We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“La Fermette! Fantastic!”
other travellers have booked this property
Heated swimming pool, surrounded with wooden decking,  with gazebo and fig tree shaded sitting area.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Heated swimming pool, surrounded with wooden decking,  with gazebo and fig tree shaded sitting area.
Dining room with a long farmhouse table and leather chairs in front of a log burning stove Dining room with log burning stove.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Heated swimming pool, surrounded with wooden decking,  with gazebo and fig tree shaded sitting area.
Dining room with a long farmhouse table and leather chairs in front of a log burning stove
Dining room with log burning stove.
Living room with large L shape leather sofa and a double leather sofa.
Kitchen.
Second door from kitchen leading outside to the terrace.
Kitchen.
Bedroom 2 with a kingsize double bed, with a door leading outside via stone stairs.
Bedroom 2.
Cabin Bed on the landing.
Bedroom 1 is a family room with a double and 2 single beds, chests of drawers and wardrobe.
Family bedroom showing the corridor to the cabin bedroom with bathroom access in between them.
Large slate round table under a covered, all weather area. just outside the dining room's door.
Upper terrace leading to the Summerhouse.
Heated pool bordered with wisteria, clematis, plum tree, rambling rose, rosemary and valerian.
Wendy House in orchard/garden with an apple tree in front, cherry behind and peach in foreground.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Mervent, Vendee, Pays de la Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Christine...
Carnforth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“La Fermette! Fantastic!”
Reviewed 25 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My husband and I stayed at La Fermette for two weeks in June 2015. What can I say? I was so impressed with this lovely gite. It was situated in a very quiet location with only bird song surrounding you. The gite is a converted farmhouse which is fully equipped with everything you need. If you like cooking the kitchen is equipped with good pans, casserole dishes, fresh herbs and excellent sharpened knives. The bedroom we used had a comfy bed with lots of pillows which enduced a good nights sleep. The hairdryer provided is a good powerful hairdryer so you can safely leave yours at home. Clean linen each week. Good towels provided. Two service washes a week all returned freshly washed and ironed. Bliss! Outdoors you have plenty of room with two terraces, a large garden with Wendy House, deckchairs and croquet set. The swimming pool is cleaned and covered every night and is not overlooked Steve and Geraldine the owners are so willing and helpful. We will be returning soon I hope,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peacefulness.
Liked least: Coming home
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle...
Doune, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stunning, amazing, comfortable, friendly”
Reviewed 1 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I was invited to travel here with my brother, sister in law and three year old nephew, the Gite catered to all our needs, was quaint and comfortable with split terraces for rest and play. The owners Geraldine and Steve were so friendly and welcoming. We had fantastic weather and saw a lot of the gorgeous surrounding area.
Would love to go back.
Michelle

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kcml
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Everything we expected and more!”
Reviewed 13 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We visited La Fermette during the first week in September 2014, we were completely blown away by the house and of course the fantastic pool. The house is beautifully furnished, clean and very comfortable, the terrace is huge, and has the most beautiful slate table, the pool is just fab with plenty of sun loungers and the garden includes peach, apple, walnut, fig and pear trees...all of which we sampled during our stay!

S&G are a fantastic couple who made us feel incredibly welcome, we arrived later at night after a long drive and so were delighted to find that the basics such as Orange juice, milk and bread etc had been provided to see us through the first night. In addition to this fresh herbs from the garden had been picked, the pantry cupboard was stocked with tea, coffee and other staples also wine and beer had been chilled for our arrival.

We would most certainly recommend La Fermette to anyone, not only is it great for families but it is also ideal for a romantic couples getaway, we enjoyed it so much we have already booked to return next year.

Thanks again for making our holiday so special.

K & D x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herbert25
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“paradise re-visited”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Last May we stayed in La Fermette for a week and feel in love with the house, the area, the owners and their dogs!! So we booked to go back again this July and stayed for two weeks. We can't recommend this gite enough to you. Our two girls spent most of their time in the fantastic pool. Every morning my husband would run along the river, whilst I was able to read and relax on the idyllic terrace which has grapes growing on the trellis and the only noise the sound of birdsong. The little surrounding villages with their markets and cafes are just lovely to wander around if you can manage to tear yourself away from the beautiful house.

Steven and Geraldine are the most wonderful unobtrusive hosts who go out of their way to ensure you have the holiday of a life time. Needless to say we have already booked for next year and cannot wait. I now cannot imagine spending our holidays anywhere else. So very sorry Steven and Geraldine but I think you may have a hard time keeping us away!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the friendly welcome
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wai hung...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magnifique, excellente, fantastique!”
Reviewed 28 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second visit to Steve and Geraldine's La Fermette. We were hoping for a third time however the farmhouse is fully booked next summer. Not ones for being deterred, we will endeavour to book again for 2016.

Having stayed here the previous year, our enjoyment wasn't diminished in the slightest. It was still a unique and very stylish French home with quirky corners and customised furniture and fittings. I use the word "home" because Steve and Geraldine are such courteous and warm people that you cannot help but feel their friendship and kindness etched in every stone and painted piece of wood - which makes it even more difficult to leave.

All our needs were met again this year (previously visited for a fortnight in Aug 2013). Laundry is washed, dried and ironed 2x a week (what a luxury when you have 4 boys!), the pool is wonderful and cleaned regularly with fresh pool towels and linen provided weekly. Herbs, wine and cold drinks are provided on arrival and if you have any queries, nothing is too much trouble for Steve and Geraldine.

Our 4 boys were never bored and very reluctant to leave La Fermette and its pool which is a fantastic base to visit Puy du Fou, Marais Poitevin, Mervent, La Rochelle, Sables d'Olonne, Ile de Re and the surrounding villages and Mercier vineyard.

For those who are visiting with grandparents/larger families, there is a very stylish annexe that sleeps an extra 2 persons with kitchen/dining and patio area. We didn't use it ourselves but can imagine it would be perfect for a group of 8.

Please don't visit in August as we want to come then but rest assured, if you stay here, you will have a wonderful holiday. Fontenay-Le Comte is on your doorstep... don't get me started on the pizzas we had there and as for the boulangeries...nom nom nom!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing