We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect penthouse in a great location!”

Review of Cloisters Walk

Open plan Kitchen / Sitting / Dining area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Open plan Kitchen / Sitting / Dining area
Open plan Sitting / Dining area Open plan Kitchen / Sitting / Dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
Open plan Kitchen / Sitting / Dining area
Open plan Sitting / Dining area
Open plan Kitchen / Sitting / Dining area
Open plan Sitting / Dining area
Open plan Kitchen / Sitting / Dining area
Shower room
Staircase to Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Master bedroom with large verandah
Master bedroom
Terrace with outdoor dining.  (Photo taken at sunset)
Terrace with sun loungers. (Photo taken at sunset)
Entrance to Cloister's Walk
Terrace with sun loungers and outdoor dining. (Photo taken at sunset)
Terrace with sun loungers and outdoor dining. (Photo taken at sunset)
Garden views from Penthouse
Penthouse Terrace
Entrance to Cloister's Walk
Knights of St. John Watch Tower in St. Julian's Bay
Fishing boats in Spinola Bay - 2 minutes away
Spinola Bay - 2 minutes away
St. Julian's Bay - 2 minutes away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
emjh77
UK
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Perfect penthouse in a great location!”
Reviewed 25 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We have travelled to Malta many times and usually stay around the St Julian's area as we love Spinola Bay at night and this penthouse couldn't be in a more perfect position and is by far the best place we have stayed in in Malta.
Set slightly back from the main streets and up a small hill, Cloisters Walk is a typical Maltese stone building containing many apartments and a few minutes walk into the hub of Spinola bay where there is a myriad of lovely restaurants and bars and if you fancy an even more lively atmosphere then Paceville is only a few more minutes walk.
The Penthouse is set over two floors, the open plan lounge and kitchen has everything you would need and if you wanted to stay in one night then you would easily be able to cook a decent meal.
Upstairs the bedroom is by far the star of the apartment, for me personally I always have issues sleeping in apartments when bedrooms are adjoined by neighbours but this room stands alone with no joining apartment so it provided me with an amazing quiet nights sleep every night!!! The large terrace and huge windows / sliding glass doors coming off the bedroom is a suntrap in the day (we enjoyed a sunbathe and cup of tea every morning) and a quiet place to sit in the evening with a glass of wine.
Graham and his daughter Faye who showed us to and around the apartment were both really friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again and were sad to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bedroom terrace
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Nov 2014
Thank you so much for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tracyd32
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Penthouse in the perfect locatitoon in Malta”
Reviewed 21 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

From booking the penthouse, and on arrival and departure was a seamless process from start to finish.

Graham arranged our transfers to and from the airport, Victor our driver was there to greet us at the airport and arrived promptly for our departure.

The Penthouse is just stunning with the most gorgeous terrace off the bedroom upstairs.
The Apartment is very clean and very modern and set in the perfect location in Malta. We felt very safe in the area and Cloisters Walk is so beautiful, quiet and peaceful.

Cloisters walk is just up the hill from Spinola Bay, Balluta Bay and St Julian's bay and a short walk to Paceville.
The air con unit stopped working in the bedroom on our second night (these things happen), we contacted Graham the next morning by email and Kimberley in the office couldn't be more helpful and had an engineer out the same day, we couldn't believe how quickly and efficiently this was dealt with.

It is so easy to hop around the Island by bus, we purchased a weekly bus ticket for 6.50 euro and could use this around the whole island, the buses can be very busy but they are very regular and plentiful.

The promenade from St Julians to Sliema is a nice walk with bars and restaurants along the way, or you can hop on the bus, stunning views from Sliema over to Valletta.

Valletta and Mdina are a must visit, you need to get to Valletta early on a Sunday to make the market which we missed. We took the horse and cart around Valletta which was really lovely.
Make sure you try the pea and ricotta pastizzis, these are available everywhere and are delicious.

We found some restaurants over priced in St Julians but if you like pizza and pasta, prices are okay. Piccolo Padre in St Julians bay is very, very good and Peperoncino was my fave (walk down the steps from the apt to Balluta).

Bugibba and St Paul's Bay is a 25 mins bus journey away and had some nice restaurants with very reasonably priced local caught fish dishes

Malta is a stunning country and the Maltese people are just lovely.

We were looked after very well on our visit to Malta and can highly recommend booking this stunning Penthouse apartment.

I miss Malta already :(

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Sep 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review which is really appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karenbtob...
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fab apartment and wonderful stay”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I traveled over to Malta staying in the penthouse apartment with our toddler, Paul collected us from the airport ( he was so friendly and efficient)and brought us to the apartment, it is exactly as the photos show. It was spotless and everything was like new, very comfortable and had everything we needed.

We were a part of a wedding party and most were staying in hotels, this accommodation was far superior than that in the hotels, however there is no pool but the bay is only a short walk (we used the pool in the hotels).

There is a hill to the apartment but Malta is hilly everywhere

The supermarket is about a 3 min walk down and had everything.

To sum up, fab apartment and great holiday.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2014
Thank you for your review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George O
Brantford, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing Place”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was my first visit to Malta and it won't be my last. I have travelled extensively and Malta truly has it all. Great beaches, great restaurants, great people and tones of history. The bus service is excellent and cheap.

As for the Cloister Walk Penthouse, I can't say enough! Graham arranged for pick up at the airport by his driver Paul who drove me to the unit. The penthouse is in a perfect location...close enough to the party district in Paceville ( about a 5 minute walk) and far enough away from the noise. You can also enjoy long walks along the ocean front to Sliema, passing many restaurants, pastizzarias, gelatorias and bars.

The unit is well kept and has three balconies with the largest one off the master bedroom.
Full kitchen if you want to cook a few meals!! Grocery store which is a short walk away (3 min) offers everything you need including local maltese cuisine and of course lots of wine/liquor.

Graham also arranges for the ride back to the airport!

You can't go wrong with this place or this property owner. I originally booked another unit with Graham but my arrival overlapped with the previous tenant. Graham offered me the upgrade to the penthouse suite at no extra charge!

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2014
Thank you very much for you kind review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billyboy7...
Larne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed 28 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We had an excellent time staying at Cloisters walk from the very moment we made the initial enquiry the communication from Graham the owner was first class. So much so that it only took a couple of emails to sort things out both for the accommodation and the driver to pick us up at the airport. Getting picked up and taken back to the airport on completion of the holiday was first class driver Paul being there at the recommended times I would thoroughly advise that you take up this service.

The apartment was excellent and finished to a very high standard and has everything that you need, it was as described in the booking and the photos actually showed the place to perfection. It is in a quiet residential area so there is not much noise but again only a few minutes walk to the night life of St. Julian a steep hill to climb but this was less noticeable after a few glasses of red wine in the local band club.

An added perk is the free wifi which helped us keep in touch with family back home

As I have said I would fully recommend booking through Graham so much so that we have booked another one of his apartments in Sliema for a week in November

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the whole experience
Liked least: having to come home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Oct 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. It was a pleasure and looking forward to your next visit next month
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing