We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dissappointed but Didn't wallow in it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Swan Valley Oasis Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Henley Brook
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dissappointed but Didn't wallow in it!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2011

I booked into the Oasis as I was doing the Degustation dinner at Dear Friends Restaurant nearby and didn't want to drink drive. The lady who booked me in didn't know where Dear Friends was (its a significant landmark you should know!). I asked for a nice room as it was for my Bday and we ended up on the ground floor facing the carpark - it would have been appreciated to be overlooking the pool or something nicer. The price is pretty steep for what you get - $195 which was just a simple small room with newish furnishings but was nothing special and lacked character. There are no movie chanels just standard tv which is a disappointment too. The spa bath which is what I booked it for, was nice enough for 2. But they turn them off from 11pm because of the noise. The walls are paper thin so you can see why they do that.
The only time I would stay here again is if I was to make a weeknd of it and use the facilities at the resort ie: go to Mash Brewery for lunch, do a round of supa golf or laser tag or something to make it more worthwhile. Otherwise I'd rather stay elsewhere as it was very expensive for what you got.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle80Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    17
    18
    13
    22
See reviews for
17
33
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cunderdin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2011

I travelled with our ladies hockey team and we rented 2 chalets for the night . One priced at 460.00 / per night and the other at 370.00 / per night so we thought we were in for a nice place to stay - how wrong were we !! Upon check in there was an issue that we didnt have the receipt of the deposit on us so our Secretary had to go back to the car and get it - wouldnt they have a copy on their system ?

We received a map to the chalets on which included a swimming pool , chess, bocce and animals amongst the settings , looked great . The swimming pool was a concrete hole in the ground not used for swimming and the surroundings was full of weeds . The grass and surrounds at the back of our chalets was very over grown and unkept , and the only animals I seen was 2 emus - why give guests upon arrival a map with all this when it is simply not there !!

The chalets inside themselves were not very clean , dried snot on the bedroom wall , exhaust fan in toilet covered with dust , dead bugs & insects on window sills , floor etc , just to list a few . I got out of the shower and wiped a small amount of water off the floor and my towel was brown - not to sure last time the floor was mopped .

We decided to go back to reception and let them not that we werent happy with the chalet and the price we had paid not cheap 460.00 / per night . Myself and 3 other ladies were taken into the meeting room of the business with the owners , may I say he was the rudest most unpleasant person I had ever dealt with in business.

We POLITELY expressed our concerns and when I mentioned this in comparison to the price you pay in Bali we were then told " Get your cheque and p*** off then " Had this been a viable option for us at 7.30pm we would have more than kindly done that .

We then asked if they would consider reducing their rate as they told us we could change to spa apartments . We were showed 2 of these and they smelt terrible and didnt present to be exceptionally clean either . The pool behind the reception had a green tinge to it and the spa was out of order !!

We checked out early the next morning and upon arrival at reception and the discount was enquired about the managers didnt even have the decency to come and discuss this , they spoke over the phone . So a 60.00 deposit was given off 830.00 and then they tried to charge us an extra 30.00 for linen ??

The staff at the Supa Golf , Laser Corp and Mash Brewey ( all on the grounds ) we fantastic couldnt fault them.

But the SVO , rudest business people I have ever met , very over priced accomodation , unclean rooms , chalets and surroundings it has to be the biggest disapointment in the Swan Valley .




.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Conjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Henley Brook hotels

Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2011

We had a girls weekend away here which we booked 2 challets at a cost of $460 for one room and $370 for the other. Dealing with them on the phone before hand was a nightmare and after faxing my deposit receipt through twice before I was told they had not recieved it on arrival.
After arriving at our challets which were located a fair distance from the pool etc the sight was far from a resort. The garden was disgusting out the front and walking to the rooms it looked like an outback camping site. The backyard was even worse with unmowed lawns, garden beeds full of weeds, and broken clothes airers lying in the lawn.
We spoke to management to complain and when we told them we were not happy his response was "give them their cheque back and they can PI*S off"
They said they were willing to let us swap rooms but the other rooms were small and smelly. Then we got told the spa was out of order and the pool was a 10 minute walk from our room. The pool that is "supposed" to be across from our rooms was a big hole in the ground full of green water. When we questioned management about this he said "sorry i have been on holidays for 3 weeks"
About half an hour later at 7pm we had a knock on the door asking if they could mow the lawn while we were sitting out there relaxing.
The next morning on check out and payment time we were told it was $890 and when asked why they told us it was for a linen charge????? After speaking to management AGAIN we didnt have to pay it and they gave us a $60 discount - from a $830 stay we did not feel this enough.
The management were rude, they did not seem to care about what we had to say and were not interested in makin our stay enjoyable at all.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anwa83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2011

We booked a night at Swan Valley Oasis as our friends were holding their wedding reception at a near by venue. We decided to treat ourselves and book a "Romantic Package", which the website states includes spa room with king size bed, chocolates and bubbly on arrival and fully cooked breakfast the next day - the cost for this package was $270, an additional $75 over the (already quite expensive) room rate of $195.

On arrival we went to reception where we were given our room key and told that the fully cooked breakfast would be the buffet, and did not include hot drinks - ok, not what I was expecting but fine. We then went to our room, which was neat but very small and quite dingy. On the bed was a heart shaped cloth, a computer printed piece of paper with a tacky misspelt poem and pixellated illustration on it, and a tiny box of generic sea shell chocolates that you can buy for a few dollars at discount stores like the reject shop. The bubbly was a cheap brand from SA.

For a few extra dollars spent, SVO could have provided some quality but not overly expensive chocolate like lindt, ferrero rocher or baci, or even Margaret River Chocolate Factory, who have a store in the Swan Valley! The same goes for the wine - the hotel is in the Swan Valley where wine is an industry - why not a quality bottle of local wine? The cost difference would be small, but it would feel much more personal and leave customers feeling like they had got at least SOMETHING of value for their money. The whole set-up just felt like they were trying to do everything as cheaply as possible.

Breakfast the following morning was just ok - typical breakfast buffet fare. The restaurant was hot and stuffy inside so we opted to sit outside where we were constantly bothered by the flies that seem to hang around the grounds - we had the same fly problem the previous day when having a drink at Mash Brewery which is on SVO property (we had no such problems at the wedding venue which is only a few 100 metres up the road). Eating breakfast with one hand while using the other to wave above the plate to shoo away flies does not make for a pleasant meal time, and we finished up quickly and left.

Overall a disappointing experience that was terrible value for money. NOT recommended.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank perthkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2011

Upon arrival we decided to upgrade our room to a suite where we were then moved 3 hours later because the airconditioning didnt work. Room to follow was clean but there was no dvd player and when we went to use the spa water came out of the vent flooding bedroom. meal at the restaurant was poor ordered tandori Chicken received satay curry chicken with rice that was hard and needed knife to cut it. The worst possible thing about the oasis is when we asked to talk to management about our concerns the management argued and spoke to us in a deeming manner. Another management co owner then came to our room and his excuse was that his wife was tired after travelling!..

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank coleman_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Henley Brook
10.2 km away
The Rose & Crown Hotel
The Rose & Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Guildford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
5.1 km away
The Novotel Vines Resort Swan Valley
5.0 km away
The Sebel Swan Valley the Vines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 km away
Discovery Parks - Perth Vineyards
7.5 km away
Midland Tourist Park
Midland Tourist Park
#1 of 1 in Middle Swan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
6.1 km away
Kellers Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Valley Oasis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Valley Oasis Resort

Property: Swan Valley Oasis Resort
Address: 10250 West Swan Rd, Henley Brook, Swan Valley, Western Australia 6055, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Swan Valley > Henley Brook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Henley Brook
Price range (per night): $118 - $191
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swan Valley Oasis Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As an owner operated business we can offer our guests warm, flexible hospitality. We are located just 35 minutes from the CBD and 20 minutes from the airports. We're in the Swan Valley, Western Australia's oldest wine growing region, which means you can enjoy the feel of the countryside with the convenience of access to the city. The resort is set in 63 acres of landscaped gardens with an Aboriginal gallery and gift shop, a micro brewery, supa golf and laser tag all on site. There are 43 wineries within easy reach as well as restaurants, breweries and attractions. Some within walking distance. Enjoy a visit to the wildlike park, the ice creamery and English lolly shop, the cuddly animal farm and the reptile park. Or just chill out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Swan Valley Oasis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Valley Oasis Resort Henley Brook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing