We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply Excellent”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Alley Way

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
San Lawrenz, Island of Gozo

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
amethystg...
london
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Gozo farmhouse”
Reviewed 29 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

It was nice to be able to stay in a traditional Gozo house in a picturesque part of the island. Good location for several walks and about 10 mins walk to Gharb with nice restaurants. There are also two supermarkets within walking distance. The small pool was lovely to come home to at the end of a hot day's sightseeing. The house is tucked away down an alleyway yet only 3 mins walk to a bus stop with half hourly buses to Victoria and then on to all parts of the island. But .... there was no gas to the cooker when we arrived. Though this was quickly put right when we called the owner I would have expected this to have been checked before our arrival. The hot water supply to one of the bedrooms and kitchen was turned off at the tap on the tank. My husband turned it on to have a shower but when we went into the kitchen afterwards we found it was flooded as the hot water pipe in the kitchen had a hole in it. If the water had been turned on before we arrived I assume the leak would have been found then and we wouldn't have spent our first evening mopping up the flood. The owner did come and fix it the next day. Another reviewer described the property as immaculate. This wasn't our experience. In addition to the above, the cooker had seen better days and the oven inside and out was visibly greasy. The mattress and pillows were tired - could feel springs in mattress and pillows were lumpy. Some light bulbs weren't working and we couldn't get the pool lights to work which would have been nice at night. Having contacted the owner about the gas and the pupe we didnt have the energy to complain again. The property description says it is fully air conditioned but doesn't say that this is not included in the rental cost. This didn't matter to us as we prefered to use the fans provided. But it might matter to some. It's a shame because this house has real potential but, for the price, seems to be lacking some general upkeep and maintenance.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2017
Your comments have been noted. We try our best to provide the best holiday experience for our guests. We're always attentive to our guests needs, so thank you for your feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john v
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Simply Excellent”
Reviewed 14 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Alley Way is one of four excellently equipped, private pool etc., immaculately maintained houses in the village of San Lawrence in Gozo all owned by the same person; Joe, who seems to be known by everyone on the island. The village is rural and very quiet so when we arrived on a Sunday evening we found that the local shop was closed. However Joe simply went home and returned with four litres of water and 2 litres of wine to make sure we would want for nothing. There is a good restaurant and bar in the neighbouring village of Gharb a five minute walk away.

Location wise in San Lawrence you are within walking distance of some of the main highlights on the island including the Azure arch and Inland sea. Driving on Gozo is much more relaxed than Malta and poses no problems, additionally there is a bus stop 50 meters from the house.

In short if you're looking for a relaxing, tranquil holiday then Alley Way is highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2016
It was a pleasure having John over :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacky R
Stirling, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Alleyway was perfect for our restful holiday - peaceful, very private and having the pool was perfect”
Reviewed 16 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We could have found everything we needed in the village, but having the car was a bonus for exploring the island. Rent a car when you get there for 16 euros/day from Eucharist. The restaurant by the church is delightful and no more expensive than others of similar standard.
One of the nicest things about Gozo is the friendliness of the locals. They could not be more charming or helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and pool
Liked least: Hard bed
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2016
Jacky, it was a pleasure hosting you :) Glad that you've enjoyed your time in Gozo. Looking forward to have you back :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelenLync...
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“spacious and comfortable”
Reviewed 30 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Alleyway is one of 5 houses all interlinked in an intriguing manner. The pool and terrace are on the rooftop and totally private, the accommodation spacious and comfortable with air conditioning and the owner is very friendly and available. There are 4 restaurants, two 'supermarkets' and a purpose built craft centre within walking distance. Buses run frequently.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the privacy of the pool and terrace
Liked least: ventolation was a slight issue in the second bedroom
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2014
Dear Helen,

Many thanks for your kind review! We are looking forward to welcome you back soon! All the best.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JULIE f
Reignier, France
1 review
Reviewed 9 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
Google Translation

Travelling group: En famille avec jeune(s) enfant(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing