We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired menu - glaringly high prices”

Bunkers Beach House
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 14 - USD 29
Cuisines: Australian, Cafe, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Is it possible to please change our location to Dunsborough please? (all our customers are getting lost at the moment) Same postcode: 6281
Reviewed 14 February 2017

The menu looks tired, the venue looks tired and the staff look like they need time off. Unless you happen to be a local because its the only time they perked up with enthusiastic greetings and cheek air kisses while the rest of the patrons were left wondering where they had all been hiding. Food experience varied between tasteless and over the top smothered in sauces (probably trying to hide week old ingredients). The place has the most amazing views but the view and the prices don't match the service and the food quality.

Thank RVAdams01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunkers Beach H... M, Manager at Bunkers Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2017

Dear RVAdams01,
Thank you for sharing your feedback and for taking the time to write a review. As a business, it is very important to receive feedback from our customers as there's always room for improvement. We strive to be a restaurant with good quality food (locally sourced ingredients, all dishes are made in house from scratch) that's big on flavour and provide excellent customer service (certainly treat every guests like a royal, not only our lovely locals). Looking at your review, we didn't meet these standards. We're very sorry you feel we didn't and we hope you'll give us another try.

Kind regards,
The Bunkers Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (582)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 77 of 582 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2017

Stayed nearby so went here for breakfast 2 mornings in arrow. Really nice place on the beach with killer views, great food and friendly staff. The second morning the staff even remembered us from the day before, made us feel like rockstars!

Thank Physim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunkers Beach H... M, Manager at Bunkers Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2017

Thank you for leaving such a raving review. We hope you'll be back again when in the area!

Kind regards,
The Bunkers Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

Ok. This place is phenomenal for location. Literally right on the beach it's everything you'd want for a beach breakfast experience. Except for the food. Now, this place used to be one of the south wests premium breakfast hangouts. The previous chef and manager tag teamed one of Australia's best and consistent breakfasts to an every summer packed house. But something has changed. The avocado smash was an expensive tragedy. Four of us ordered this dish and each were consistent with their disappointment. Poached eggs hard - immediate deal breaker. Smashed avocado was more purée than smashed smeared over soggy toast; that was pretty much the dish. We ordered some sides of bacon, mushroom and tomatoes and while tasty the disappointment was in the quantity - one mushroom and one tomato at 5 bucks a piece. We cut them into four and enjoyed our side morsel. This place will always pull a crowd given the location and convenience, however I'll be seeking my breakfast elsewhere for the next 6 months before lobbing in for another shot (the location really is perfect).

Thank MattSlap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunkers Beach H... M, Manager at Bunkers Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2017

Hi Matt,
We're very sorry you didn't enjoy your breakfast with us this time. Our chef uses local and quality ingredients in every dish, so we're very disappointed your breakfast was not up to your expectations. The mushroom side dish has been addressed so we do thank you for sharing your feedback with us. It's only with your feedback we can improve.
We hope you do give us another try (hopefully a little bit sooner than in 6 months time :) )

Kind regards,
The Bunkers Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2017

The most delicious muffins (dark chocolate and blueberry were amazing) and spectacular views. Coffee and hot chocolate were delicious and staff was really sweet to give me a variety of baked goods, granola and drinks in a box so I could carry them for take away - small children with jet lag meant we were only able to eat on-site one of the mornings.

Thank fengelha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunkers Beach H... M, Manager at Bunkers Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2017

Thanks for sharing such a positive experience with us! It's great to hear we could help with your jet-lagged little kids.

Kind regards,
The Bunkers Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2017

Our family was out driving & by chance ended up he for lunch. With no booking we headed to the counter. We were warmly greeted & a table found for us - with a gorgeous view too!!

I cannot speak highly enough for the staff and particularly one chef on the day of our visit. My 14 year kid has food allergies & there was nothing on the menu he could eat. Our wonderful waitress went to the matre'd, who obviously sent her to the chef.

Our waitress returned with a list of ingredients for the chicken dish the Chef was going to whip up. Even our 15 year old remarked on how thorough the staff were being for her brothers meal.

Well his meal came out with ours & wow wow wow. Our son's meal was amazing!! He said it was the best chicken he had ever had and loved very bit of it.

The rest of our meals were just as amazing. The local Eagle Bay beer was great.

Dropping into the Beach House was a spontaneous decision, and left us with a great memory.

It was our 14year olds birthday the next day & the end of our holiday, it was a great way to celebrate that.

Definitely will return when we are next in the area.

Again- our compliments to the chef that fay. Thank you so very much.

Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunkers Beach H... M, Manager at Bunkers Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2017

Dear Susan,

Thank you for sharing your lunch experience with us. It's fantastic to hear our customers rave about our food and service. We do strive to cater for all dietaries and we're happy we've managed to get your little boy a dish he enjoyed.

We look forward to your return visit.

Kind regards,
The Bunkers Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bunkers Beach House also viewed

Dunsborough, Margaret River Region
Dunsborough, Margaret River Region
 
Dunsborough, Margaret River Region
Dunsborough, Margaret River Region
 

Been to Bunkers Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing