We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff. Great food. Value for money.”

The Chinese Buffet - St Helens
Ranked #38 of 293 Restaurants in St Helens
Price range: USD 4 - USD 19
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Description: The Chinese Buffet is a dynamic and exciting, modern Chinese restaurant. Launched initially as a single restaurant in Bolton the concept has grown in size and stature into an emerging brand with nationwide aspirations. Peter Wu, Paolo Hu and David Hu created The Chinese Buffet with the clear aim of providing a new style of buffet restaurant, high quality food at low cost to customers. They created an eclectic blend of Chinese food using only the finest and freshest ingredients, prepared and presented to the highest of standards. THE Chinese Buffet believes all their customers should receive the care, attention and quality they would expect from the finest of a la carte restaurant.
Reviewed 16 March 2018

In summary, the food was excellent. A few dishes have changed around over the last year but still one of the largest selections I have seen in any buffet style restaurant. I tried the Salmon from the teppanyaki bar which was cooked to perfection. My kids love the noodles and the Mickey Mouse Mocktail.

We visited early evening and it was very busy. The staff were very friendly and seemed to cope very well with serving customers and clearing plates from the tables. They would always ask if we needed anything or if everything was ok. The price is still good for the selection of food on offer.

Will be looking forward to visiting in the near future.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet - St Helens, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Thank you very much for your lovely comments and we're so glad you enjoy dining with us and love our Teppanyaki bar. We're glad you are impressed with the selection and we hope to welcome you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (748)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 748 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2018 via mobile

So we went as a group of 8 4 adults and 4 children. Food was pleasant, kids choices very dry. They were more interested in the desserts which looked great until they happily tucked into sugar coated pancakes which was salt instead of sugar. Staff not interested. Didn’t seem to see this as an issue (apart from the lovely lady who made the pancakes). Then when we complained were offered 2 free small Pepsi’s and asked to sign a waiver that we would not discuss the matter further and not I assume give a negative review on social media. Alright food. Admittedly was a mistake but the disgusting attitude from the staff was shocking

1  Thank njs1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018 via mobile

This was our first visit to the Chinese Buffet. We were a party of 10 celebrating our friends sons 11th birthday. Each one of us found the food delicious and there is a wide of variety of dishes. I am a vegetarian and Dee took the time to point out which dishes were suitable for vegetarians and made recommendations based on what I like. I would highly recommend Dee special soup

Thank deligreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet - St Helens, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

We're so glad you really enjoyed your first visit with us and that all your party enjoyed dining with us also! We're really glad Dee was able to show you our vegetable options! Thank you for your lovely comments and we hope to welcome you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018 via mobile

We have enjoyed the food and service at this restaurant several times always in the evening.
We thought would give a try for lunch.
Sadly will not make same mistake again.
Food was out for a long time nothing seemed fresh other than the deep fried elements... chips chicken toasts etc..
The choice was poor very basic limited afternoon menu... save your money go to liverpool and try the many chinese buffets their.

Thank CMmS78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet - St Helens, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Thank you for your feedback and I'm sorry to hear you didn't feel you enjoyed your recent visit. I would like to assure you that we take pride in our dishes and strive to replenish dishes as quickly as possible. We adhere to strict guidelines set by the FSA for buffet dining around food temperature and replenishment however I will pass your comments back to the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

After a walk round the shops for a couple of hours we decided to stop for lunch at the Chinese buffet. It wasn't our first visit and we were still happy with the service and food. We always look forward to the desserts, a nice selection. Only negative is the lift up to the restaurant, it could do with refurbishing.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet - St Helens, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Thank you for your feedback and we're so glad you and your mum enjoyed dining with us recently for lunch and were happy with the service and the dishes you tried. We will pass your comments back to the team and we hope to welcome you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Chinese Buffet - St Helens also viewed

Liverpool, Merseyside
St Helens, Merseyside
 
St Helens, Merseyside
Wigan, Greater Manchester
 
St Helens, Merseyside
St Helens, Merseyside
 

Been to The Chinese Buffet - St Helens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;