We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveller rating
33
10
5
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
33
10
5
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews following morning block island the past years every summer french toast private bath each morning diane ed porch muffins
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 50 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2015 via mobile

The Sheffield house is a short walk from the ferry. Located on the quieter side of the main part of town but close to restaurants and attractions. Near to the empire theater and Abrams animal farm we didn't need our bikes much for getting around. The room was tastefully decorated and very comfortable. The bathroom had modern fixtures and was roomy. Diane, the friendly and helpful innkeeper, laid out a delicious breakfast every morning, we were able to eat healthy with a little treat of a scone with cream or lemon blueberry cake.
Coffee on the delightful wraparound porch was just what the doctor ordered.

Stayed: May 2015
1  Thank evadninorc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2015 via mobile

Lovely time at Sheffield House.Diane and Ed were delightful and Very accommodating. The room with ensuite bath was very comfortable. Great location to walk to all hotspots and ferry. Lovely front porch for morning coffee. Breakfast was always very nice
Thank you Ed and Diane !

Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
Thank 78marisad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2014

My husband I stayed at the Sheffield House by happy accident because another favorite B&B that we love was all filled up. The Sheffield House is a lovely, convenient place to stay on Block Island. There are only 6 rooms, all very small, but hey your on the island to go around and do things. You'll probably only be at the house to sleep and have breakfast. And for that, this place is great. The house is not fancy but it is super clean and the breakfasts are wonderful. It is the perfect home base for your Block Island trip. It is located in a nice area, very easy walking distance to the ferry and downtown shops and restaurants.I would definitely come back to this B&B.

Room Tip: All rooms are tastefully decorated. Not all rooms have a private bathroom
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank islandspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Sheffield House for a weekend trip to Block Island and were very happy with our stay. The house is conveniently located just a few minutes from the town center but in a quieter location. Diane was very nice and welcoming, and made fantastic scones for breakfast that accompanied other options. We very much appreciated being able to leave our bags on the porch while we explored after checking out, and Diane offered us use of the outdoor shower as well. The pricing was very reasonable compared to other places, especially considering that many places require a 3-night stay.

The house is old, so guests should understand the implications of staying in an old B&B: the rooms are relatively small, as are the bathrooms, sometimes you are able to hear other people staying in nearby rooms, and there is no large common room. But with the Sheffield House you get a small, cozy atmosphere with welcoming hosts willing to help you navigate the island, in a great location, and at a relatively affordable price. We had a wonderful weekend and would absolutely go back.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Krissy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

B&B is walking distance to town. Home is nice & quiet with an outside porch furnished with comfortable chairs. Bedrooms are nice sized and comfortable. The best feature of this B&B though is the owners. Ed & Diane and wonderful, friendly people. We came as guests and left as friends.

Room Tip: We prefer the 2nd floor.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 685TomL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews