We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (245)
Filter reviews
245 results
Traveller rating
154
72
10
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
154
72
10
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river pie garden room and speak excellent english mont st michel hotel restaurant sunny day one night main course wonderful food breakfast and dinner bed was very comfortable lamb lovely village half board short stay stayed here for nights
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 245 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2017

My wife and I stayed for one night in early September on a demi-pension basis on our way through from Caen to Fouesnant, Brittany. The hotel is situated in a picturesque location on the bank of the Selune river and I would imagine that on a sunny day it would be a pleasure to sit outside enjoying a drink or two. Sadly, it was raining heavily that night so it was not to be. There is a choice of either parking on the street directly outside the hotel, or using the hotel's adjoining private car park. If using the latter, it can be a little difficult when exiting and turning left to join the D976. We were welcomed by the friendly owners whose impeccable english more than made up for our franglais and hand gestures!. The room (#29) itself was well-appointed, tastefully-decorated, comfortable and clean, overlooking the garden at the rear. We took our evening meal in the restaurant, choosing the three-course option from the set 'Menu Plaisir'. We both had the local marinated mackerel, wild fennel and avocado as a starter and for the main course my wife chose the local pork, barley and Mimolette risotto and I opted (at a supplement of 16 euros) for the seasonal AOC Mont St Michel pre-salé lamb. For dessert, my wife chose the chocolate and praline dessert with chocolate ice-cream, and I (being diabetic) had the cheese board; the meal was accompanied by a bottle of Côtes du Rhône. The meal was well presented and extremely delicious. The restaurant was quite full with passing trade and hotel guests, and there appeared to be a large reunion party going on in a side room. Breakfast was the usual continental affair but quite adequate nevertheless. The total for our overnight stay (accommodation, meals and drinks included) was 228 euros. Our holiday got off to a perfect start (notwithstanding the weather!) and we highly recommend this establishment; we may visit again on our holiday in 2018.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheBanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrice G, Propriétaire at Auberge de La Selune, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

I have nothing to add to your very descriptive and very precise comment, except that I promise you that the bad weather was not one of our services ! I guess you will have a better one in 2018 when you will come back, and nevertheless you will have (I hope) the same welcome, the same garden, the same cooking and the same wine list. Thank you !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

We spent one night here on our way South as a convenient stop from the ferry at Cherbourg and only 5 minutes from the N175. We were checked in by the friendly English speaking owner who showed us to our room which was facing the garden and next to the river. It appeared to have been recently refurbished since it was very well appointed and spotlessly clean. The bed was very comfortable and everything else was just as it should be.Unfortunately we were unable to enjoy the garden with its view of the river because of the weather but it must be lovely on a sunny day to be able to enjoy a drink whilst taking in the surroundings. We had elected to have half board and our evening meal was delicious,nicely presented, professionally served with just enough attention to detail. Breakfast was just as good with a varied selection of items available. Wifi is free and was available in our room as well as the main building. Cap this with free secure off road parking and I have no hesitation in recommending the Logis

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank johnbullivant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrice G, Propriétaire at Auberge de La Selune, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Thank you for your very descriptive comment. You have been able to enjoy all our services (excepted the weather...) and we are really happy for that because it is our core activity. You even have been able to get our halfboard price because you booked directly with us. Thank you again to give people the opportunity to understand all our range of services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

This hotel/restaurant was recommended to us over 20 years ago and we have only just made our first visit. We have been missing a gem. The 158 Euro special offer for two people: room, breakfast and dinner off the 29 Euro menu (you can supplement if you wish) is an absolute bargain. I paid nearly as much for a soulless single room with breakfast in Birmingham the week before.

Our room was in the garden right next to the river. The setting is beautiful and peaceful. Sadly the rainy weather meant we could not enjoy it to the full extent.

The restaurant has a talented chef and the service was very attentive without being overbearing. The salt marsh lamb (served only in season) was excellent. I disagree with a previous poster who did not like the pulled lamb in a croquette. I thought the stronger taste complimented the more delicate flavour of the younger lamb.

The person who recommended this hotel/restaurant had enjoyed the pie au crabe but this is now only served on a Sunday.

The buffet breakfast had everything you need once you accept that the traditional full English does not appear: as it should not in this type of hotel in France.

The Auberge would make a great overnight stop from the ferry into either Ouistreham or Cherbourg if you are travelling to Brittany or further South in France. We will be rethinking our overnight ferry into St Malo in future in favour of a stay here.

Room tip: We loved room 33
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbbby8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrice G, Propriétaire at Auberge de La Selune, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Thank you for this very exhaustive comment. You give a very precise and true description of what you experienced with us, and even give your taste compared to other tastes given on this site. We just have nothing to add, excepted that we hope the readers of your comment will come in less than 20 years... :-) And we are also waiting for your coming back then !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

Some might find this hotel a bit out of the way for a visit to the Mont Saint-Michel, but it was perfect, its about a 20 minute drive to the mount and completely out of the mega tourist areas (yes we were tourists also :)

the small

The Auberge is beautiful and although rated at 2 stars, when compared to other 2 star establishments this one must be teetering on 3 if not 4 when paired with the restaurant!

As a family of 4 we were given a family room that was recently renovated and for our taste perfect ! From check-in to checkout everything went well, the room was well appointed and there is just something special about staying in a very old building that adds a "je ne sais quoi" to the whole adventure.

Now on to the restaurant.. well i will need to leave that for later but what i can say now is that it was one of the two best surprises of our two week road-trip across France.

From Haiti with love

Room tip: If you can get a room overlooking the river its just beutiful !
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BryanHaiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrice G, Propriétaire at Auberge de La Selune, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We are really happy of all these impressions with all your family. And really enjoy that we have succeeded in giving you these impressions knowing you were coming from so far. You now have to come back in our superior family room in the garden next time to get a more better experience ! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

We stayed one night in this very pretty hotel and we were both stunned by how delicious our dinner there was. It was a lovely night so we ate outside in the garden and the food was superb. The salt marsh lamb was especially tasty . The week before we had eaten in a well known very fancy , very expensive French restaurant in London and though that was a great experience , I would choose an Auberge de la Selune dinner over it any day. Excellent staff as well. Looking forward to returning....

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BrookeMorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrice G, Propriétaire at Auberge de La Selune, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Thank you for your comment. Please note that the salt marsh lamb is a seasonal product and is served between mid June and mid September. We are also pleased that you have been able to have dinner on our terrace on a lovely evening. We hope you will have the same weather next time you come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews