We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful apartment in a tranquil location with...”
other traveller has booked this property
Wake up to this view!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wake up to this view!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
Wake up to this view!
Tholos Beach at your feet
Take a walk along our coastline...
amazing sunsets
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kavousi, Lasithi Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
nutmeg211...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful apartment in a tranquil location with great hospitality”
Reviewed 1 November 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We stayed in the Helios Suite at Tholos Bay for 2 weeks with our 2 year old daughter. We were very impressed by the standard of the accommodation. The apartment was furnished and equipped to a high standard, with a fully stocked kitchen and modern appliances. We were impressed by the generous size of all the rooms, and particularly loved the huge balcony with stunning views of the bay. There were lots of little touches that made the apartment a very comfortable place to stay, for example plenty of storage space, a washing machine, an electrically-operated awning to provide shade on the balcony, black-out blinds on all bedrooms - it felt more like a holiday home you could imagine living in for a season than a hotel-style apartment.

The Tholos Bay complex as a whole was delightful, with beautiful grounds and a lovely pool area. With only 3 apartments, we had the swimming pool to ourselves much of the time. Elaine and Manthos, the owners, were generous and kind hosts, who were always available to answer questions or help when needed, but also gave their guests plenty of space. We appreciated the arrival gift of home-grown figs and grapes from the orchard on the grounds.

The beach is just down the hill from the property, and it is possible to walk through the vineyard right down to it (though with a toddler and beach equipment, we usually drove, as the sandy area is at the far end, and parking is easy). It is a very good beach for small children, with fine sand suitable for sandcastles, and a gentle entry into the sea, which is usually very calm. It is not nearly as crowded as other beaches we visited, and there are olive trees that provide some shade (there is also a little cafe just set back from it).

The area is rural, and staying here suits people who want a quiet holiday and to get away from the crowds. There are some amenities in Kavousi village, including a small supermarket and a bakery, though for those seeking serious shops, bars etc you would need to drive to Ierapetra (about 25 minutes). However, there are some excellent tavernas in some of the small villages nearby, and Manthos was happy to offer tips. The views of the mountains and sea are stunning, and completely unspoiled by any mass-development.

We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday here, and would certainly stay again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We are very happy that you enjoyed your time here and would be glad to welcome you back on a future trip to Crete.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelHes...
Heswall, Wirral
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful, peaceful location in spacious appartment.”
Reviewed 8 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We spent a week in the Helios Appartment at Tholos Bay Appartments in August. The bay was beautiful and very quiet. The appartment was larger than I had expected with a large balcony area which lead to steps down to the swimming pool. The pool was shared with the other two Appartments but there was plenty of room and we had it to ourselves much of the time. The gardens around the appartment were beautiful and well maintained. Our hosts who were always at hand when we needed them keeped us well stocked with fresh fruit. Elaine and Mathiue (sorry guessing at spelling) were very welcoming and kind. They live on site and couldn't have been better. Thank you for a lovely week.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2016
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your time here. We hope you enjoy the remainder of your stay in Crete.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia P
1 review
“Superb location, warm hospitality and child-friendly vacation"”
Reviewed 21 December 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed at Tholos Bay Suites (Helios Suite), for 10 days in August with my family which included a 5-year old. The location is absolutely amazing.... walking distance to the sea and an unobstructed view to the bay which, especially at sunset, can only be described as breath-taking. I cannot say enough about the hospitality of the owners, Manthos and Elaine, which went out of their way to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. The fact that they live on-site means that we literally had all our requests handled immediately and got the best tips from them on local attractions and places to eat/shop. Furthermore, the beach itself is perfect for small children... shallow, sandy and usually very calm. The suite itself was very large and had nice "luxury" touches like a fully-equipped kitchen and dryer machine usually found on more expensive properties.

In a nutshell, if you are looking for a great value for money, peaceful, child-friendly beach vacation then look no further!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Dec 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review of Tholos Bay Suites. We are pleased to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We will be happy to have you come again.
Regards,
Manthos and Elaine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khotan
Lyon, France
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Travelling group: En famille élargie
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny L
Treviso, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2015
Thank you so much for your kind words. So glad we could accommodate you and your family. It was truly a pleasure meeting you and having you stay with us. Hope to meet again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing