We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!”
Review of Lindos Blu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lindos Blu
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Lindos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed at Lindos Blu last September and cannot recommend this hotel enough! Situated just outside the sugar cube town of Lindos, the hotel is built into the hillside and is absolutely amazing! We spent our days by the pool or down at the beach where the water was crystal clear and lovely and warm. Note that you will need to take a couple of lifts down to the bottom on the hotel followed by a short walk to reach the beach. In the evenings we would have a drink in the hotel bar, sitting outisde overlooking the bay, followed by a trip into Lindos town for dinner. There are plenty of restaurants to choose from, and you eat on the roof tops overlooking the whole town. Our favourite restaurant was Ceasars which sits just underneath the Acropolis, where the staff were very friendly and the traditional Greek food was very tasty!! A trip to the Acropolis is definately worth the climb as the views are amazing, but I would recommend doing this in the afternoon when the temperature has dropped a little. I would definitely recommend Lindos Blu, not only because of the sheer luxury of the hotel, the beautiful rooms and views, the lovely breakfasts and staff, but also because of its location next to the pretty town of Lindos.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BigSmiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

863 - 867 of 1,359 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed here in August 2011 for a weeks Honeymoon- it was perfect! We had never stayed 5 Star before, from first arriving at the hotel after a late night flight, we were greeted by friendly hotel staff, who took our bags. On arrival to reception, we were congratulated with a room upgrade from a double with a pool to a junior room with a pool. We were then shown to our room, full of rosepetals, champagne and a fruit hamper. Rooms were clean, tidy with everything you could need, even though the pool was shared, this didn't matter as we were usually the only ones using ours. To make our stay even more special, we were asked to go to reception a few days into our holiday, where we were told that as special guests on Honeymoon, they would like to upgrade us for the rest of our stay! Were we upgraded to one of the Villas with our own private pool, indoor hot tub.... heaven!!!
Every member of staff went out of their way to make sure our stay was perfect, particularly the waiters and staff in the restaurant. We stayed on a half board basis, and never left the hotel for another meal as the food was so good- probably some of the best food we have ever had, the setting sat overlooking the bay with a glass of wine probably added to this atmosphere! In the evening, the soup and main courses you could choose off a menu, and the starters and desserts were a buffet style for you to help yourself to and the breakfast was buffet style too. The choices were different every day (and there was always champagne on ice avaiable for breakfast!) We usually headed to the cocktail bar at the top of the hotel after our evening meal (which was quite expensive (about 10 Euro a cocktail, but lovely).
The location of the hotel was fine for us as we just wanted to relax for a week- it was a few minutes walk to the beach, which we only visited once, but it was a nice enough. We took a taxi into Lindos one day which was about 7 euro each way (about a 5 min journey) you do need a taxi as the roads are main roads and I wouldn't advise walking on them. We also hired a car one day to explore Rhodes etc.
In summary- we dont have a bad word to say about Lindos Blu, it gave us a wonderful honeymoon full of memories, with amazing staff, rooms and food- I definately wouldn't have fitted back in my wedding dress after a week of such luxury!!

Room Tip: If you are booking a room with a pool, ask for a higher up room, so that you get the views of the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Gina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

we booked in for a week and left after three days!
We felt that we booked a junior suite with a shared pool, apparently we didn't (because they don't have junior suites with shared pools!) so we got "upgraded" to a double room with a shared pool. But that aside the hotel is stainless steel, chrome and plate glass, it's just not to our taste.

Breakfast was very good, the staff were lovely but we felt the hotel lacked privacy, sitting on your balcony you could see all the other guests sitting on their balcony. The shared "private" pool was next to the pathway down to the beach so everyone walking down to the beach stopped and gawped. The bathroom is separated from the bedroom by a window, so no privacy again. The rooms actually aren't particularly spacious, we stay in quite a few 5 star hotels and always have more space unless it's in a city.
The gourmet dinner was hilarious - just over the top and silly, but expensive.
Cocktail bar very good with nice views
The beach is a trek (3 lifts) and not particularly big but sandy and gently sloping so ok for kids

Everyone else on here seems to like this place but we prefer less steel and glass, bigger room and better food so maybe it's just us (oh and less poseurs!). We sadly won't return.

A poor rating maybe a bit harsh but we've never abandoned a hotel before to move to a better one, we were really uncomfortable here.

Room Tip: Double check you have actually booked the room you think you have - or go to the Spirits of the Knig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
33  Thank cander60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thanasis T, Guest Relations Manager at Lindos Blu, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2012

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for spending your valuable time to bring your feedback to our attention.

We are genuinely concerned to read your comments about rooms, hotel, food, drinks and the beach although it seems that you were disappointed with the architecture of the hotel (something that most of our guests are really comfortable with). We understand that architecture and aesthetics are really important to your personal taste and we are sorry that we could not accommodate your style of architecture and meet your expectations.

Lindos Blu is one of the most prestigious and well designed five star hotels in the island. The design of our hotel is fully described and displayed on our website and in all our partners’ brochures.

According to our records, your booking was made for a standard Junior Suite although we trust that you have been misinformed about your booked room type by third parties prior your arrival in our hotel. During your 3 days stay, we did our best to accommodate you in a room that fitted your needs by offering you complimentary upgrades to the next room categories however you were still dissatisfied as you had in mind that the booked room type did not exist at our hotel.

In fact , in Lindos Blu there are 41 Double rooms, 10 Junior Suites, 5 Double room with sharing pool,5 Junior suites with sharing pool, 5 Double Deluxe with outdoor jacuzzi, 2 Private Pool Villa and 2 Private Pool Maisonettes .

As far as the privacy in the room, bathroom to bedrooms are indeed separated by a glass window, which gives privacy by an electronically blind curtain. We feel very sorry if you have not noticed it.

We felt rather surprised with your further comments about the hotel which is in direct contrast to what the majority of our guests believe so. This can be further substantiated by the numerous awards that we have receive from Tour Operators and the excellent reviews posted on Trip advisor lately who placed Lindos Blu at the top of the ranking for hotels in Greece.

Once again thank you for your feedback and very much hope that perhaps you might choose to return in the future should your travel plans call for a trip to South Rhodes.

Kind Regards
Lindos Blu Hotel
Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Lindos Blu is a lovely, very modern hotel for couples only. The service is all geared towards this.

I would recommend contacting the hotel before your arrival to organise a taxi from the airport to the hotel (60 euros). The journey from the airport to the hotel takes around 45 minutes and the drivers are obviously picked to make this a pleasantly sedate and informative drive.

We picked a suite for our special occasion and we were definately satisfied with our choice. The hotel had laid on a bottle of bubbly and various nibbles and local specialities, not to mention covering the floor, bed and jacuzzi with rose petals (nice touch).

I would also recommend booking direct with the hotel as this will save you around 1000 euros over a two week stay, book your own flights too and this will save an additional 100 euros each (change in Athens) instead of booking with a travel agent. (Ideal for smokers as you get to have a couple of ciggies while waiting for the connecting flight).

The spa is a bit pricey but has to be done at least once, we paid 90 euros each for a massage and could not find fault with the service or facilities, all nice and clean and very relaxing (nice glass of cold fruit juice after too).

The little news shop has all of your cigarette, newpaper and confectionary needs at reasonable prices on the floor above the breakfast dining area.

The breakfast buffet is frankly fantastic, different cheeses every day, every kind of bread known to man, fruits, cereals, cold meats, eggs, bacon, sausages, omlettes cooked in front of you to your liking and bottles of (local) cava for those who like to start the day slightly tipsy.

The evening meal in the restaurant is fantastic but way over the top on price (Monday is lobster night) you are looking at around £100 for a three course meal for two (without wine). more hearty fare can be found in Lindos town for a third of the price.

As many have mentioned before, the pool side balcony (where you will eating breakfast if you smoke) is a bit cramped in terms of sun loungers and there is little room for moving the sun beds around. The plus side of this is that there is no 'lounger hogging' by folks who like to get up at 4 am to park a towel on the best loungers as it is very much a first come first served kind of deal.

The trip down to the beach is VERY steep requiring a series of three lift rides followed by around 200m of walking and probably not to be attempted after the aforementioned cava for breakfast. (not good for wheelchair users).
The beach itself is clean and cones (snap lock ashtrays) are provided for smokers under the whicker parasols. Being at the west end of the beach there is no through traffic. The nice part of this is that because it is an adult only hotel the female of the species can quite comfortably go topless without gawping teenagers and weirdos making the environment uncomfortable.
The only time we saw any kind of child was when a family from the hotel Mar decided to give it it a go with their screaming brats in tow. They were moved on within 20 minutes by the staff after complaints from some of our European friends.

On the subject of the beach, do yourself a favour and do not order from the menu on the parasol, you will find that the little supermarket down the beach does cold bottled water, beer, crisps etc at around 1/3 of the price of having it brought to you.

Avoid the pub restaurant 'Rotonda' about 100m down the beach. Nothing wrong with the food, the service comes with a sneer....no matter how well you tip.

The Greek national passtime seems to be going on strike, therefore do not expect to be able to get a taxi all the time. The days they are out on strike are well advertised at the front desk so plan your trips around these.

The front desk staff are 'bend over backwards' helpful and have very accurate local knowledge of Lindos town and Rhodes in general. I really couldn't fault them, they were lovely.

The balcony bar is awsome for views of the bay and the bartender will fix any cocktail you care to mention. If it isn't on the menu he will look it up on the net and fix it for you anyway. My wife ordered a 'love boat' which was not on the menu and fair play to the guy, we had our cocktails 20 minutes later with a don't like it, don't pay for it guarantee. The tunes are incredibly chilled and will have you sat there for hours just listening....and getting slowly smashed.

I would recommend on the days that the taxi drivers do go on strike that you have a stroll into Lindos town as you will see beautiful views that you miss from four wheeled transport (see photo below) it only takes 20 minutes, but sensible walking shoes are advised.

Lidos town itself is full of restaurants, pick and choose your favourites (I would recommend Iannis bar for people watching / football and Stefanos which is owned by two brothers for no nonsense slap up meals with a smile and a nice family feel) otherwise Lindos town is nothing but jewellers (no prices, just gram weights for gold - check today's prices, and use your common sense), crepe places, donkey rides to the acropolis and night clubs / trendy bars.

The only fault I could find (and this is pathetic) is that the lighting controls for the suites are a little confusing, I was kept awake by the bright blue LED for the stereo and the flashing light for the smoke alarm (I'm a builder, these things worry me). Do learn how to use the 'do not disturb' button as the staff will be in and out all day long bringing fruit baskets, chocolates and restocking the coffee and tea.

If you want privacy I would avoid the sharing pool rooms as I had a commanding view over all of the pools (see photo below) and it would seem that you may well have your neighbour swimming past your window first thing in the morning.

All in all a fantastic hotel with fantastic staff and a chilled out 'for adults only' feel.

You only live once, so go for it!

Room Tip: Don't do the sharing pool rooms - even as adults we saw things that still require eye bleach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DaddyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

The Lindos Blu is now one of my top hotels, and definitely a place I wish to return to. The setting amazing, hotel immaculate and staff wonderful. I will not spend too much time describing the setting, as the photos already available on Trip Advisor tell the tale much better than I could. It is worth saying right out that this is a hotel to stay in to relax, so those expecting activities and energy should look elsewhere.

We opted not to take one of the package tours, but rather travel under our own steam from London via Athens (Aegean Airways), which we felt would be a more peaceful mode of transport than the direct flights to Rhodes. The Lindos Blu booked our airport transfers for us, using the slightly more expensive Mercedes taxi transfer rather than the standard taxi, which greeted us in the terminal building in the arrivals hall. In actuality, all taxis on Rhodes are Mercedes so what you are actually paying for is a newer, cleaner car with a more careful and friendly driver. I would recommend taking this option by emailing the hotel prior to your arrival, as some of the standard taxis do drive at serious speeds around the island. The drive was about 50 minutes from Rhodes airport to the hotel at a cost of €73 each way, compared to €63 for a standard taxi picked up from the airport rank.

Upon arrival at the Lindos Blu our room was upgraded from the Double we booked to a Junior Suite, which I suspect was because we booked via the Small Luxury Hotels of the World club. The front of house manager was especially helpful throughout our stay, and upon arrival she took us to the Luna Rossa bar and presented us with a complementary glass of sparkling wine each. We then retired to our room to find another bottle of complementary sparkling wine, which we enjoyed with some room service dinner on our balcony overlooking the bay.

The food in the hotel is fantastic and well-priced. We chose a B&B rate rather than half-board so we had the flexibility of eating both a la carte as well as buffet meals. The Smeraldo restaurant is pool side and offers both the buffet (the half-board option) as well as an a la carte menu. Both options are wonderful, with the buffet actually providing your main course from a menu direct to your table from the kitchen to ensure it is of the highest quality. The a la carte menu in Smeraldo is the same as the room service menu, and is equally first class. The third option for food is called The Five Seasons restaurant, and must be tried. The standard of food in The Five Seasons is way above the price, and easily one of the best restaurants I’ve been to anywhere. Evening bar food is also available in the Luna Rossa bar if you are looking for something lighter. During the day, we snacked for lunch at the Allegro pool bar, which serves both at the top pool where it is based and delivers down to the lower pool.

The hotel has two pools, one main pool plus a smaller pool further down the hotel. Not all sun loungers are in direct sunshine all day, however we never had trouble getting some in the sun when we wanted (we were told that the hotel was full). The smaller bottom pool is definitely warmer than the top, as this pool gets sunshine all day. The beach is shared with a number of other hotels in the bay, but primarily the Lindos Mare which is located directly below the Lindos Blu. Do not expect the beach to be as quiet as the hotel due to its shared nature, however it is still perfectly relaxing with the sea wonderfully warm to swim in. Food and drink is available on the beach, courtesy of the Lindos Mare hotel so bring cash if you wish to purchase any. We opted not to buy this food, but instead purchased 2 litre bottles of water from the shop within the Lindos Blu for €1 each. I would buy your water from this shop, rather than any of the bars as it is much cheaper.

All in, this hotel is brilliant and definitely worth a visit.

+ Wonderful rooms
+ Brilliant food
+ Attentive and friendly staff
+ Quiet and relaxing

- Shared beach can be less relaxing at times

Room Tip: Book via the Small Luxury Hotels of the World club to get a room upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank jackspratUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lindos
0.1 km away
Lindos Mare Hotel
Lindos Mare Hotel
#4 of 30 in Lindos
1,518 reviews
2.7 km away
AquaGrand Exclusive Deluxe Resort
25.8 km away
Atrium Prestige Thalasso Spa Resort and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.9 km away
Amathus Elite Suites
Amathus Elite Suites
#4 of 126 in Rhodes Town
647 reviews
38 km away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,935 reviews
1.3 km away
Lindos Village Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindos Blu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindos Blu

Address: 46, 5 Km Rhodes - Lindos Avenue, Lindos 851 07, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Lindos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Lindos
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lindos
#1 Spa Hotel in Lindos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lindos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lindos
Price Range: $332 - $1,214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lindos Blu 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lindos Blu Luxury Hotel & Suites, the premiere adult-only luxury hotel in Rhodes, rests on the magnificent hillside of Vlycha Bay. The breathtaking views and the traditionally inspired architecture of the hotel, form the ideal scenery for a relaxing break. The customized services provided by our superbly trained personnel, guarantee the indulgence of our visitors senses. Rejuvenate your body and mind at the Elixir Spa & Wellness Center, sip a cup of coffee or quench your thirst at the Allegro Pool Bar, enjoy a signature cocktail at Luna Rossa Bar and let your senses guide you through the journey of the Five Senses Gourmet Restaurant and the creations of our executive chef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lindos Blu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindos Blu Hotel Lindos
Blu Hotel Lindos
Lindos Blu Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing