We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winery/Brewery near Perth”
Review of Mandoon Estate

Mandoon Estate
Ranked #2 of 17 Restaurants in Caversham
Price range: AU$7 - AU$67
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are a small village of makers, doers and delighters that strive to create perfect days, whatever your idea of perfect is.
Reviewed 3 May 2021 via mobile

This is a fabulous winery/ brewery which provides a fantastic area in which to enjoy a day out. Having a restaurant, brewery, winery and outdoor entertainment area with bars and food allows a lot more options for people.

There were lots of families here with kids on the grassed banks. We had a 90 minute time slot inside the restaurant and enjoyed their craft beers, wines and meals.

Following this we found a table outside and had a couple more drinks whilst enjoying the sun. As Mandoon grounds abut the Swan River we followed the staircase down to the rivers edge/ jetty.

This is a fabulous place for a reception or a wedding and actually a wedding party was arriving as we were leaving. This is a worthwhile place for a visit.

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank Chizzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,046)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 58 of 1,047 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2021 via mobile

Paid $800 for the Ultimate Experience package for our 20th wedding anniversary - estate tour, wine tasting, 6 course degustation at Wild Swan, overnight accommodation, breakfast at the Homestead Brewery. Turned out to be anything but the “ultimate” experience. The degustation courses at Wild Swan were extremely rich, starting with lamb tartare which looked like a raw lamb patty and tasted like minced meat. The morning after consisted of stomach cramps and severe diarrhoea which lasted more than 24 hours and required time off work. Mandoon offered a $44 refund for our cancelled breakfast and a promise to look after us the next time we dine at Wild Swan - needless to say there won’t be a next time but great to know we are valued customers.

Date of visit: April 2021
2  Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Travers O, General Manager at Mandoon Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2021

Hi miccy72, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I can only re-iterate what was discussed over the phone with you several times. It seems that you are providing a 1 star review because you believe you contracted food poisoning from our restaurant. As we discussed, both of you had the 6 course degustation, along with 25 other diners that night, and many more on our a la carte menu. Only 1 of you showed symptoms later that evening. No other guests have contacted us with any complaints.
It is extremely unlikely that your degustation was the cause of any illness - especially since you both ate exactly the same food!
There is always a "red flag" when someone complains like this, and repeatedly asks for compensation. May I also add that Lamb Tartare is exactly that - raw minced meat.
Putting all of that aside - we never want our guests to leave unhappy, and we did promise to look after you on your return. Clearly you are unsatisfied that you could not walk away with a financial settlement. Perhaps next time, you should both claim to have had food poisoning - it may carry more weight!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2021 via mobile

Frequent flier at Mandoon. It is a great place to sit outside and enjoy the sunshine on a picnic rug near the outdoor bar while the kids run around.

The indoor bar and restaurant area are great for couples. Beers from their brewery are all recommended and can be tried on their tasting paddle.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank willa256
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 April 2021 via mobile

We had the most amazing experience on Friday 02.04.21. We’ve never had a dining experience like it, where the service from all of the staff members were so professional. It was unbelievable with their attention to detail with everything. The food and wine is some of the Western Australian’s finest. We can’t wait to come back ❤️

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank benncunningham
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 March 2021

Went to The Lawn over two consecutive weekends recently with family. The Sunday afternoon was bustling and very busy and enjoyable, drinks were icy cold and pizzas were delicious but the following Saturday afternoon was a different story. Very disappointed with the pizzas on this visit. Paid $26 for a BBQ pulled pork pizza and literally got a base covered in a sauce, several pieces of dried pork, some fresh sliced chilli and 4 basil leaves. That was it!! Also the buzzer we were given did not work and when given back to staff I explained it did not go off, suggest check the battery only for her to put it back on the pile for the next unfortunate soul. Big money for less than acceptable pizza. Hope you lift your game for our next visit.

Date of visit: March 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank helenl75
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Mandoon Estate also viewed

 

Been to Mandoon Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.