We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A flawless diamond”
Review of La Palmera Sur

La Palmera Sur
Ranked #3 of 683 Restaurants in Maspalomas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 36 - USD 42
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: We offer top Canarian cuisine with oriental touches and seasonal products. Our restaurants is a small, fresh and modern place with a vibrant changing seasonal menu paying great attention to details. We also highlight our great balanced wine list which includes representation of all designations of origin spanish.
Reviewed 9 August 2017

This restaurant exceeded my expectations and was a terrific gastronomic experience. Whilst not the best location for a restaurant of this calibre, the food was faultless with a menu that both inspired and tantalised. Loved the wide open windows bringing in a breeze and making a small restaurant feel very airy. It enhanced the atmosphere and ambience. It is always a good sign too when the chef comes out to meet his customers. It is a nice touch and just adds to the experience. We found a very good selection of wines which were decanted and served in fine wine glasses. Above all, the staff were extremely friendly, knowledgeable and attentive and deserved the fat tip we left. This place is a flawless diamond in the rough.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KoalaBlue01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria D, Propietario at La Palmera Sur, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello!

Thank you very much for your comment and for sharing your experience in our restaurant with TripAdvisor users.

We are glad to know that your visit was so positive. We will be happy to see you again very soon.

Salud!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (605)
There are newer reviews for La Palmera Sur
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 606 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2017

We found this fabulous Tapas spot from other wonderful TripAdvisor reviews and it was well worth the visit. The Tapas were magnificently presented, with unusual and delicious fusions of flavour. To top it off they have a cocktail menu that ties the whole experience together. A few things to keep in mind - make sure you book as it is very popular, make sure you go to the address listed on TripAdvisor and not the address listed on Google (which was where their old restaurant was) and don't be fooled by the description of tapas - they are made for sharing. I would recommend two savouries and one dessert. A definite dinner must when in Gran Canaria!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 247meganr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria D, Propietario at La Palmera Sur, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Hi Megan,

Thank you very much for your commentary. It help us to continue on the same way and reinforce our gastronomic idea of the business.

Fortunately Google already changed our address and now appears correctly in Maps. They have taken a long time, but at last it indicates the right direction.

Come back soon!

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

Do book ahead. Popular with the locals, not touristy at all. The staff do speak English. A good choice of dishes but all with a creative twist. Have been a few times and service is relaxed. Wonderful when the roof is open. Enjoy.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank canaryfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria D, Propietario at La Palmera Sur, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Hi Frank!

Thank you very much for your commentary. It help us to continue on the same way and reinforce our gastronomic idea of the business.

Come back soon!

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

Such a wonderful little restaurant. Certainly try it if you want a truly different and remarkable experience.
The staff will introduce you to the sharing concept where they suggest you have three dishes between two people. The dishes come separately. However my husband and I did manage four dishes one night ( I left a little bit) followed by a dessert. All washed down with a lovely bottle of wine off the extensive list.
The food is imaginative and very tasty.
Salad with strawberries and spicy popadom, Aubergine chips, and Sweet black pudding cigarettes are just a few dishes we can recommend.
Start your evening with one of the superb cocktails while making your selection and don't be afraid to ask the staff for advice. They are more than happy to explain things to you.
To sum it up, the staff are great and the food is great. No wonder it gets busy so book well in advance.
We will be back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Elaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria D, Propietario at La Palmera Sur, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Hello!

Thank you very much for your words. They help us and reinforce our business idea.

We are happy to know that your experience was so positive. Come back soon to visit us!

And you are right: It is advisable to make reservation.

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

A short and concise menu but absolutely faultlessly executed none the less. Food was fresh and delicious and the atmosphere was brilliant in this trendy restaurant. We stayed at the ajoining hotel and were recommended to book and im very glad we did as it doesn't seat very many. But that made it feel extra special and a little bit exclusive.
Hands down the tastiest desserts we have ever had!

1  Thank Chaoticscribbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Palmera Sur also viewed

Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas
Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas
 
Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas
Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas
 

Been to La Palmera Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing