We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearly there but not quite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dunblane
Forres, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nearly there but not quite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Pros: Lovely building, great views, modern, contemporary furnishings throughout, great restaurant had a lovely evening meal, staff were polite and helpful and always pleased to be greeted with a warm choc cookie! Room was adequate size, with comfy bed, safe in room and furniture is standing the test of time (often in these places it is a bit dog earred, not so here) Added bonus of a swimming pool for use. Quiet and peaceful bedrooms and wasn't disturbed.Lovely restaurant but make sure you book early in the day to get the time you want.
Cons: Access wouldn't be easy for disabled persons as the reception is on first floor, although there are lifts. Wifi isn't free which is annoying especially when it is £15 a day....get real I can get this at home for a month for £15. Three of the ten lights were blown in the bedroom, despite reporting this, it wasn't fixed during our stay. Drinks very expensive. Breakfast was frantic, go early to avoid the rushing around of persons trying to work out the buffet. The restaurant was also very busy at night and kids were screaming (it was half term) about near our table near the door, but we were promptly moved when we requested a more peaceful table, although we both had to carry all our drinks and water etc, the waitress if she had been worth her salt would have helped us with a tray, but I am being really fussy now!

Other: When checked in (which was fast and efficient) when struggled all the way to the room which seemed a long way away in the annexe part of the building, there were six housekeeping carts along our narrow corridor at 4pm and had to struggle past them to get to the room with the luggage, not a good start. Had to take our own hotel towels to the swimming pool so they smelt of chlorine thereafter and there is one solitary peg in the whole bedroom for the towels how to dry them who knows, especially when they want you to be eco-friendly and retain towels for more than one day.
Overall I wouldn't hesitate to come back here as I got a great deal and had a good time, just needs a few more tweaks and it would be first class. Best stay I have had in a hotel for a while.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fancycakefanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Thank you for posting this feedback about your recent stay and I am pleased you had a pleasant stay despite the shortcomings you experienced during your visit and in particular the points highlighted in this feedback. We will take the time to review your comments with the hotel team to hopefully make these tweaks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,119
    1,256
    814
    393
    187
See reviews for
731
2,023
62
321
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (811)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

a bit of organised chaos we thought after a few hiccups when checking in. all was resolved and everything turned out ok. it is a massive stunning building, but i think most of the space is taken up by too many hotel rooms! it is a very very busy hotel, so i think more bars and a few restaurants would be required. the queue right along the corridor to go for breakfast i dont think is acceptable. some people must have been waiting well over half an hour to get in. we couldnt get a seat in the bar, or any of the lounges for a while, so had to stand about drinking until seats became available - i dont like to do that when im only there for a relaxing overnight stay! so i have been to Dunblane Hydro, but i dont think i will rush to go back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Really sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay; we are a busy hotel, as you can imagine with 200 bedrooms. However we do try to alleviate this by employing a traffic light system to show people when we are going to be busy, as well as our staff on hand to help our customers. We will look at rearranging the seating provisions in the public areas for busy moments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irvine scotland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Spent last night in a Junior Suite. It was great. Had dinner in hotel and it was faultless. Staff were 1st class. Defo be back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moorieIrvineScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to see that you really enjoyed your stay with us and that we can look forward to your return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

Great weekend with friends, excellent service from all the staff, specially nicolette.. The food was great and I slept like a baby... Roll on the next time ..n

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pilogy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Thanks for taking the time to post this review. We were so pleased to read that you appreciated the efficient, pleasant and professional staff. Your praise will be passed on! We are delighted that you intend to return and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

Stayed on a pamper package with my girlfriend that was part of her christmas. The hotel itself was brilliant from the staff to the nick nairn restaraunt. Upgraded the room to a deluxe witch has lovely views over dunblane and came with a jaccuzi bath. My girlfriend really enjoyed the treatments she recieved at the spa and said she would definetley recommend it. All in all was a great break and look forward to our next break.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paul19821926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Thank you for posting this feedback and we are so pleased that both the hotel and restaurant, as well as the personal service from our team members, make you want to return. We look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunblane
4.6 km away
Cromlix
Cromlix
#1 of 1 in Kinbuck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
0.6 km away
Old Churches House Hotel
32.6 km away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 km away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
22.1 km away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
18.4 km away
Airth Castle & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro

Property: Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Address: Perth Road, Dunblane FK15 0HG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Dunblane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dunblane
Price range (per night): $147 - $351
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro Hotel Dunblane
Hilton International Dunblane
Dunblane Hydro
Hydro Dunblane
Dunblane Hilton International
Doubletree By Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing