We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous weekend staycation”
Review of Mandoon Estate

Mandoon Estate
Ranked #2 of 17 Restaurants in Caversham
Price range: AU$8 - AU$68
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are a small village of makers, doers and delighters that strive to create perfect days, whatever your idea of perfect is.
Reviewed 16 August 2021

My husband and I had a two night stay at Mandoon this weekend and were very impressed with all the facilities. We had an executive room at The Colony which was very clean ,comfortable and well appointed.
The first night we ate at The Wild Swan choosing the degustation menu with wine parings. It was fabulous and we thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The staff were excellent and very attentive.
The following day we did the guided tour and tutored wine tasting with Robert, who was very informative and entertaining and again thoroughly enjoyed the experience. That night we ate at The Homestead and we were again impressed with the wait staff and the quality of the meals.
The estate is well maintained with lovely grounds and many options to choose from. It can be a one stop venue for a relaxing experience or a base to venture out to the surrounding areas.
It was capped off by being a prime spot to watch the Avon descent competitors on the Sunday.
Overall we could not fault Mandoon Estate and can only highly recommend it to everyone.
We will definitely go again. Well done to Mandoon management and staff!

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank 943marleneg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,047)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 55 of 1,047 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2021

We decided to stay at The Colony, Mandoon as part of the WA government staycation promotion. We upgraded to a 'Superior' room as we were there for two nights. The upstairs room consisted of an outdoor balcony with a lovely view onto the Swan river, large comfortable bed and ensuite. All very clean and well presented. We had robes and slippers which is part of the upgrade. The accommodation is situated amongst the grape vines which was really nice. Parking was right outside the door.
Room service was fast and good, pizza was excellent and only a couple of dollars more than at the brewery
One thing I really appreciated was that the wines in the mini bar were exactly the same as at the cellar door, such a nice change to the normal exorbitant charges.
We enjoyed breakfast on both days at the brewery restaurant, servings were flavoursome and generous and the serving staff very helpful and cheerful.
Can certainly recommend the cellar tasting, there is a charge but that is negated if you buy wine.
Being in the heart of the Swan Valley it is really easy to get out and about to the local attractions.

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 May 2021

In the past my wife and I and our friends have had great events and dinners at Mandoon. However the events of yesterday need to be addressed. We arrived as a part of a prepaid wine tour, where we had pre ordered our meals. The meals were put out on the table before we arrived and none knew where their meal was, we had to move the meals around until we all had what we had ordered, the staff showed no interest in helping us. Two meals were not served until most had already finished their meal. Most admitted that whilst their meal was not hot enough they were happy. Some however were not, the lady opposite me had a pizza swimming in oil so much that she had to eat it with a knife and fork, the lady next to her had to have her meal replaced as hers was Stine cold. Many meals were left unfinished. I had ordered a burger that whilst not really hot was tolerable. However when I got half way through it was clear that the centre was cold and uncooked, it was red and bleeding. Whilst I think this is ok in a steak or even a burger for that matter, it should be as a result of being cooked that way, not uncooked as a result of cold or frozen meat. I very politely pointed this out and was offered another, but was not willing to wait so was happy with chips, also cold. The manager, a guy with a French accent was fine at first, then had a really pathetic and childish reaction, defending the meal, saying he had stuck his finger in it and it was warm. So essentially and publicly calling me out as a lier. So I never asked for anything, never complained and never wanted a refund, why would I lie? Furthermore, when you are given feedback and seeing the poor service already, you should really have just took it on the chin, apologised and moved on, I WANTED NOTHING FROM YOU. Childish tantrum ensued, I just kept asking him to stop and move away, felt really threatened as he was now standing over me and shouting. The tour operator had to move in to calm the guy down, and took a photo of the bloody burger as evidence. Great restraunt other than that!

Date of visit: May 2021
3  Thank Destination820194
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 May 2021 via mobile

This is a fabulous winery/ brewery which provides a fantastic area in which to enjoy a day out. Having a restaurant, brewery, winery and outdoor entertainment area with bars and food allows a lot more options for people.

There were lots of families here with kids on the grassed banks. We had a 90 minute time slot inside the restaurant and enjoyed their craft beers, wines and meals.

Following this we found a table outside and had a couple more drinks whilst enjoying the sun. As Mandoon grounds abut the Swan River we followed the staircase down to the rivers edge/ jetty.

This is a fabulous place for a reception or a wedding and actually a wedding party was arriving as we were leaving. This is a worthwhile place for a visit.

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank Chizzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 April 2021 via mobile

Paid $800 for the Ultimate Experience package for our 20th wedding anniversary - estate tour, wine tasting, 6 course degustation at Wild Swan, overnight accommodation, breakfast at the Homestead Brewery. Turned out to be anything but the “ultimate” experience. The degustation courses at Wild Swan were extremely rich, starting with lamb tartare which looked like a raw lamb patty and tasted like minced meat. The morning after consisted of stomach cramps and severe diarrhoea which lasted more than 24 hours and required time off work. Mandoon offered a $44 refund for our cancelled breakfast and a promise to look after us the next time we dine at Wild Swan - needless to say there won’t be a next time but great to know we are valued customers.

Date of visit: April 2021
2  Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Travers O, General Manager at Mandoon Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2021

Hi miccy72, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I can only re-iterate what was discussed over the phone with you several times. It seems that you are providing a 1 star review because you believe you contracted food poisoning from our restaurant. As we discussed, both of you had the 6 course degustation, along with 25 other diners that night, and many more on our a la carte menu. Only 1 of you showed symptoms later that evening. No other guests have contacted us with any complaints.
It is extremely unlikely that your degustation was the cause of any illness - especially since you both ate exactly the same food!
There is always a "red flag" when someone complains like this, and repeatedly asks for compensation. May I also add that Lamb Tartare is exactly that - raw minced meat.
Putting all of that aside - we never want our guests to leave unhappy, and we did promise to look after you on your return. Clearly you are unsatisfied that you could not walk away with a financial settlement. Perhaps next time, you should both claim to have had food poisoning - it may carry more weight!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mandoon Estate also viewed

 

Been to Mandoon Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.