We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spacious villa with lovely pool”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Gardenia

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Mellieha, Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ian A
2 reviews
“Spacious villa with lovely pool”
Reviewed 14 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Owners were very efficient and easy to deal with. Deposit refunded 1 day after we left. Villa has huge rooms, lovely pool. Comfortably slept 9 and hosted 20 for BBQ.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin_Man...
Manchester, UK
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay with very helpful owners”
Reviewed 4 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We were a group of 8. We had a great time and are sad to be back home again.

The villa was comfortable and clean. The method for securely storing keys was very useful and convenient, allowing us to come and go freely. We were able to use the DVD player, BBQ and cooker all with no issues.

The owners were very helpful and communicative during the booking process and in advance of us arriving. They organised airport transfers for us, which made arrival much easier. They also supplied us with a welcome hamper of groceries for a reasonable cost.

It might be helpful for potential renters to know that the property is over 3 storeys, with bedrooms over 2 floors downstairs from the main living floor.

I also think it would be helpful to know that the nearest shops, bars and restaurants are 1km away up a hill, with the beach 1km away down a hill. The location is fairly remote, which is nice for quiet day times. On Triq Il-Kbira - the main road at the top of the hill - there is a surprisingly large supermarket, a fried chicken take-away, a pub called Cross Keys that did decent food, and a very good Sports Bar called Reflections.

Taxis to/from St Julian's took 25-30 mins and cost €25-€40 depending on the number of people. Valetta was more like 40 mins and €35-€50.

When we checked with Google it said the tap water was drinkable, but I tried it and disagree - we went for bottled water thereafter.

We have provided the owners with a couple of bits of feedback which they said was helpful and they would look to address:

*The bathrooms are done up to a high standard but are a little bit gloomy, especially for wet shaving. The addition of a light above the mirrors would be beneficial.
*Beach towels would have been a nice addition
*When we arrived there were no cleaning products of any type (sponges, cloths, washing up liquid, dishwasher tablets, spare toilet roll, hand soap). This was seemingly an error of the part of the cleaning company.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool area
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wenniewoo
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“dreary, dull and grubby”
Reviewed 29 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Arrived at this villa and first impression was not at all good. The front door was badly scratched, and tatty. Once in the villa the whole impression was dull and dreary. Brown leather suite, brown wooden furniture and dark curtain. Nothing at all cheerful. The fridge part of the fridge freezer had no handle and the internal fittings to the door were missing.
The bedrooms downstairs ( 20 steps in all) were basic and again dull. The double bed was comfortable but the pillows were well worn as was the bedding. Ensuite bathroom was ok.
When we arrived the door to the pool area could not be locked, this was the only access to outside area from the villa, so felt a bit vunerable. There was another flight of 10 steps to the pool area, and the pool was the best part of the villa. Fortunately the weather was fabulous so spent a lot of time around the pool. The tv did not work as it was still linked to a games console. This was reset to the tv the next day. It seemed as though whoever was responsible for the changeover at the end of each let did not give much attention to detail. The vila was not cleaned to a good standard;. There were hairgrips in the shower, and some pills left in the bedside cabinet. I can only say the villa was just adequate and thank goodness was booked only for a week. The company we booked through 'upgraded' us to this property! I can only imagine what the booked property must have been like. Only consolation was it was a 'special offer' deal as I would not have been at all happy had I had to pay the full weekly rent.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool area
Liked least: the lack of care and maintenance of villa
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2015
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your valuable comments. Your feedback regarding the decor, look and feel of the villa has been shared with the management and while it is a matter of taste, all comments, positive or negative, help us to improve our property. For clarity, it is to be noted that the photography used in the promotion of the villa have been recently shoot and gives a clear depiction of the villa furnishings.

I am pleased to read that you found the double bed comfortable. I am disappointed that it seemed we failed to meet your expectations with regards to the pillows and the general cleanliness of the villa. We follow a strict 24hr rectification policy for any comments received during guests' stay. This helps us address the issue straight away. It is a pity that you missed to mention these issues to us when you informed us about the TV channels as well as the pool door lock fault. As you know, maintenance addressed the later issues promptly and to your satisfaction.

It is always a pleasure to note that our guests enjoy the pool area of the villa to the maximum.

Faithfully,


Dorothy Baldacchino
Director
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing