We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,706)
Filter reviews
1,706 results
Traveller rating
737
383
252
174
160
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
737
383
252
174
160
Show reviews that mention
All reviews afternoon tea the cottages the main house main restaurant spa facilities beautiful grounds special occasion outdoor pool my mum lovely setting birthday treat evening meal four poster bed set menu steam room changing rooms log fire
Filter
Updating list...
127 - 132 of 1,706 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2018

My daughter and I experienced a warm welcome and a wonderful day last Saturday at Eastwell.
We were enjoying a Spa Day but in fact enjoyed Eastwell’s grounds and outdoor pool too.
We were interested and pleased to see that Champneys have smoothly made some updated, much needed refurbishments but the original Eastwell still shines through.
The outdoor pool was clean and well managed. ( we did have a storm in Kent on the Sunday so maybe the previous reviewer experienced the aftermath).
We enjoyed our time there and found the Manager and his Deputy and in fact all the staff we encountered, to be warm and friendly.
Having visited Eastwell over the years on many various family and Charity occasions we felt Eastwell is in good hands for its future success.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank MandLKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren S, Front Office Manager at Eastwell Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Dear guest
what wonderful feedback and so satisfying for our team to know that our efforts shine through with our guests. Thank you also for pointing out that our outdoor pool was clean prior to the storm as per prior reviewer and for singling out the service from our staff.
Be assured all the team at Champneys will welcome you back on your return with the same level of enthusiasm that you have grown to expect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018

beautiful Manor with stunning views, spa and the meals were 1st class, it would have been nice for them to do a little something to surprise my partner to celebrate her 50th Birthday but other than that i can not fault the stay and would definately go back again

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank andrewd4522017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren S, Front Office Manager at Eastwell Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Dear Andrew
thank you so much for your review and a belated happy Birthday to your partner. I am so pleased that you both enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018 via mobile

‪Outdoor pool is green and full of sand‬. Just awful. So poorly maintained. Changing rooms dirty. Don’t bother going here. Staff don’t care. Full of excuses. Rain, storm. I looked on internet and whilst a storm can increase nitrogen causing algae to breed and pool going green, it only happens in a pool which is badly maintained in the first place. No one was trying to remove sand and leaves from pool while we were there.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
5  Thank I B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren S, Front Office Manager at Eastwell Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Dear gust
I am sorry to have read your review this morning but this is the first time I have had such a complaint regarding our facilities. I can assure you that we have strict health and safety procedures especially with regards to our maintenance of any guest facility such as pools, saunas, Jacuzzi etc.
Obviously being an outdoor pool this facility does require more maintenance than normal especially in adverse weather conditions when wind can whip up sand, leaves etc and I can assure you that our staff monitor this regularly during the day and attend to the maintenance at the earliest possibility but you will probably not be aware because they cannot clean the pool during usage and so resort to carrying out the work before and after the pool is closed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018 via mobile

Thenkyou for a lovley few days away. And thankyou to ken (head porter) for great service. The food in the manor house was fantastic as was the food in the spa, the gardens could do with a bit of a spuce up but We will be back as we have a great time.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
Thank renn517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren S, Front Office Manager at Eastwell Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Dear guest
I am so pleased that your party had a good time whilst you were with us and that you describe our food serving as fantastic, this is a reaction that we get from most customers.
We all look forward to your return trip and I have forwarded your comments to Ken our head porter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018 via mobile

Well lovely hotel, however, staff ran ragged. We had afternoon tea and there was only one poor waitress serving all of us. Only one member of staff on reception, guests moaning. Hotel decor a bit tired in places and very hot & stuffy. Not a 4 or 5 star at moment although they certainly charge like it is. Very disappointed.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren S, Front Office Manager at Eastwell Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Dear Angela
Our staff shift work from a minimum number when we might be quite through to adding more staff according to the capacity of guests that we have booked in advance. There should not be times when we are short staffed however on occasion if there is sickness or holidays we "might" fall short but this is rare? I will certainly investigate your comments further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews