We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveller rating
32
41
17
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
32
41
17
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 91 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2017

PROs:
- Not expensive
- Bathroom is nicest part of the room, the rest is okay; hair dryer in the room if needed
- Decent restaurant/bar on-site
- Free parking
- Good service
- Close enough location to walk downtown or across the street to the train station
- Valkenburg is a good location to explore eastern Belgium and southern Holland; Maastricht is maybe a 10-15 minute drive away

CONs:
- There's a balcony, but no view if you need that
- No fancy amenities if that's what you need

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard-Julie_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2016

This was one of four hotels we had stayed in , in four separate countries, in the last 38 days, so...........
An absolute brilliant 3 days based here at the Grand Hotel Monopole in Valkenburg.The Christmas decorations in the hotel, were breath taking, we could have stayed in the hotel, they were that good. The staff were really friendly, as were the owners. Each night the Chef explained the menu, and chatted with each and everyone of us. On the occasion of a flam-be ice cream cake, he paraded his work, around the guests, to much applause. On one occasion I said "Good morning" to the cleaner, and asked if she was working hard, and she replied, that she wanted to thank me for making a mess, so that she might retain her job? Lovely friendly atmosphere. Crusader Holidays were the company we travelled with.

Stayed: November 2016
1  Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2016 via mobile

Wonderful break with Crusader coach holidays. Very impressed if you love Christmas you with love this hotel and area. So many beautiful decorations in the hotel been decorated within an inch of its life. Very tasteful. Trees etc. Even a tree which snows. Staff friendly. Food great. A bit slow to fix things. Every shop is decorated a very cute xmas parade on a wednesday evening at 7pm is fun. Even xmas music piped in the streets. If you eat out say 25 euros for one main meal and drink.
Memorable break a must see is the xmas markets in the caves takes 2-3 hours to get around. A lot of xmas gifts to purchase

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank DawnDancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2016 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed in this lovely hotel whilst visiting the christmas markets with a coach load of brits.
We arrived with a warm welcome and a smile from every member of staff.

Amazing hotel with everything you could possibly need.

Keep up the good work.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Samuel Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2015

Though fairly close to the road, this was a very comfortable and quiet hotel. Food was well presented and delicious. Staff were friendly and helpful. Room was comfortable and clean. This hotel is quite close the the railway station and a short walk from a local pleasure garden

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews