We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,938)
Filter reviews
1,939 results
Traveller rating
735
786
307
74
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
735
786
307
74
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view vila gale junior suite small kitchen excellent location pool area lovely hotel room safe bed and breakfast bus stop golfing holiday bars and restaurants plenty of choice reception staff tennis courts short walk to the marina plenty of sunbeds
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1,939 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just back from the vila Galé amphalius and have nothing but praise for this fantastic hotel and it’s staff and management from the time you arrive the staff on reception are so friendly and welcoming and with the same high standards throughout the hotel they have added a fantastic new coffee shop and pizzeria onto the front of the hotel special Thks to David ana pinto Dario smiley Ricardo and Carlos for making our holiday so special can’t wait to return next year

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank eamo1604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHotels, Manager at Vila Gale Ampalius, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear eamo1604,

We appreciate your feedback and are glad to read that you had a fantastic time here. Thank you for mentioning our staff, we always want to ensure our guests experience the highest levels of service to make them feel welcome. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Best regards,
Sofia Ribeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018

Hotel staff friendly , Breakfast good , Standard bedroom very shabby (floor lifting)
Bedroom door had to be slammed shut , Green sink , white toilet bowl ,white bath nothing matched ? A nearby hotel or bar licensed to play
Very loud music for five hours in the afternoon / after midnight also ? Hotel in
walking distance from marina ,restaurant . But would not stay again in hotel ??

Room Tip: Not a standard room
Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank martinaelli0tt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHotels, Manager at Vila Gale Ampalius, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Dear martinaelli0tt,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are glad your experience was pleasant, and that you consider staying with us again in a future visit to our lovely Vilamoura. Again, thank you for taking the time to share it on TripAdvisor and we hope you to welcome you again very soon.

Best regards,
Sofia Ribeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

Excellent location close to marina. Hotel is fabulous. The staff here are exceptional - nothing is too much trouble they are so attentive without being intrusive. Special thanks to Dario and all the bar staff and Myeda (Hurricane) and all of our entertainment team. We will definitely return. Great memories of a great holiday.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Pauline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHotels, Manager at Vila Gale Ampalius, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Dear Pauline C,
We were very grateful for your feedback and for choosing Vila Gale Ampalius.
Your words confirm the dedication of the entire team and our desire to continue to satisfy our guests needs and thank for your words about tha Bar and entertainment staff.

We look forward to your next visit in one of our 31 hotels in Portugal ou Brazil "Always close to you!"

Best regards.
Sofia Ribeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018 via mobile

I have never been so rudely insulted by anyone on any visit. We had arranged a shuttle transfer to play golf. After it was heavily delayed, the van arrived to collect only 2 out of the 9 of us. When we questioned what the rest would do, he said “wait, do what you want, it’s busy”. He was angry, unpleasant and aggressive.

We declined splitting the group up and had to take taxis as we were already close to missing our tee times.

If the hotel cares at all about its quality of service, it should change its shuttle provider immediately.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
4  Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018

This is a very big hotel so it is surprising that our only real criticism is that the room was on the small side. There was very little hanging space and the bathroom was tiny.

That criticism seems a bit meanspirited as I would recommend this hotel. It suffers from all the usual drawbacks of hotels of this type – the hogging of sunloungers that goes unpoliced, rather uninspiring breakfasts, some nasty hidden charges (e.g. for the safe). However… the swimming pool is large and warm enough, access to a (superb) beach couldn’t be better, the spa facilities and indoor pool are great (and at no extra charge), aircon is perfect, the hotel is more than usually clean for hotels of this type and the evening meals were outstanding. The staff were excellent although this isn’t the type of hotel where one gets friendly with the staff, particularly.

The hotel is about two minutes’ walk from the marina. Unfortunately, a nearby hotel or bar is licensed to play seriously loud music for about five hours each afternoon. It means one can’t use the balcony during this period (save in the unlikely event that you like the music, which is sort of “trance” music, I’m told). I appreciate that a balance needs to be struck between the competing likes and dislikes of different
holidaymakers but the other guests we spoke to in the hotel agreed it was a nuisance and maybe this is something the management could address as it does detract from the holiday.

All in all, this hotel is like a microcosm of Vilamoura itself – a bit pricey, not much in the way of character, but very relaxing, comfortable and a great place to recharge the batteries. Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank robcrozzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHotels, Manager at Vila Gale Ampalius, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Dear robcrozzer,
Thank you for taking the time to write these detailed review following your recent visit to us. I'm happy to see that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations. Thank you for mentioning our staff. I will certainly share your remarks with them.

I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel in the future

Best regards,
Sofia Ribeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews