We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thne Best Hungry Horse we have been to”
Review of Game Bird

Game Bird
Ranked #127 of 247 Restaurants in St Helens
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 27 September 2017

I don't normally bother doing these surveys but I really enjoyed everything about this venue and the team running it /working there

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank C9620NEjohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron B, General Manager at Game Bird, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi

Thanks for the review. I will pass on to the team and we hope to see you again at the Game Bird in the future.

Thanks again
Aaron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

Went to the hungry horse in Thornton two days earlier and really enjoyed he falafel burger. Came to the game bird and as I had enjoyed the burger so much I ordered the same thing. Terrible mistake. Dry, couldn't bite through half of it, took along time to order. My partner had the jumbo cod and fish and left half of it as it was so overcooked. No staff stopped to ask how our meals were but to be fair if I worked there I wouldn't have as they must have known the food was inedible. First and last time at this place. All do yourself a favour and stay at home

Thank helebell86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

Four adults, two 4 yr olds, It was burger day, buy one get one free--so we did, All of us ordered burgers. Busy lunchtime and staff under pressure but we were served as quickly as they could also telling us the food would be about twenty mins. 45 mins later and 6 satisfied customers. We were expecting pub grub but have to say our burgers were very good, do call and try them

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bernieapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 September 2017

Hi Bernieapp

We are glad you enjoyed your visit to the Game Bird. Thankyou for leaving us feedback on Tripadvisor. We hope to see you and your family in the Game Bird in the near future.

Thanks,
Aaron Burrows
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

Had such a great time with the family, we came across this place whilst out and about so glad we stopped. Great food, great service. Will be back again. Well done

Thank Jonathon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 September 2017

Hi Jonathon E

Thanks for the great feedback, we are glad you had a great visit at the Game Bird and hope to see you again.

Thanks again,

Aaron Burrows
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

You literally get what you pay for here, ok food, decent service, decent atmosphere, fair prices, would go again for a cheap meal

Thank GabriellaKean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Game Bird also viewed

St Helens, Merseyside
 
Wigan, Greater Manchester
 
St Helens, Merseyside
Wigan, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Game Bird? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing