We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Friday lunch”

Sittella Winery and Cafe Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Herne Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 16 October 2023

It was a long time since we had been to Sittella, so were not sure what to expect, but Friday lunch with 2 friends was great - we had a table right on the balustrade overlooking the vines. Wait staff were attentive but were happy to go away and come back when we needed more time for decisions.
we shared the $40 starter platter which was enough for us all to have a taste of everything. 3 of us had Duck and one the fish of the day and that dish was a little cool by the time it was served (only gripe). Desserts are all yummy and the Sittella Chenin Blanc was a perfect lunch time wine.
we chose Sittella because of location but also it is a straight forward menu that hasnt changed much for ages. You know exactly what you are getting and there are no ingredients you have to Google to know what they are!
Well done and thank you to all staff there.

Date of visit: October 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RosP254
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (509)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 509 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2023

A much anticipated return to Sitella was a huge disappointment. My $47 fish on top of a bed of risotto was tasteless and in the end, inedible. Neither the fish or the accompanying two prawns were fresh. The vegetables were watery and the bread stale. My husband’s three course menu was also underwhelming. Such a shame for this beautiful winery so I truly hope you can vastly improve your offering as I would love to recommend and return. On a positive, the Grenache was great.

Date of visit: July 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank sydmel2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 May 2023

As regular diners in town and country we have been here quite a few times and were amazed how packed out this venue was which just shows they must be doing the right thing. We enjoyed everything but found the Seafood Chowder was not up to standard as only one prawn and nothing else which is not usual. Still a good meal with friendly staff and reasonably priced

Date of visit: May 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank les b
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 April 2023 via mobile

Unpretentiously delicious food and exceptional service! We had the set menu. It was amazing! Incredible value for money, we were so full. We did the free wine tasting beforehand which enabled us to pair delicious wine to our meals and tastebuds. The service was attentive but not smothering and informative and helpful. The view and venue is gorgeous however can be a little noisy when full.

Date of visit: April 2023
1  Thank Melschip
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 April 2023

Unfortunately one of my thrifty sisters insisted we go for set menu! "Good value" she claimed.
There were 6 of us. 3 had the barramundi, the worst we have ever encountered! There were bones(big ones)! in my wife's dish. Luckily the others had smaller bones. I thought there was supposed to be no bones?!
The desert were not too bad.
Location & views fantastic.
They had the grace to take $5 off my wife's dish.
Sadly won't be going there anytime soon.

Date of visit: March 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Leong S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Sittella Winery and Cafe Restaurant also viewed

Caversham, Swan Valley
 
Swan Valley, Greater Perth
 

Been to Sittella Winery and Cafe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.