We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The "Garden of Eden" exists - you will find it in...”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
10 Bedrooms, 18 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Arcos de la Frontera, Costa de la Luz, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Malle G
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The "Garden of Eden" exists - you will find it in Cortijo Fain Viejo. The most wonderful place i have ever been to!”
Reviewed 16 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We were lucky enough to find the place "by chance" as we were looking for a place in Spain to get married. If you are looking for the PERFECT place to have a large party or a wedding, THIS IS IT. We were 40 guests staying here for a full weekend (20 guests in Cortijo Fain Viejo, and the rest of the guests at a hotel nearby). Since this weekend, our friends simply cannot stop talking about the place. The simply call it the "Garden of Eden" (hence the title).

Here are my arguments to support this claim:

* The property - WOW. Out of this world. Look at the pictures. It is even more beautiful in real life! Although the property is from the 1700s, everything inside feels exclusive, modern and classy at the same time as you can "feel" the history when inside the building. The property also has a large pool area which is wonderful, and beautiful peacocks walk freely around the property (also many other animals around - kids, and animal lovers like me will automatically love it!)
* The kitchen - I have been to Spain so many times i cannot tell you the number. But i have NEVER tasted food better than this in Spain. I further appreciated the fact that the staff were open to suggestions (hence, i got my favourite dessert for the wedding - chocolate fondant, which was PERFECT).
* Ana, the owner, is a person you will become very fond of very quickly. She is professional to the fingertips, extremely serviceminded, friendly, kind - the perfect person to help you with arranging a wedding from some distance (im from Norway). She will help you with anything, the perfect host. (She is also very talented in making nice decorations/lanterns/candlelights etc to create the perfect atmosphere for a wedding dinner). I truly miss Ana having left the place!

I could write a novel about Cortijo Fain Viejo and Ana. But I think you get an impression of the pefection and atmospehere of this place. :) Take a chance, book your dream wedding - you will NOT be sorry. We will never in our lives forget this weekend (and neither will any of the guests, which are already asking for a reunion weekend at the Cortijo). :)

Thank you so much for having us, Cortijo Fain Viejo and Ana!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything - true paradise. Even better than we had imagined.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nixf01
Brit in Paris
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Breathtakingly beautiful :)”
Reviewed 2 September 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at Fain Viejo as part of a wedding party in June 2014. The house is a proper Hacienda, straight out of a scene from a western. It is literally like a film set and yet it's totally natural and in keeping with the history of the house itself; not at all manicured or fake-looking. Ask Ana for the grand tour, she'll show you the olive press, the barn, etc; oh and also show you where to get your own fresh spring water using the old fashioned pump in the lobby!

And the gardens are breathtaking, little nooks and crannies where you can laze around in a hammock, listening to the birds and looking at the beautiful flowers, or maybe one of the hammocks by the pool... Oh and watch out for the peacock! He's a bit shy but you might spot him if you'e lucky!

Also, grab some fresh lemons from their own lemon tree in the main courtyard and definitely ask to try the home made lemonade! The theme of my cousin's wedding was the lemon tree so it really was a focal point, although we basically took over the entire house and gardens :D
We had breakfast, lunch and the wedding breakfast there and it was all served with massive beaming smiles! Ana and her staff were so warm, and welcoming it felt like home! Oh and the food was excellent too! They were also very patient when none of the revellers wanted to go to bed on the night of the wedding, we were just having too much of a good time! I guess they could have started shooing people away but they humoured us and the party went ooon and oooon, which was lovely!

The photos of my cousin's wedding are just amazing and although that's mainly due to the genius of the photographer, he wouldn't have captured images like those anywhere else. If you're planning a wedding and want something spectacular in it's simplicity, this is the place.

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Erm... Having to leave???
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jazzhamst...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

As the father of the bride in the above wedding party I was amazed by the beauty of Fain Viejo. Only the beauty of my daughter in her wedding gown eclipsed it.
Ana is an amazing host. Nothing is too much trouble for her. Everyone is treated like they are members of her own family. Her staff are equally wonderful, and the kitchen...........
the home-made ice-cream served at lunch on the day of the wedding was possibly the best I've ever had, (and I've had a lot of ice-cream).
Ana's attention to detail is second to none. Nothing is left to chance.
A wedding here is a wedding that will be remembered forever.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Out of this world in every way imaginable”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Fain for the weekend as as family of 19 and used the entire house to hold our wedding ceremony for 120 guests.

As a holiday home Fain is nothing short of breathtaking. Every room is unique and the sum of them all makes the house feel like a wonderland - it is simply incredible. Ana makes you feel as if the house is your very own. With its beautiful gardens, refreshing pool, and stunning views you are surrounded by magnificence everywhere you turn. Every meal we were served was first class, delivered by first glass hosts. Fain offers a unique getaway experience.

As a wedding venue Fain had everything. We worked with Ana to create a magical event for us and our guests. Over many many months and numerous correspondents Ana created the most perfect of days. She was as gracious and wonderful every step of the way which she continued to be through the day itself and our stay after. We held our ceremony in the courtyard, had drinks by the pool, dinner in the garden and the dancing in the barn. Every part of Fain and it's staff played their part in creating something memorable for everyone in attendance. All we've been asked is "how did we find somewhere so perfect?"

I have nothing but gratitude and thanks to Ana and everyone at Fain. We couldn't have wished for anything more of our holiday and our celebratory event. Thank you, thank you, thank you x

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CELO71
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“One of my most memorable experiences in Europe”
Reviewed 14 August 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The fact that the owner supervises every little detail form the kitchen to the pool and amenities makes this place a unique experience by itself. In the heart of most picturesque, rural area of Andalucia, this is the perfect spot for staying for a week with the family. Located closely to Sevilla, Cadiz, Jerez and the gorgeous Sierra de Grazalema (The Route of the Pueblos Blancos), this is an ideal spot to stay, relax, and make one or two day trips to the surrounding attractions. Having the whole property for yourself, friends and/or family, makes one wonder if an anniversary party or so, could be celebrated in a better place. The personnel is extremely careful and attentive. Each room is different from the other and you can feel as this is your own country house. The meals are exactly what you could spect from a high end authentic andalusian restaurant. A great wine selection. The landscapes include olive trees plantations, sunflower fields, orange groves, plains, mountains and (90 min away) the Mediterranean coast. Culture, flavors, interaction with the locals, modern comfort and tranquility are some of the reasons to visit. There is also a golf course 2 min. away. I could go back anytime without blinking.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house itself
Liked least: The limited wifi signal
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing