We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Great Hike near Svolvear!

This hike surpassed our expectations! We walked to the trail head from our hotel on the main... read more

Reviewed 1 October 2018
riadunn
Great place deluxe

Nice walk from the hotel. 1 hour wall from the hotel, 30 minutes from the Esso gas station. I... read more

Reviewed 29 September 2018
Thor77777777
,
Trondheim, Norway
Read all 51 reviews
  
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
12
7
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
7
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gravel road esso gas station great hike nice walk mast summit climb rope radio reaching steep
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 20 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2018

This hike surpassed our expectations! We walked to the trail head from our hotel on the main harbor in Svolvear and began about an 2 hour hike up...we stopped alot to enjoy the amazing vistas and to take photos. We went all the way to the very top which included a couple steep areas and one area that has a rope to help pull yourself up. Not extremely challenging but it was warm and we did get a sweat going. Make sure to take water with you and wear proper hiking shoes (no flip flops or sandals)...your time and effort will be rewarded with fantastic panoramic views! Overall we spend about 3 - 3.5 hours hiking up and down

Thank riadunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2018

Nice walk from the hotel. 1 hour wall from the hotel, 30 minutes from the Esso gas station.
I really recommend this view!!!

Thank Thor77777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2018 via mobile

Just outside of Svolvær (walking distance) you’ll find the path that takes you to Tjeldbergtinden.

You’ll need apx 2 - 3 hours up and down. That time includes spending some time enjoying the view.

Here you’ll get an amazing view over Vestfjorden, Svolvær and Kabelvåg.

The climb/walk is pretty easy, BUT if you have hip or knee problemes it might be to rough for you.

The first part to the top is a gravel road, and a easy upward walk. When reaching the sign, pointing right, just follow the path.

You can make two summits on the walk. The eastern and western. The western is a bit steaper, and you might need to use the rope that’s hanging down there. The eastern is just a walk, to your left, after finishing the climb.

1  Thank 1964Tore22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2018

Great walk to the Tjeldbergtind mountain top, but don't underestimate the steep hills during the second part to the top.

1  Thank jant166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2018 via mobile

Got the recommendation from the reception at our campsite to try out this hike with our daughter.
It is a somewhat steep hike up, but is done in an hour or so if taking it easy.

Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018 via mobile

Went up during March, so it was pretty steep and can be challenging at times due to the snow. But it was worth it and the view from the top was spectacular. To get there, turn right at the Esso on the E10 and then take the second right after going along the small road. There should be a parking lot and a sign with name on it.

Thank omegon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017

Thinking that Floya would be too much of a challenge, we chose to hike up Tjeldbergtind. It's classed a 1/4 but that's for Norwegians and their families who do this on a regular basis. If you're just an average walker/hiker, you would have no problems with this hike, but it can be a little uninspiring in the initial part of the hike.

Make sure it's the second left once you pass the Esso. Do not go to the end of the bitumen road. But you need to walk up between some houses and to your right is a sign showing Kjeldbergtind.

The first part of the road is I think a private access road to the pistol club and then just where the road continues up the hill to the radio mast turn right and the hike to Tjeldbergtind is signposted.

For the Norwegians this hike is a walk in the park. I think I am of moderate fitness and the walk took me hour to hike up and forty-five minutes to get down and that was going to the very end and looking down to Svolvaer and Kabelvåg. It is a steep rocky climb and muddy in parts but once at the top glorious views.

6  Thank GlobeTrotters4001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

If you are coming in to Svolvær along E10 from Svolvær Airport, Esso will be on your right handside. You will have to pass the shell and circle K petrol stations and go on for another 5mins. We followed some reviews and parked near the Esso station at the foot of the slope and walked up the road till we reached the gravel path. The area was quite empty and seemed like some people actually parked along the road close by instead. Following the gravel path it was a easy walk for about 15 to 20mins before reaching the Tjeldbergtinden sign. After which it starts to get a little more challenging. The path is marked with blue and white markers painted on the rocks which makes navigation easy. It started to rain on our way up with made the rocks a little slippery. Overall a nice short climb. It will be good to set aside 2 to 3 hours in total for trip from Esso up and back. After climbing to the first summit or rather plateau continue on to the 2nd summit and take your time to enjoy the views!

2  Thank JowenL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

It is exactly as "Thewoodygirls, Brooklyn, New York", described it. You can park at the gas station or a bit up the street. The beginning of the path is behind the firestation.

1  Thank Tatyana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

Nice hike close to Svolvær. From the top you have a nice view both towards Svolvær and Kabelvåg.
.
.
.
.
.
.

1  Thank Kari A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews