We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Xlendi paradise”
Review of San Andrea Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
San Andrea Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Xlendi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We have just returned from a three-day stay at the San Andrea. Xlendi itself is well placed on the island, especially for walkers. The hotel was spotlessly clean with a breakfast that was typically continental. The orange juice, inparticular, was very good. ( I mention this as we later moved to a 5star hotel on Malta and the juice was little more than water - and for a lot greater price) Our evening meal was great value for money and was well worth the supplement , for
three courses, and without the need to trail out in the dark and cold. We had a sea- view room which was undeniably small. The bathroom was short of a few toiletries but did have an ample supply of Dove liquid soap and at the price....what does one want? The staff were friendly and helpful and I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel .

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ACJHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (716)
There are newer reviews for San Andrea Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

424 - 428 of 716 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2012

Xlendi Bay is a magical location and the San Andrea Hotel is its star. The hotel is family-run and all the staff are friendly and helpful. Every request I made was dealt with quickly and efficiently. As other reviewers have said, a sea-view room is a must and the food and Gozitan/Maltese wine in Zaffiro Restaurant are of excellent quality and really good value for money. (14 euros for three courses if you are resident in the hotel.) If you want to eat out, there are some other good restaurants just a few paces away.......... Gozo is a small island, has a good bus service and a weekly ticket only costs 12 euros, so there is no real need to hire a car.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SamCrete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Second time in this hotel and can't fault it . Location amazing with fantastic views of xlendi bay . Rooms really nice and the food in the zaffiro resturant top quality .you will find it hard to better this hotel in Malta let alone xlendi for price and location .

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank weedave1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We were here for a few days in November. Yes, as other reviewers have said, you MUST have a sea view room if you possibly can. The others overlook a road and you'd miss half the point of the place - and hear cars instead of the sea. The rooms were small but smart and clean and well designed. The staff were friendly and helpful. I think all the rooms have balconies and sitting on ours to watch the sun go down over the water was lovely. Breakfast was good with a reasonable selection of food for all tastes. We went half board and the evening meals were fine though not amazing. The worst thing (for me) was the evening music in the restaurant every night - a radio station specialising in some sort of electronic dance/trance music. This seemed an odd choice for a dining room with mostly middle aged assorted Europeans and fought against the warm and welcoming atmosphere that they were trying to achieve. Xlendi was extremely quiet at that time of year - finding somewhere outside the hotel (other than the hotel next door) for a drink after dinner was impossible except for our last, Friday, night. The only shop in the village was only open in the mornings. But Xlendi is a nice place - though almost spoiled by some overbuilding on the hill side, most of which appears to be unoccupied. And be warned about Xlendi village square car park. You will see that most cars are parked under the palm trees and perhaps, like us, make for where there's more space under the other trees (not being a botanist I will just say 'ordinary' trees with leaves). That evening, I was aware of the huge number of birds who gathered in the village square and it was lovely listening to their song and watching them swoop about. We spent the next few days getting the bird droppings off the hired car as they had all roosted in the leafy trees. After that we parked under the palms.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank greenwichjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

In Gozo for a couple of days recently and stayed here - it ticked all the boxes: lovely staff, great shower, comfortable, well-sized bed, spotless and then there's that sea-view of Xlendi bay and the sound of the waves which are the perfect wake-up call.

Room Tip: Sea-view all the way - the non-sea-view rooms just look over a nondescript street.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Muzajz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xlendi
2.7 km away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
0.0 km away
Saint Patrick's Hotel
0.0 km away
Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
733 reviews
7.1 km away
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
#1 of 1 in Mgarr
1,227 reviews
6.1 km away
Calypso Hotel
Calypso Hotel
#1 of 9 in Marsalforn
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Andrea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Andrea Hotel

Address: Xlendi Promenade, Xlendi, Island of Gozo, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Gozo > Xlendi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Xlendi
Price Range: $70 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — San Andrea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Evoline ltd, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your San Andrea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Andrea Xlendi
Hotel San Andrea
San Andrea Hotel Xlendi, Island Of Gozo, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing