We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Reviewed 23 February 2012

The weekend was quite nice and the staff were helpful and efficient. Overall the hotel was okay for the price we paid and the food was very good.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jawsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,345 - 1,349 of 2,318 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2012

We stayed at Paradise Bay from 4th to 14th February having really enjoyed 2 previous stays there several years ago. We still, on the whole, like the hotel but weren't happy about a couple of things. Firstly it is the worst winter there for 36 years and for the first 3 days of our stay was too windy and cold to go out. However the hotel's policy is to turn off the heating during the day 'because everyone goes out' and despite the exceptional circumstances and 3 complaints, the hotel had no heating during the day and all the public areas, including the restaurant, and our bedroom were cold. The information in the hotel makes a big thing about the value of the customers and how thier needs are top priority but this is just not so.

The other complaint is about the Reception staff (except for Kevin) who were not particularly friendly or helpful, giving different explanations regarding the heating and trying to fob us off by sending the maintenance man to have a look when there was nothing wrong except it needed turning on! There was very little information about facilities or' for example, bus timetables in the rooms and the staff were unhelpful in providing this.

Room Tip: Bay view are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Langer11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The intention of this review is not to trash the hotel but to make others aware not to expect a 4* treatment at the hotel.

Rooms: spacious and lovely view however, we were shocked at the amount of dust in the room. i had to clean the desk and bed headboard surface myself! Housekeeping staff pay no attention to detail example, though the bathroom was overall clean, the mirror's frame still had toothpaste and water splashes of the previos guest (quite disgusting actually). Even after the first night at the hotel, the staff 'cleaned' our bathroom however, did not empty the bin and did not clean the mirror.

Beds: we ordered a double bed but found 2seperate beds which were joined together. The mattresses are not comfortable and you can actually feel the springs. My mattress actually was worn out and nearly hollow in the middle. We asked for the mattress to be change and though we were told that it's not a problem, the hotel's remedy was simply to put a blanket underneath the sheets! Don't be misled by the word 'blanket' - the blanket was anything but soft and comfy. i think they had these blankets from the first day the hotel opened - they are old and tattered -something you would find hidden away in grandma's closet not in a supposedly 4*hotel! Pillows are not comfortable either.

Hotel staff: friendly but not well mannered - again not something you would expect in a 4*.

Food: those who enjoy a buffet meal will be happy here and overall food is ok. THere is an "a la carte restaurant" but don't expect much... Breakfast teas,coffees and juices not good.

It seems that the hotel is popular among the elderly and local families with kids especially during carnival. Overall the hotel is ok but definately not 4* quality!

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors are less noisy, and those facing the pool have a lovely view and sunlight
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank angmalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

was at this hotel for new year's eve and i must say that we had a very good time. The food was very well prepared and everything was really organized. The rooms were really clean with a beautiful view and cleaned on a daily basis.

The place is beautiful and really quiet. We had a great time and hope to go back there soon.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulazerafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

On arrival at hotel had extreme difficulty actually finding entrance to car park because of all the roadworks directly outside and obscuring the entrance. Reception staff, curt at best, had us down for b & b when we had booked half board. First room was good (bay view) until 6a.m. when the kitchen extractor started up creating terrible humming noise. We asked to be moved and 2nd room was ok except heating worked very intermittently, ceiling fan was almost falling off ceiling when turned on and shower bracket was broken (this was repaired quickly when reported). Bed was comfortable though. Towels and sheets very worn and sometimes dirty.
Overall, food not 4* quality. Breakfasts particularly poor with frankfurter sausages the only meat offered for a cooked breakfast most days, poor quality bacon sometimes. Orange juice was undrinkable, coffee just about ok (often ran out), chocolate ok. Cutlery and crockery often dirty and plastic stirers provided instead of tea spoons! Evening meals generally ok and good choice offered when hotel filled up with Maltese for a cheap weekend break, but the trade-off was a completely chaotic restaurant which struggled to cope with the numbers. Also on this weekend (the only one of our stay but we understand from staff they were regular occasions) the car park was hopelessly overwhelmed and we had to park 100 metres up the very muddy road - due to roadworks. Hotel very noisy during this busy weekend from 6a.m. to midnight as many of the guests were young families.
Other little irritations - had to pay extra for a cup of coffee after evening meal (we were charged €1.50 for a cup of instant - only once!) and you had to pay for tea and coffee supplies in your room once you had used the few free items provided. Not 4*!

Room Tip: Bay view recommended - good views and on opposite side of hotel to long term roadworks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
5.8 km away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
1.4 km away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
2,076 reviews
4.1 km away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Mellieha Bay Hotel
Mellieha Bay Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mellieha
2,199 reviews
6.3 km away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#5 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,397 reviews
8.2 km away
San Pawl Hotel
San Pawl Hotel
#11 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Bay Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Bay Resort Hotel

Address: | Paradise Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9068, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range: $35 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Bay Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Beautifully situated overlooking the picturesque sister Islands of Gozo & Comino with its own private sandy beach, ideal for all ages." This very popular, spacious, comfortable and well-run family hotel has a secluded location surrounded by the clear warm water of the Mediterranean making it ideal for a leisurely holiday in the sun. English is widely spoken throughout the hotel by the staff. The Resort is situated in a secluded location surrounded by the clear warm water of the Mediterranean. The standard fittings for all bedrooms are of air-conditioning, television + radio, direct dial telephone, trouser press with iron and ironing board, mini bar (stocked on request), hairdryer, ceiling fan, safe (local charge) and en-suite bathroom. Some bedrooms are large enough to accommodate 4 persons. We also offer rooms with facilities for the physically challenged and the hotel is fully accessible with ramps and lifts to all public areas. A small ferry harbour to Gozo is situated a short distance away from the hotel and a regular public bus service operates to the main towns of Sliema and Valletta stopping at en-route towns and villages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Agoda, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Paradise Bay Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Bay Hotel Mellieha
Paradise Bay Mellieha
Paradise Bay Hotel Malta
Paradise Bay Malta
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing