We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed”
Review of Viamede Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Viamede Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Kawartha
Reviewed 20 June 2017

The cottage we were to stay in was not cleaned! The fridge, diswasher, toaster, and dining chairs were too dirty to use. The windows had cobwebs and there were dirt marks running down the walls. The BBQ was disgusting, certainly needs to be replaced! The bedrooms did seem like they were ready, too bad the rest of the place wasn't cleaned up as well. Bathroom had towles for two people, there were four of us and the the soap dispenser was dirty and almost empty. We decided to leave and the Manager was not all interested in finding out our concerns or try to correct any of this. His response was I will check into that, after we told him it was too dirty for us to be comfortable staying there!!!!

Room Tip: I would recommend you choose a different place to stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorrainedg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

We are sorry you are disappointed, Lorraine. We are a cottage resort, and with that comes a certain rustic appeal - we do not have designer rooms as you may find at a high-end big-city hotel. However, our rooms are clean, stocked with plenty of towels for all the guests, and we truly strive for top notch customer service. All the best.

Ben Samann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2017

Overall we were happy with our stay, however visitors should be aware that this is not a luxury destination, despite that the rates suggest that it might be luxury. It has a charming small-town feel to it, with very rustic accommodations but lovely friendly staff.

Location: the location is stunning, on Stony Lake - really very beautiful. The resort has ample shore access and many cottages are right on the lake. the larger community seems lovely, with many beautiful cottages on the lake. Lots of fish in the water, lots of islands to explore by canoe or kayak. Only 2 hours from the City!

Accommodations: We were in a cottage, which was very spacious and had a lovely view of the water-- however it wasn't clean. We had to remove cobwebs from the bathrooms, all of the dishes were not washed (in particular a mixing bowl was covered in a yellow fluid, clearly not washed at all... glasses had been put away with dried coffee and milk). Bathroom amenities are very basic, just squeeze soap in the bathroom, and a shampoo and condition dispenser in the shower (one of which was empty). Advice: bring your own paper towel, dishtowels, washing sponge and Lysol as these are not provided. Also plan to wash all dishes and cooking utensils before use (which is probably never a bad idea anyway). Outdoor chairs were cracked and dirty. Towels are very basic and small. Think "Holiday Inn" level accommodations and amenities.

Staff: The staff were for the most part truly exceptional. The young people working the front desk, restaurant and activities were friendly, welcoming and genuine. We had a slightly awkward encounter with Ben who appeared a little disdainful but we simply avoided him for the duration of our stay. Really our take-away was how wonderful the rest of the staff were - even more remarkable for a 'no tip' establishment. From the young woman who cleared our plates to the young man who took away our garbage, we were charmed.

Activities: Hiking trails are very nice and well maintained. Pools are pretty and large but the indoor/outdoor pool was very dirty, with lots of debris, bugs, leaves and hair floating, as well as what appeared to be a film on the surface. Canoes and Kayaks are good, and there is one SUP with no rudder. Lots of life jackets but only one that is infant size (no kid size life jackets). Beach is cute but very small (could be the highwater we are experiencing). Activity field is well stocked, farm was fun to visit, and there is a nightly communal campfire with some s'more supplies left out. Foosball in the dining room, and a library of dvds and boardgames. The steam room and sauna were both not working. Overall the resort has a feeling of disrepair.

Extras: Breakfast was really very nice- basic selection but well cooked. Eggs, bacon, sausage, toast, fruit salad, potatoes and coffee/tea. Ice cream was served one afternoon.

We maystay here again. Although the price is quite high for the offering, the lake is very enticing and it really does feel that with some TLC this resort could be something special. We are cutting the resort some slack due to the fact that it is still early in the season and everything might not be fully up and running and summer staff may not be all in place.

Room Tip: ask for a view of Stony Lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Dear Jenna,

Thank you for your comments. I'm so sorry to hear your cottage was not up to standards - we are reviewing procedures and have implemented some changes that will resolve these issues. We do hope you'll return and give us another chance to wow you!

Cheers,
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile

This is a great place to spend a romantic weekend. The 7 course meal and wine pairing is a true experience. We appreciated all the staff as they truly understand customer service. And the General Manager Ben obviously cares deeply about everyone and everything. Our room was on the second floor with wonderful views of the lake.
Some great beers on tap at the boat house and food there is great too.
Breakfast was included and is your standard fair.
The trails and frisbee golf made for a fun time too!
Overall, we would be happy to come back anytime.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

Dear Jim,

Thanks for your kind comments! We look forward to seeing you next time!

Cheers,
Ben Samann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

Viamede's "Quick Escape" package was just what we needed for a little sanity break. Not too far from the city but a world away from work, traffic and noise. We had a great little cabin right on the lake and nothing better than sitting on your deck in the morning and watching the loons and geese with their goslings swim by. The 7 course dinner with wine pairing was wonderful - and the butter tart ice cream at the end was to die for. The service was great - lots of extra little touches - including butter tarts with breakfast because we raved so much the night before. Lots to explore - hiking trails, a little on-site farm that supplies the chef... wonderful place to get off by ourselves and great value for money. Thanks to Ben and all of the staff.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CFletch2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you enjoyed your Quick Escape, and yes, we agree that Chef's butter tarts are out of this world!

Cheers,
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2017

I had the unique pleasure of spending two consecutive weekends at Viamede: the first was for my 45th nursing class reunion (23 women) and the second was for a spring conference (75 women). Viamede is a bit rustic, it is early in the season and some of the cabins needed a little more attention to detail - specifically cleanliness. The food was abundant and delicious for the most part, with the exception of the first night on the 1st weekend when Chef Jay was not there. That meal was definitely below average.
The best selling point of the resort (aside from the spectacular setting) is the staff. These people could not have done more to make our stay pleasurable. From Ben, the GM, who responded to every request with a smile and "can-do" to the very friendly, accommodating Anna and Hannah. Everyone there was a joy to deal with.
It rained all weekend but we still had fun....the indoor pool is great although the tiles could use a good scrubbing.
The best, most comfortable beds. I'd like to go back later in the season when the weather is warmer and I could take advantage of the many outdoor activities.

Room Tip: Everything is right on the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan1804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

Thanks for your review, Joan! I'm happy to hear you enjoyed yourself. We appreciate the feedback on the cottages and food and will make sure to address those areas.
Hope to see you again soon.

Cheers,
Ben Samann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Kawartha
19.1 km away
Village Inn of Lakefield
Village Inn of Lakefield
#2 of 2 in Lakefield
107 reviews
36.2 km away
Super 8 Peterborough
Super 8 Peterborough
#2 of 12 in Peterborough
1,632 reviews
14.5 km away
Westwind Inn
Westwind Inn
#1 of 1 in Buckhorn
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.2 km away
Elmhirst's Resort
Elmhirst's Resort
#1 of 2 in Keene
204 reviews
5.5 km away
Burleigh Falls Inn
Burleigh Falls Inn
#1 of 1 in Burleigh Falls
34 reviews
11.4 km away
Beachwood Resort
Beachwood Resort
#1 of 10 in Lakefield
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viamede Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viamede Resort

Address: 595 Mt Julian Viamede Rd | Woodview, North Kawartha, Ontario K0L 3E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > North Kawartha
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Kawartha
Hotel Class:3 star — Viamede Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only 40 minutes north of Peterborough, Viamede is nestled in the woods on the north shore of Stoney Lake, one of Ontario's most beautiful lakes. Our resort facilities are well suited to both relaxation and adventure. Explore the 165 acres of nature that Viamede offers by hiking our 6 km of private nature trails or canoeing the islands of beautiful Stoney Lake. Enjoy an evening barbecuing on your private patio or join us at the Boathouse Pub for live music, great food and cold craft beers for summer time fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Viamede Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viamede Hotel North Kawartha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing