We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Expensive Breakfast Tragedy” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bunkers Beach House

Bunkers Beach House
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 14 - USD 29
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, View, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Is it possible to please change our location to Dunsborough please? (all our customers are getting lost at the moment) Same postcode: 6281
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Expensive Breakfast Tragedy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Ok. This place is phenomenal for location. Literally right on the beach it's everything you'd want for a beach breakfast experience. Except for the food. Now, this place used to be one of the south wests premium breakfast hangouts. The previous chef and manager tag teamed one of Australia's best and consistent breakfasts to an every summer packed house. But something has changed. The avocado smash was an expensive tragedy. Four of us ordered this dish and each were consistent with their disappointment. Poached eggs hard - immediate deal breaker. Smashed avocado was more purée than smashed smeared over soggy toast; that was pretty much the dish. We ordered some sides of bacon, mushroom and tomatoes and while tasty the disappointment was in the quantity - one mushroom and one tomato at 5 bucks a piece. We cut them into four and enjoyed our side morsel. This place will always pull a crowd given the location and convenience, however I'll be seeking my breakfast elsewhere for the next 6 months before lobbing in for another shot (the location really is perfect).

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank MattSlap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunkers Beach H... M, Manager at Bunkers Beach House, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Hi Matt,
We're very sorry you didn't enjoy your breakfast with us this time. Our chef uses local and quality ingredients in every dish, so we're very disappointed your breakfast was not up to your expectations. The mushroom side dish has been addressed so we do thank you for sharing your feedback with us. It's only with your feedback we can improve.
We hope you do give us another try (hopefully a little bit sooner than in 6 months time :) )

Kind regards,
The Bunkers Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    166
    45
    20
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Views, Incredible Muffins and Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The most delicious muffins (dark chocolate and blueberry were amazing) and spectacular views. Coffee and hot chocolate were delicious and staff was really sweet to give me a variety of baked goods, granola and drinks in a box so I could carry them for take away - small children with jet lag meant we were only able to eat on-site one of the mornings.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank fengelha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunkers Beach H... M, Manager at Bunkers Beach House, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thanks for sharing such a positive experience with us! It's great to hear we could help with your jet-lagged little kids.

Kind regards,
The Bunkers Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wow Wow Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our family was out driving & by chance ended up he for lunch. With no booking we headed to the counter. We were warmly greeted & a table found for us - with a gorgeous view too!!

I cannot speak highly enough for the staff and particularly one chef on the day of our visit. My 14 year kid has food allergies & there was nothing on the menu he could eat. Our wonderful waitress went to the matre'd, who obviously sent her to the chef.

Our waitress returned with a list of ingredients for the chicken dish the Chef was going to whip up. Even our 15 year old remarked on how thorough the staff were being for her brothers meal.

Well his meal came out with ours & wow wow wow. Our son's meal was amazing!! He said it was the best chicken he had ever had and loved very bit of it.

The rest of our meals were just as amazing. The local Eagle Bay beer was great.

Dropping into the Beach House was a spontaneous decision, and left us with a great memory.

It was our 14year olds birthday the next day & the end of our holiday, it was a great way to celebrate that.

Definitely will return when we are next in the area.

Again- our compliments to the chef that fay. Thank you so very much.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunkers Beach H... M, Manager at Bunkers Beach House, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Susan,

Thank you for sharing your lunch experience with us. It's fantastic to hear our customers rave about our food and service. We do strive to cater for all dietaries and we're happy we've managed to get your little boy a dish he enjoyed.

We look forward to your return visit.

Kind regards,
The Bunkers Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Busselton, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dissappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This cafe has been our favorite place for years. Travel from Busselton regularly out here for a coffee. It has now changed and only offering a very small cup of coffee and unable to buy a larger coffee. It seems very understaffed now. While waiting to pay, there was no staff to take our payment. Waited for ages and some people just left as sick of waiting. We will not be returning anymore as we prefer a decent size coffee.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank Lorrae A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunkers Beach H... M, Manager at Bunkers Beach House, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thanks for your feedback Lorrae and we're very sorry we didn't meet your expectations on this very busy School Holidays day. We now offer one size coffee only to increase the speed of service and the consistency of our coffee. We choose quality over quantity, which is why we changed to only having one size only (we do hope your coffee was good though!). It's very disappointing to hear that you felt like the cafe was understaffed. We hope you do give us another try in the near future on a less busy day.

Kind regards,
The Bunkers Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
99 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Very unwelcoming staff and coffee was luke warm”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Well what a disappointment, we have been to this restaurant in the past and have loved it but on Friday 27/01, it was a great disappointment. We thought we would have coffee and a snack before going to the beach. On arrival as soon as we said we where there for a coffee we were told in no uncertain terms the only tables available where one outside in the sun or inside at the back. When we then ordered our coffee we were told as changing over from breakfast to lunch there was no food (even cakes or muffins available) . Very strange not sure why we were made to feel so unwelcome. Please lift your game as you never know who your customers are and how badly word of mouth can effect your business.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank dust56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunkers Beach H... M, Manager at Bunkers Beach House, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Our service should be up to scratch at any time and we do understand how negative reviews do affect our business. We're very sorry you didn't feel welcome on this busy School Holidays Long Weekend. Unfortunately we were fully booked on this day, which probably resulted in us not being able to offer you any prime seats in the restaurant. This shouldn't be a reason to not make you feel welcome though, which is feedback we do take very seriously.

Please do come back. If you do, please let us know as the next time you'll visit us the coffee and cake will be on us.

Kind regards,
The Bunkers Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bunkers Beach House also viewed

Dunsborough, Margaret River Region
Dunsborough, Margaret River Region
 
Dunsborough, Margaret River Region
Dunsborough, Margaret River Region
 
Dunsborough, Margaret River Region
Dunsborough, Margaret River Region
 

Been to Bunkers Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing