We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely fabulous”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Bootle, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tricky990
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous ”
Reviewed 21 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We booked this cottage for a long weekend to celebrate my mother in law's birthday.

Having stayed in holiday cottages before it's often a chance as to whether the pictures give you a good impression of what you are getting or not.
In this case they just don't do the cottage justice. There is everything that you could possibly need. I think there was enough cutlery that even if we hadn't put the dishwasher on all weekend we still wouldn't have run out and the second fridge freezer in the games room is a fantastic idea.

The games room with pool table, table tennis, air hockey, darts, books, board games and DVD's is ideal for children young and old and of coarse Dad!

We had a wonderful weekend Kath the owner couldn't have been more helpful, we will certainly be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatieWhit...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 9 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Absolutely perfect in every way! Hosts were fantastic nothing was too much trouble . Received a beautiful welcome basket. The facilities were second to none and the decor lovely. The hot tub was gorgeous with an amazing view. The kitchen was stocked with everything we could think of and more. All rooms were clean and tidy and decorated very well. Well worth a visit for a nice quiet week with family. Will definitely be back!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet P
Powys, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ideal location for family holiday”
Reviewed 16 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This was a wonderful cottage where the attention to detail was exceptional.
The owners had thought of everything that you possibly need to make this a great holiday. The games room was a huge hit with enough board games to keep everyone happy on the wettest afternoon. The pool table and table tennis was also much appreciated. Everyone loved the hot tub, and it was great that coloured towels were supplied for use out of doors.
The kitchen is extremely well equipped, and there was also a gas fired BBQ for sunny evenings.
This was a lovely cottage away from the very busy lakes area (Windermere) - very well placed for the coast (and there are some lovely sandy beaches) and very convenient for scafell pike.
We would definitely want to go back to this cottage. This was a great cottage for a group of friends or extended family group.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: This was a great cottage
Liked least: no downside to this property
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jul 2016
We couldn't be happier that you had a wonderful holiday at Near Bank Cottage, thank you for taking the time to tell us about it. It sounds like the cottage had something to offer for all weathers (fabulous for dealing with the great British weather!) - the games room and hot tub sound like particular highlights! We certainly hope you return for another stay in the very near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coo3004
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stay, will definitely be visiting again!”
Reviewed 19 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

10 of us booked to stay here for a long weekend in May and we all had an amazing time. Thankfully the weather was great, so we made good use of the hot tub. It was great to relax in the hot tub and admire the fantastic views.

The cottage was very clean, with a lot of extra facilities for the BBQ etc. The owners were always on hand to sort any issues we had (which was our fault as we knocked the wrong button on the hot tub!)

Kath and Jim are lovely, friendly people and we all look forward to seeing them again when we book our next weekend away!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage and the facilities
Liked least: No negatives at all!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2016
We are thrilled to hear that you had a lovely weekend at Near Bank Cottage, thank you for taking the time to tell us about it. Relaxing in the hot tub taking in those incredible views sounds absolutely wonderful - unwinding at its best! We will certainly pass your compliments along to the owner and keep our eyes peeled for your next booking!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing