We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value hotel on Southern Upland Way”
Review of Kenmuir Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kenmuir Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 New Luce B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 May 2017

Stayed here on a recent MTB trip with friends riding the Southern Upland Way. Good value particularly the evening meals. Warm and welcoming staff. Great location by the river in the centre of the village. Quiet. Nice wee bar. Free wifi but Internet a bit intermittent. Recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KevinDish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

We found the Kenmuir arms online after a last minute decision to book a hotel instead of camping due to the weather.

The very good reviews, rural location & reasonable prices won our booking.

On arrival the host was very welcoming & showed us to our room. The room was exactly as advertised & had a comfortable bed.

We had a few dinks in the bar & our evening meal in the hotel. As per the reviews on here the food was spot on. Good quality food, cooked well, excellent service & reasonably priced. I would definitely look forward to the breakfast again!

The hotel owners & local people in the bar where all very friendly & welcoming.

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to New Luce & look forward to our next visit!

We wish the owners of this hotel a very happy retirement!

Phil & Sam

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

After a wet and windy walk on the Southern Upland Way we discovered The Kenmuir Arms in the lovely village of New Luce, and were very pleased by the warm welcome we received, the good beer and an excellent evening meal in the bar at very reasonable prices.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank paularnesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2016

The Kenmuir Arms is off the beaten track, yet close to Stranraer and the ferry for Ireland. It's also in beautiful countryside. You'll not 'stumble' across this place unless you're lost! We travel by motorcycles and so any reviews I write are with this in mind and at the forefront of my consideration. I will only review a hotel if I would stop there again ...

A warm welcome, friendly natives, good, simple, wholesome and nicely prepared food ... and I will stay here again on my motorcycle trips to the Emerald Isle.

Room Tip: Is it a 'Romantic Hotel'? Ha ha ... silly question, that rather depends on who you go with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2016

We stayed 2 nights 18 to 19th March. The proprietors said this was off the beaten track. Not so, it is only 9 miles to Stranraer, so is ideally placed for exploring the Rhins, the Machars and the Galloway Forest Parks. Dumfries itself is little more than an hour away ! If you are more energetic it is idal for golfers, fishermen, hill walkers and shooting parties. Room clean and tidy, and very comfortable. Breakfast is booked the night before using a tick list, and is very good. Public bar is cosy and well stocked, the Red McGregor is a pint to die for. The restaurant is reasonably priced, and has a varied selection and is extremely well prepared. Highly recommend a visit if you are in the area. Mr and Mrs A W.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Kenmuir Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenmuir Arms Hotel

Address: 31 Main Street, New Luce, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > New Luce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in New Luce
Hotel Class:3 star — Kenmuir Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Luce is a tiny village, 9 miles north of stranraer, and 5 miles north of Glen Luce. It is a small Hotel catering for walkers, fishermen and tourists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Kenmuir Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing