We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful French Getaway”
Your view!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your view!
Annecy, just a short drive away Natural light into the lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Your view!
Annecy, just a short drive away
Natural light into the lounge
Fully equipped modern kitchen
spectacular terrace  balcony view
Living room looks out directly to the stunning mountains
example of twin bedroom - there are 3 plus a double
Example of one of the two bath/shower rooms
Le Chatox
The colours of autumn
Annecy - the prettiest town in France
Les Massif des Bauges
The Terrace Balcony
Annecy in winter
warm fresh water for summer dips..thats Booby Mountain in the middle back in Les Bauges
Booby Mountain !
Le Chatox in winter
Annecy
Owner on top of Mt Colombier
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Le Chatelard, Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Luke H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful French Getaway”
Reviewed 30 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
3
people found this review helpful

We recently stayed at Le Chatox for a week with 3 other couples. As we arrived at the Chatox and begun to explore the chalet we were treated to an amazing view from the balcony which we would wake up to every day! The living spaces were bright and spacious, bedrooms well sized and the whole place clean throughout. The table tennis and darts were especially a hit on days when we chose to relax and stay in for the day. The local area is beautiful and picturesque as is the region as a whole and the Chatox was a perfect base to explore whether it be a local walk or driving to any of the nearby villages/towns as well as venturing in to Annecy. Paul and Wendy were amazingly helpful throughout and their suggestion of restaurant for the last evening at Hotel Clarines certainly went down very well! We all went home thoroughly relaxed and full of wine and cheese! Thanks Paul and Wendy!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jan 2018
Great to have your lovely people to stay. Thanks for the kind review. Consider yourselves Chatoxed !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lizwoosle...
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"Home from home"”
Reviewed 27 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
3
people found this review helpful

Le Chatox Chalet has everything you need......and more!!! Even down to crockery and cutlery ie not just one set of everything!!! The booklet that Wendy and Paul have put together for their guests is so useful with recommendations on where to visit, walks to try and ideas for activities nearby. Even on the days where the sun doesn't shine there are a great selection of books, DVD's games etc (better stocked than at my home!) The main living area is open plan which is very sociable and what with plenty to do indoors and out this holiday has a so much to offer. Not forgetting the amazing views from balcony's, outside eating terrace and pretty much all around. A handy utility room allowed us to keep on top of washing so there was less to do when we got home. WiFi has recently been added which allowed us all to keep in touch with friends and family. Well deserved of my 5 star rating. Thanks Wendy and Paul :-)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2017
Thanks Liz for your kind review. So glad you all had a wonderful stay. Skiing in winter is just as much fun with the Chatox to come home to !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin A
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A gem in Les Bauges”
Reviewed 21 December 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The property is excellent 4 good size bedrooms, well kitted out kitchen for those meals when you eats in and even games for those wet afternoons (table tennis in the cave). Plenty to do with walks up and around the local peaks. Cycles available if you are up to it. I can recommend hiring an electric bike to assist with the uphills if you are not quite Froome standard, they really make a difference and you get to see the magnificent scenery. We spent 2 days down at Lake Annecy, hired a boat and in Sept is beautifully warm and clear to swim in. The Visitors Book is full of ideas and trips that others have made and you can spend time following up on adventure trails or just discovering local restaurants they have listed. The best bit is sitting out on the balcony in the evening with chees, bread and wine and watch 'Booby Mountain' as the sun sets...very relaxing.
Thank you Paul and Wendy you have a beautiful home from home, very welcoming and easy to relax into.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Dec 2016
Thanks for your review Colin A. Much appreciated. Glad you both enjoyed it. There's still so much more to discover so you'll just have to come again !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickif402...
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic location and Chalet”
Reviewed 13 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had an amazing 12 nights at Le Chatox. The accommodation cannot be faulted it was well equipped, comfortable and clean. The location was perfect with easy access to Lake Annecy and Lac du Bourget. Some superb mountain cycle routes which amazing views of Mont Blanc. The Chalet is also perfect for relaxing days with a great balcony and patio area and local walks/cycle rides. With 2 teenage children the table tennis table was a bonus and they even got the chess board out!!! We hired a motor boat and pedalos at Lake Annecy and Chatillon at Lac du Bourget, cycled around Lake Annecy, had some great meals in Annecy in the evenings as well as 4 hours of zip wiring, climbing ladders and walking across platforms across the valley at Allions-Margeriaz 1000!
We would love to visit Le Chatox in the winter and try out some of the local skiing!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2016
Thanks Vicki ! So pleased you all had a great family holiday at Le Chatox. The skiing is pretty good and perfect for beginners and intermediates. Its also only 100euro for a weeks lift pass for two resorts or pay as you go and try out all 5 in Les Bauges ! You can also go snow shoeing up the local mountains with a picnic which we love doing. Ski de fond (cross country) is also popular. Our friends run the local hire shop from Les Aillons. You'll be amazed how much cheaper Les Bauges is to the big resorts. We've done them both, and you can guess which we prefer, but just check the reviews from our ski guests below! As you've already been 'Chatoxed' just contact us direct if you have dates in mind. February half term is always first to go and 2017 was booked way back so get in early if you'd like 2018. We'd love to welcome you all back !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
horniumst...
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb accommodation in fantastic, unique location.”
Reviewed 1 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Our family are very much francophiles and widely travelled across France over the last 30 years.This location and accommodation are gems to be explored. The chalet is second to none, a superbly equipped, home from home, with all mod cons and a perfect mountain outlook. The owners have taken considerable care to facilitate visitors to advantage. We enjoyed high mountain viewing and walking via ski lifts(Mont Pelat/ Mont Revard), lakeside walks, high quality cycling, swimming, canoeing, returning for self catered evening meals using the excellent kitchen and dining areas. Lakes Annecy and Bourget and local environs within 30/40 minutes cater for all needs and ages. Unreserved highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Careful provision of maps, local tips and supermarket access.
Liked least: Patio area and rear wooden steps need safety rails for all ages.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2016
Many thanks for you review Stephen. We agree that the area is a hidden gem resting just above Annecy - an Island in the sky! Les Bauges is wonderful all year round. Consider yourselves Chatoxed and you are very welcome to return! best wishes Paul and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 107
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing