We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (792)
Filter reviews
792 results
Traveller rating
405
209
95
54
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
405
209
95
54
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teawedding venuelong gallerymain buildingbeautiful venuechestnut suitebridal suitewet roomdrawing roomdaughters weddingwedding breakfastgrounds are stunningwalk in showerwonderful weddingwedding receptionsunday lunchsandwiches
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 792 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2018

We went to our friends wedding and stayed the night after. Lovely room, although a little snug but the shower was amazing. The food at the wedding was very good and so was the breakfast in the morning. A solid 4* hotel with plenty of charm and beautiful gardens. It was just a shame it rained on the day but when the sun shines it’s nice to take a walk round. Thoroughly recommend if you like good service with plenty of character.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank plfara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh H, General Manager at Fanhams Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2018

Hello plfara,

We are really pleased you had such a memorable stay with us and appreciate you taking the time to share that feedback. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Regards,

Hugh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

The outdoors of this hotel were beautiful. A complete get away from it all break with a very relaxed vibe. Which may have been as this was a mid week break and there were no special events on at the time. (Weddings etc).

The outdoors outshone the indoors which in parts looked tired. but the place grew on me. I would definetley visit again....and I was sorry to leave but look forward to visiting again soon.
Great shower and toiletries.
The only down side was that we had to carry a heavy suit case to the second floor as there was no lift....

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank PearlRuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh H, General Manager at Fanhams Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2018

Hello PearlRuby,

We are so pleased you had such a pleasant escape with us. It does motivate us all as a team to hear such positive feedback. We will make sure to allocate a ground floor room on your next visit.

Kindest regards,

Hugh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

Absolutely amazing hotel/room/gardens/food. I literally cant praise this place enough. What a stunning place and great breakfast. Stayed as a family of varying ages - about 15 of us all in all and we all loved it,

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank lauren c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh H, General Manager at Fanhams Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2018

Dear lauren c,

Thank you for sharing such positive feedback following your recent stay. As a team we look at all feedback and when we have such positive comments it is a huge motivator for everyone. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards,

Hugh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018

Stayed here on 14th July to attend my nieces wedding.We had a lovely family room(209) which had two double beds.Very long room but a little narrow,especially when squeezing past the tv(on the wall) on the way to the bathroom.All you could want including a fan,which was most welcome in the recent heat.Air conditioning would have been nice as it was very warm inside,including the room where the wedding breakfast was held.Breakfast was really nice.Although it was buffet style,all the cooked food was hot and replaced quickly.Plus fresh food salad and pastries.

Room Tip: Stay in the main hotel.People that stayed in the courtyard found it noisy
Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank bbbarbara2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh H, General Manager at Fanhams Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Dear bbbarbara2014,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us. This really matters to all the teams so when we deliver and it is recognised it motivates everyone. We are glad we could support make the wedding such a success for everyone.

Regards,

Hugh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018 via mobile

Me & my husband had an overnight stay with dinner, bed & breakfast as an anniversary treat.
I had been here for afternoon tea last year & always wondered what it would be like to stay.
Arrived a little early & the room was ready. Shown to our room which was clean, tidy & perfect. Bathroom spacious and the shower one of the best in all the hotels i have stayed in. Nice fluffy towels, soaps & shampoo all good quality. Bed comfy, tea & coffee facilities in room along with iron & board, hairdryer & due to the hot weather even a portable air con unit.
They even left us some chocolates & a card for our anniversary which was a lovely touch & really tasty too.
We had lunch here & also dinner which was taken in the conservatory area. There was a wedding that day also so a few people milling about.
Took a walk around the lovely gardens which are so pretty.
Dinner was lovely too and the service was amazing, very attentive by staff & also received a complimentary glass of prosecco as was our anniversary.
Breakfast was equally good, hot buffet along with other options if you didn’t want the fry up. This was taken in the restaurant overlooking the little lake which was very picturesque.
Overall we had a lovely stay here & whilst i had read some reviews after booking some of them were quite off putting but for us definitely enjoyable, peaceful & felt they went above & beyond, so worth mentioning if you are celebrating an occasion.
Plenty of free parking too which is always a bonus.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank kent2270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh H, General Manager at Fanhams Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Dear kent2270,

Thank you for sharing such positive feedback following your stay with us. I am particularly happy our service culture came across in support of our beautiful buildings and grounds. This really motivates the teams to whom I have forwarded your comments. We really are glad we left such positive memories with you. We all look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards,

Hugh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews