We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas markets”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Hotel Monopole
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in Valkenburg
Reviewed 4 December 2017 via mobile

What can I say, this hotel is amazing, the staff are so friendly and helpful, the room is clean and newly refurbished. The beds are fab, the first hotel we have stayed in where the beds have been very comfortable. The food was truly amazing, local Home cooked food done to perfection. I would strongly recommend this hotel if you want to visit the Christmas markets in Valkenburg.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2017

PROs:
- Not expensive
- Bathroom is nicest part of the room, the rest is okay; hair dryer in the room if needed
- Decent restaurant/bar on-site
- Free parking
- Good service
- Close enough location to walk downtown or across the street to the train station
- Valkenburg is a good location to explore eastern Belgium and southern Holland; Maastricht is maybe a 10-15 minute drive away

CONs:
- There's a balcony, but no view if you need that
- No fancy amenities if that's what you need

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard-Julie_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2016

This was one of four hotels we had stayed in , in four separate countries, in the last 38 days, so...........
An absolute brilliant 3 days based here at the Grand Hotel Monopole in Valkenburg.The Christmas decorations in the hotel, were breath taking, we could have stayed in the hotel, they were that good. The staff were really friendly, as were the owners. Each night the Chef explained the menu, and chatted with each and everyone of us. On the occasion of a flam-be ice cream cake, he paraded his work, around the guests, to much applause. On one occasion I said "Good morning" to the cleaner, and asked if she was working hard, and she replied, that she wanted to thank me for making a mess, so that she might retain her job? Lovely friendly atmosphere. Crusader Holidays were the company we travelled with.

Stayed: November 2016
Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2016 via mobile

Wonderful break with Crusader coach holidays. Very impressed if you love Christmas you with love this hotel and area. So many beautiful decorations in the hotel been decorated within an inch of its life. Very tasteful. Trees etc. Even a tree which snows. Staff friendly. Food great. A bit slow to fix things. Every shop is decorated a very cute xmas parade on a wednesday evening at 7pm is fun. Even xmas music piped in the streets. If you eat out say 25 euros for one main meal and drink.
Memorable break a must see is the xmas markets in the caves takes 2-3 hours to get around. A lot of xmas gifts to purchase

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank DawnDancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2016 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed in this lovely hotel whilst visiting the christmas markets with a coach load of brits.
We arrived with a warm welcome and a smile from every member of staff.

Amazing hotel with everything you could possibly need.

Keep up the good work.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Samuel Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valkenburg hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Walram
Hotel Walram
#3 of 46 in Valkenburg
518 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Dieteren
Hotel Dieteren
#2 of 46 in Valkenburg
223 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Tummers
Hotel Tummers
#5 of 46 in Valkenburg
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Dupuis
Hotel Dupuis
#16 of 46 in Valkenburg
55 reviews
2.4 km away
Chateau St. Gerlach
Chateau St. Gerlach
#1 of 46 in Valkenburg
1,813 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Scheepers
Hotel Scheepers
#4 of 46 in Valkenburg
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Monopole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Monopole

Address: Nieuweweg 22, 6301 ET Valkenburg, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Valkenburg
Price Range: $123 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Monopole 3*
Number of rooms: 330
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Monopole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Monopole Valkenburg, The Netherlands - Limburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing