We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Hidden Gem” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bunkers Beach House

Bunkers Beach House
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 14 - USD 29
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, View, Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Is it possible to please change our location to Dunsborough please? (all our customers are getting lost at the moment) Same postcode: 6281
Rockingham, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We were staying up the room and decided to check out The Bunkers Beach House. The staff welcomed us and were very friendly. We were only there for a coffee and a muffin. Ice coffee was great, however my flat wife could have been a tad warmer. the knockout was the muffin it was awesome :), coupled with the view made it a fantastic coffee stop.

  • Visited February 2017
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank grahamw013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunkers Beach H... M, Manager at Bunkers Beach House, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thanks for leaving such a positive review Graham. Great to hear you had such a good experience with us. We hope you'll be back for a lovely lunch or breakfast next time. If you do, just let us know that you'd like your coffee extra hot and I'm sure you'll receive a flat white made to your liking/perfection ;).

Kind regards,
The Bunkers Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    166
    45
    20
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tired menu - glaringly high prices”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

The menu looks tired, the venue looks tired and the staff look like they need time off. Unless you happen to be a local because its the only time they perked up with enthusiastic greetings and cheek air kisses while the rest of the patrons were left wondering where they had all been hiding. Food experience varied between tasteless and over the top smothered in sauces (probably trying to hide week old ingredients). The place has the most amazing views but the view and the prices don't match the service and the food quality.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank RVAdams01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunkers Beach H... M, Manager at Bunkers Beach House, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear RVAdams01,
Thank you for sharing your feedback and for taking the time to write a review. As a business, it is very important to receive feedback from our customers as there's always room for improvement. We strive to be a restaurant with good quality food (locally sourced ingredients, all dishes are made in house from scratch) that's big on flavour and provide excellent customer service (certainly treat every guests like a royal, not only our lovely locals). Looking at your review, we didn't meet these standards. We're very sorry you feel we didn't and we hope you'll give us another try.

Kind regards,
The Bunkers Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
232 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great breakfasts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed nearby so went here for breakfast 2 mornings in arrow. Really nice place on the beach with killer views, great food and friendly staff. The second morning the staff even remembered us from the day before, made us feel like rockstars!

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Physim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunkers Beach H... M, Manager at Bunkers Beach House, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you for leaving such a raving review. We hope you'll be back again when in the area!

Kind regards,
The Bunkers Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Expensive Breakfast Tragedy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Ok. This place is phenomenal for location. Literally right on the beach it's everything you'd want for a beach breakfast experience. Except for the food. Now, this place used to be one of the south wests premium breakfast hangouts. The previous chef and manager tag teamed one of Australia's best and consistent breakfasts to an every summer packed house. But something has changed. The avocado smash was an expensive tragedy. Four of us ordered this dish and each were consistent with their disappointment. Poached eggs hard - immediate deal breaker. Smashed avocado was more purée than smashed smeared over soggy toast; that was pretty much the dish. We ordered some sides of bacon, mushroom and tomatoes and while tasty the disappointment was in the quantity - one mushroom and one tomato at 5 bucks a piece. We cut them into four and enjoyed our side morsel. This place will always pull a crowd given the location and convenience, however I'll be seeking my breakfast elsewhere for the next 6 months before lobbing in for another shot (the location really is perfect).

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank MattSlap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunkers Beach H... M, Manager at Bunkers Beach House, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Hi Matt,
We're very sorry you didn't enjoy your breakfast with us this time. Our chef uses local and quality ingredients in every dish, so we're very disappointed your breakfast was not up to your expectations. The mushroom side dish has been addressed so we do thank you for sharing your feedback with us. It's only with your feedback we can improve.
We hope you do give us another try (hopefully a little bit sooner than in 6 months time :) )

Kind regards,
The Bunkers Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Views, Incredible Muffins and Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The most delicious muffins (dark chocolate and blueberry were amazing) and spectacular views. Coffee and hot chocolate were delicious and staff was really sweet to give me a variety of baked goods, granola and drinks in a box so I could carry them for take away - small children with jet lag meant we were only able to eat on-site one of the mornings.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank fengelha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunkers Beach H... M, Manager at Bunkers Beach House, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thanks for sharing such a positive experience with us! It's great to hear we could help with your jet-lagged little kids.

Kind regards,
The Bunkers Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bunkers Beach House also viewed

Dunsborough, Margaret River Region
Dunsborough, Margaret River Region
 
Dunsborough, Margaret River Region
Dunsborough, Margaret River Region
 
Dunsborough, Margaret River Region
Dunsborough, Margaret River Region
 

Been to Bunkers Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing