ever) accompanying veges were fresh and perfectly cooked, hubby's beef was so tasty and tender too. Barstaff know their stuff and have a happy blend of friendliness and skill. Do try a gin or two! Our room was so pretty (16) with a charming brass & China bedstead, oodles of storage space and a very modern en suite. Comprehensive hospitality tray (small bottled water would have been perfection but local tap water is very good) we were on the front but the road has little traffic and looks out to trees, personally I like a road view anyway. The wall art was tasteful and subtle. Housekeeping full marks discreet but very efficient. Breakfast was lovely, I can be so fussy with fried eggs that are a tad undercooked etc but these were perfect, very tasty sausage, tomato, field mushrooms etc. Sorry I couldn't sample all the other cooked breakfast dishes too or the restaurants evening menu. Restaurant managed by the loveliest of ladies. I've worked in customer service and this hotel has certainly got it right. Thankyou for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Room 16 modern, up one flight of stairs, light,airy. Light traffic, Firm mattress. Over bath moderns...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PeteandMaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theoldbellinn, Manager at The Old Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Hi, thank you very much for your very kind review, it is very much appreciated.

We are delighted you enjoyed your couple of nights here and found your bedroom comfortable and inviting, our food good and the atmosphere and staff friendly and helpful.

Hope to see you again in the future.
Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (398)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 398 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2017

Stopped off here for dinner and an overnight stay while on business. Very friendly greeting, good bar with amazing selection of gin's over 750! Dinner was very nice good variety on the menu all of which was cooked as ordered. Simply said this place does what it says on the tin.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Gary4407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theoldbellinn, Manager at The Old Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Hi Gary, thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We are really pleased you enjoyed everything we have to offer here at The Old Bell Inn and look forward to seeing again in the future.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

Broke journey here for one night. Staff very friendly and helpful, particularly the bar staff who showed us to our room. Stairs were very steep and narrow so not advisable to visit here if you are unfit! Room was average size with lovely welcoming tray of various teas, coffee and biscuits. Lovely toiletries in en suite and everywhere clean. Pleased to see mattress and pillow protectors but oh dear - the duvet!! It weighed a ton and it was a very warm night so we didn't get much sleep. Summer tog duvet would have been much appreciated or even just a spare sheet. The evening meal was very good value for money and the fresh coffee and breakfast were excellent as was the lady who served us. She was so helpful and friendly - gold star to all the staff we met. Amazing selection of gins - 878 we were told so my husband was in 7th heaven!! We have stayed at hundreds of B&Bs throughout the UK and although we thought this was good, we thought it was a tad expensive compared to others we had stayed in which cost much less. However. It was an enjoyable experience and would have no problem staying there again. Definitely recommended. Thankyou!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GP45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

Lovely cosy pub, chosen as going to birthday party In area. Attentive staff!, hugh selection of gins,(if you like gin it's heavenly) breakfast nothing special, bedrooms need soundproofing!!! Small room but did ask for Standard room, fine for one night overall good stay.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poppins1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

A group of 5 of us stayed one night bed and breakfast while attending an event in nearby Uppermill.
We had a bar lunch and breakfast and neither could be faulted. The food takes a little longer to appear as it is all cooked to order...don't mind the wait in that case.
Rooms were not huge but well appointed and comfortable beds.
Will certainly stay there again if for no other reason than to sample more of the gin they have....hundreds of different ones! Excellent!

Room Tip: Have one of the new "annex" ones (accessed from outside not inside the hotel).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howardp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theoldbellinn, Manager at The Old Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Hi, thank you for your review. It is very much appreciated.

We are really pleased you all enjoyed your stay and everything we have to offer here. Our rooms do vary in size from a small double, standard and superior depending on availability and price you wish to pay. All of these are on the website with prices for future reference.

It would be lovely to see you again when you can try a few more gins!

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Delph
1.3 km away
The Gate Inn
The Gate Inn
#1 of 1 in Diggle
63 reviews
1.9 km away
Saddleworth Hotel
Saddleworth Hotel
#1 of 1 in Delph
320 reviews
4.2 km away
Clough Manor
Clough Manor
#1 of 1 in Denshaw
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 km away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#4 of 11 in Oldham
541 reviews
3.5 km away
The White Hart Inn at Lydgate
2.8 km away
Grains Bar Hotel
Grains Bar Hotel
#3 of 8 in Oldham
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Bell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Bell Inn

Address: 5 Huddersfield Road, Delph, Oldham OL3 5EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Oldham > Delph
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Delph
Price Range: $162 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Bell Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Bell Inn is an 18 bedroomed, four star AA & VisitEngland accredited inn. There is a Brasserie and a Restaurant where local head chef creates exciting dishes using fresh, locally sourced produce. Head Chef's 'Signature Menu' has been awarded a coveted AA Rosette for culinary excellence. Over the past few years The Old Bell Inn has established itself as one of the finest venues in Saddleworth, with an excellent reputation for service, dining and accommodation. This 18th century Coaching House is steeped in history and has been carefully transformed to reflect a clever mix of traditional old English charm with contemporary luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Old Bell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing