We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent accommodation to explore Normandy and...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Saltwood Barn

The Saltwood Barn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Saltwood Barn
View of the rear and parking Handmade Walnut Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
The Saltwood Barn
View of the rear and parking
Handmade Walnut Kitchen
A Quiet Cul-de-sac
Rear garden
View from the gardens edge
View from the terrace
Sun Terrace
Kitchen & Utility entrance
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Bedroom 2
Stable Door
Living Area
Upstairs Gallery
Artisan Staircase
Matching En-Suites
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Ducey, Manche, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Harrisons...
Wellington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent accommodation to explore Normandy and Brittany”
Reviewed 16 September 2016 for a stay in July 2015

The accommodation is to a very high standard and far exceeds many holiday lets in France. Set in a lovely quite area of France but not too far from the main roads which allow you to explore deeper into Brittany or Normandy. Our family have spent two summer holidays at Saltwood Barn, we've always looked forward to returning and would recommend the accommodation to anyone visiting this area of France.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blakej1
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Can't Wait To Return”
Reviewed 16 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The barn exceeded our expectations. A home from home there is everything you need. Well furnished and comfortable. We like the fact that there are shower/WC for each bedroom providing privacy from friends or family. We visit many many places and want to return. We liked the location so much we were looking at properties....

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisons...
Wellington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent accommodation in an ideal location for exploring”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were very impressed with the standard of the accommodation when we arrived. Beautiful converted old barn, all mod cons in a peaceful setting. From our base we were able to explore the surrounding area, st malo, dinan, fougeres all in Brittany and mont st Michael, bayeux in normandy. We also visited some of the ww2 sites in normandy. We enjoyed our stay so much, the accommodation was so flexible allowing us to come and go as we please which was really important for us with a 5 yr old. We would certainly stay again and recommend to friends. The shops and supermarkets were not far away in ducey and restaurants if wanted.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Property was great
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RFR78
Deltaville, Virginia
1 review
“We found the Saltwood Barn to be very comfortable, well provisioned, and enjoyable.”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The Saltwood Barn is in a quiet, pleasant, country setting. There is, however, reasonable access to most of what is needed for grocery shopping, and tourist information in Ducey. There is fairly direct routing to area historical sights. I recommend the Michelin map #303 to ease driving concerns if not using a GPS.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall experience
Liked least: A toaster would be nice.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily B
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable and spacious in a countryside setting”
Reviewed 14 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We booked fairly last minute, but the owner was really helpful and quick getting back to us.
The barn is finished to a very good standard and the extras such as a dishwasher and washing machine were much appreciated.
The barn is about a 15 minute drive from the nearest town, where there is a good supermarket and tourist information. There is plenty to do in the area, but the barn is spacious enough to relax outside in the sun, or watch a DVD if it is raining.
We found that the location was close enough to facilities when necessary, but nicely situated in the countryside.
The bedrooms were nice, both with en suites.
We would definitely recommend to friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Plenty of space
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing