We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite good but improvements needed”
Review of MouraGolf Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
MouraGolf Village
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Three of us shared Villa 2b which was spacious and very clean. We arrived when it was dark so were pleasantly surprised when we opened the curtains in the morning. We had not seen pictures before arriving and the lawn looked great and well kept down to the pool which looked very inviting. There were small trees and flowering shrubs which looked gorgeous.

Our patio was quite large with high walls separating us from the next villas. This gave us a good deal of privacy for sunbathing - which we did a lot as it was hot and sunny!

A weird aspect of the groundsman/pool man was that he insisted on turning on the sprinklers to water the lawn about 8.30am when he arrived and turning them off at 10am. At this time the temperature was already in the high 20s so the grass did get scorched. Weirder was the fact that the sprinklers sprinkle across the patios so it was impossible to get to off the patio before 10 without getting soaked! The lower sprinklers near the pool made sure that the sunbeds by the pool were all soaked as well.

The pool itself was quite good and the water very warm by the end of the afternoon. In my opinion the water level in the pool was too high meaning that the skimmers were not working properly. I checked a couple and they had virtually nothing in them at the end of the day but the pool had loads of dead insects floating - I got stung by a wasp in the water. Like many hotel pools this one needed some maintenance on the tiles but was OK.

We all had very firm beds - which I found too firm - and horrible lumpy pillows. Bring your own! Our friend had the en-suite with a small balcony and we had a twin room which only had the beds and a small chest of drawers.

The kitchen was adequate but as other reviewers have said really needed a cooker as the combo microwave wasn't much use. Great that in addition to a fridge freezer the kitchen had both a washing machine and dishwasher - big plus.

Staff were always friendly and helpful.

If the owners were prepared to invest some money - probably a few millions Euros - this could move up to four star accommodation e.g. better beds, pillows, towels, furniture, new patio furniture, sort the pool, wifi in every villa, barbecue in every villa plus a kitchen 'basics pack' of washing up liquid, dishcloths, coffee filters and coffee.

Having said that, we all enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: 2b was great if you wanted some privacy on the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joff_Day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here in April 2014. Apartment was lovely and we were having a lovely time until the Stag group arrived. They were very disturbing, noisy and disruptive. They played football and jumped into the pool without showering. They were throwing their footwear into the pool, which would put one off. This is a lovey resort for families, but this group of louts were a complete disturbance, day and night. We had to just leave each day while they were there and go travelling to find some peace. Apart from that; Sandra and Andrea were very very helpful and welcoming. They certainly put themselves out for their clients. But, my advise to them would be to stick to families and couples..............................There is a bus very nearby, but it only comes on the hour, a bit of a pain...........The shop is a good walk away..... MM

Room Tip: Apartments facing the pool are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marg4750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

My rating is based on my experience (STAG DO)... if it was with the Mrs i wouldn't have bothered with this place to be honest.

The villas are ideal for a group of friends staying together... the complex in places needs refurbishment but the rooms are very nice, clean and definitely served a purpose for me and 14 friends (staying in 3 villas). The pool was clean quiet and enjoyable... all our lot were very respectable which i'm sure didn't ruin anyone else's visit.

Taxi from here to Vilamoura Marina is appox 6/7 euro and takes 5 mins/ to Albufeira approx 25 euros and takes half an hour / to airport i would be guessting at taxi costs as we used SUNTRANSFERS who were very very good, and only charged £126 between 15 people to and from the airport.

Would stay here again with friends but not with partner.

One thing to mention.... Sandra who works at this place was incredibly helpful. She always went beyond her role to make sure we were happy and looked after. She even went to pick up PIZZA's because a local firm was too busy to deliver.... lovely person!

Room Tip: go for a large 6 bed villa with friends..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I stayed at MouraGolf Village with 4 friends for 7 nights this July, 2013.

It was certainly a more family and couple oriented place to stay which we respected, although still able to cater for friends.

The villa was cleaned before arrival and was spotless when we had our first look around.

We had 2 bedrooms; 1 with 2 single beds in and 1 double bedroom plus a small room with pull out bed so plenty for the 5 of us.

A/C was built in so if it got too hot we could simply switch those on and it would cool very quickly.

Towels, toilet roll and bedding were allocated and replacements offered by maids every 2 days.

2 shower rooms, 1 bathroom, 1 kitchen and big living space gave the place a feel of affordable luxury. It was certainly very comfortable and felt like a home from home.

Out back we had a small patio area with table and 2 deck chairs to relax, a very nice spot if you want to shade yourself from the sun in private without going back indoors. This lead onto the pool area.

The community pool was clean, quiet and the atmosphere around the pool very relaxed.

The 'Village' itself looked very nice, plenty of colourful plants, trees and grass kept short and tidy.

A special mention for Ruth who worked on reception; a very kind and patient lady who spoke excellent English, she was very helpful in advising us on food, nightlife, activities etc.

She was also a brilliant teacher; teaching me a number of Portuguese phrases, the locals really appreciated the effort I had made to learn their language and without Ruth I wouldn't have the chance.

I would reccomend hiring a car or allowing for taxi money as we did to get about although the walk to Vilamoura is an enjoyable one the taxi is only 6 euro, to get to Albufeira at night will cost you approx. 20 euros.

It was a holiday that blew my expectations out of the water, staying at MouraGolf played a massive part in that!

Obrigado (Thank you) to Ruth and everyone else at MouraGolf,

Daniel and the boys, London

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Just had 4 nights here. Accommodation is tired and old fashioned. However the 2 bed deluxe villa was fairly well equipped and clean. The only thing missing was an oven. Great spot around the pool and the gardens were well tended. The receptionist was lovely and very helpful. WiFi in reception and rear garden. Very close to the bus stop with stops all along the coast. For what we paid it was good value for money. The reception can be closed quite often so best to call them before you arrive to make sure they will be there. I would go back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank louise d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
1.5 km away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#4 of 36 in Vilamoura
802 reviews
1.2 km away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
1.8 km away
Residence Golf Club
Residence Golf Club
#19 of 36 in Vilamoura
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,395 reviews
2.7 km away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
1.8 km away
Blue & Green The Lake Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MouraGolf Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MouraGolf Village

Address: Avenida do Parque | Volta do Faisao, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-404, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Vilamoura
Price Range: $79 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — MouraGolf Village 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your MouraGolf Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mouragolf Village Hotel Vilamoura
MouraGolf Village Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing