We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful gite, fantastic pool & lovely owners”
other travellers have booked this property
Heated swimming pool, surrounded with wooden decking,  with gazebo and fig tree shaded sitting area.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Heated swimming pool, surrounded with wooden decking,  with gazebo and fig tree shaded sitting area.
Dining room with a long farmhouse table and leather chairs in front of a log burning stove Dining room with log burning stove.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Heated swimming pool, surrounded with wooden decking,  with gazebo and fig tree shaded sitting area.
Dining room with a long farmhouse table and leather chairs in front of a log burning stove
Dining room with log burning stove.
Living room with large L shape leather sofa and a double leather sofa.
Kitchen.
Second door from kitchen leading outside to the terrace.
Kitchen.
Bedroom 2 with a kingsize double bed, with a door leading outside via stone stairs.
Bedroom 2.
Cabin Bed on the landing.
Bedroom 1 is a family room with a double and 2 single beds, chests of drawers and wardrobe.
Family bedroom showing the corridor to the cabin bedroom with bathroom access in between them.
Large slate round table under a covered, all weather area. just outside the dining room's door.
Upper terrace leading to the Summerhouse.
Heated pool bordered with wisteria, clematis, plum tree, rambling rose, rosemary and valerian.
Wendy House in orchard/garden with an apple tree in front, cherry behind and peach in foreground.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Mervent, Vendee, Pays de la Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bee C
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful gite, fantastic pool & lovely owners”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We've just come back from a glorious week at La Fermette where we were met with such a warm welcome from Geraldine and Steven.

The gite is really pretty and full of arty furnishings thanks to the couple's creative streak and as a result La Fermette has a happy and relaxed atmosphere inside. The gorgeous farmhouse kitchen is very well stocked and when you arrive there are lovely touches like wine and beer in the fridge, fresh herbs picked from their garden and various ingredients in the cupboard. There are lots of DVDs to choose from as well as books and games to enjoy.

The garden has three elements - a beautiful terrace full of flowers with an outdoor table and barbecue; the most fantastic swimming pool to yourselves, plus a garden full of fruit trees, games and a children's playhouse. It's such a lovely set-up here and you won't be disappointed.

We bought our very young spaniel and she loved La Fermette. The gite and its outdoor areas are very spacious yet very well contained so we had no fear of her escaping. We took her for walks through the ploughed fields and down to the river nearby, and we also went on day trips to local markets and boating in nearby Coulon.

Steven and Geraldine are a super couple and so so helpful and generous with their time. They took us to the vet in Fontenay le Comte when we needed to get a stamp on our dog's passport before going home and they kindly did two service washes for us while we stayed at La Fermette. Our clothes were back within 24 hours and we were so grateful not to have to do our own washing!

We had a relaxing and blissful week at La Fermette and think we may also have found the best boulangerie in France in nearby St Hilaire des Loges! If you're looking for a retreat to really get away from it all then this is really a wonderful little haven to enjoy.

Thank you so much Geraldine and Steven!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Style of the gite and wonderful pool
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lipsylou7...
Ampthill, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We found this house by off-chance on the internet and uncovered a treasure-trove of idyllic rustic charm.
On arrival, we were greeted by Steven and Geraldine and given an in depth tour of their lovely home.
We found the special touches - the bunch of fresh herbs from the garden, french bread, wine, homemade jam and numerous items amazing.
We have already booked to return next summer and would rather keep this a hidden secret but felt it unfair not to write a good review.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool and gardens
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona F
Stone
1 review
“a beautiful french retreat”
Reviewed 25 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

la fermette...what an amazing find...perfect location for a peaceful,get away from it all holiday but close enough to all amenities and activities.Beautifully furnished cottage with all that you could ask for and more. The added bonus was the swimming pool and outside areas. Well maintained and perfectly safe for our five year old son. The owners, Steven and Geraldine were always on hand to answer our questions. Nothing was too much trouble and they made our stay all the more special. All in all a truly special place. We shall definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveller...
Northern England
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely gite with a fabulous pool”
Reviewed 22 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Just back from a 2 week stay at La Fermette, which is a lovely property with a fantastic terrace, pool and garden. The property is located just outside the small village of Xanton Chassenon, about 10 miles east of Fontenay le Comte, which is the nearest large town and a good place to base yourself for exploring the area. The village itself doesn't have anything much to offer - no shops and just a small bar, making a car essential for trips to the artisan bakery in the next village for your daily baguette, of course, you need to be on your toes regarding French opening hours!

The property has been tastefully renovated by the current owners Steven and Geraldine. We found it lovely and clean with lots of nice extra touches - fresh flowers, wine and other drinks in the fridge, bread and cleaning essentials. There is free wifi, Sky tv and towels and linen were provided and changed at the end of the first week. There is no washing machine, but 2 service washes per week are included, and not just washed and sent back but dried, pressed and beautifully folded too!

The heated pool and surrounding area is spotlessly clean and maintained daily, it's also very private and catches the sun all day. There is an array of poolside furniture - loungers and chairs with cushions and a table and parasol clustered around a fragrant border of lavender and rosemary. The kids absolutely loved the pool, they were in there every day and we found it difficult to drag ourselves away let alone them.

The location of the gite is ideal for exploring the surrounding area, which has much to offer. We particularly enjoyed punting on the Marais Poitevin at Coulon. We also hired bikes and rode around the many cycle paths in the Mervent forest. La Rochelle is a bustling seaside town, which we didn't particularly enjoy during the day (too busy and nowhere to park the car), but we returned one evening a few days later to find lots of lovely restaurants, street entertainers and a portside market in full swing.

A lovely gite in a great location, you won't go wrong.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and outdoor space
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JSUKLondo...
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A wonderful, relaxing holiday at this beautiful gite”
Reviewed 6 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

A fabulous week in this lovely gite which had everything we needed for a relaxing family holiday.
The swimming pool was great and the owners were brilliant at answering all our questions and ensuring we enjoyed our stay.
The setting is fantastic and there is plenty to do in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly, helpful owners Steven and Geraldine, who did everything to make our stay as pleasant and relaxing as possible
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing