We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,385)
Filter reviews
5,385 results
Traveller rating
3,672
1,229
326
93
65
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,672
1,229
326
93
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue elephantquarterdeck barthe executive loungeoceana restaurantmarina viewbeach clubportomaso marinaexcellent hotelduty managermain poolmain restaurantlarge balconyst juliansoverlooking the seapublic areaslarge hotelmini bar
Filter
Updating list...
177 - 182 of 5,385 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2018

As usual, the stay was great as the location is perfect, the staff is top and the infrastructure is 5*. Only two points, which were not perfect: from time to time it smelled aweful in the main lobby and the food quality could be improved (except of the breakfast, which is very good).

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank tomz71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marika_121, Duty Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

Dear tomz71,

Thank you very much for staying at the Hilton Malta and taking a moment to share feedback on your stay with us.
I am delighted to see you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and that you had a wonderful overall experience in our hotel!
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future. Until then, on the behalf of everyone at Hilton Malta, I wish you all the best!

Kind Regards,
Marika Caruana Smith- Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018

We stayed four nights here in an Executive Club room. The check in process was very smooth and swift. We could have checked in at the Executive Lounge but chose to do so at the front desk itself as there was no crowd. Though it is a premium room, we were not escorted and shown around the room, merely handed the keys.

The room is long but not wide enough, though completely adequate for our needs. Two queen size double beds, table , chair, a lounge chair, lots of wardrobe space, usual accessories like fridge, mini bar, dryer, kettle , TV, telephones etc. Free wifi ( very satisfactory performance ) and free mineral water too. No welcome drink, but one evening after the evening service we did find two chocolates on the bed. Supplies are ample, the room overflows with towels , and pillows. Effective airconditioning, quiet room, excellent black out curtains, wonderful views from balcony ( yes there is one ) just brilliant, excellent wide vista of the sea, and the swimming pools below.

The Club Lounge is spacious, with free tea coffee soft drinks throughout the day, with snacks and nibbles too . Breakfast ( included ) is also served here - this is a Continental breakfast, NOT a full breakfast buffet, but entirely satisfying. Usual choice of cereals , fruit juices, breads, fresh fruits, yoghurt, smoothie, eggs ( not made to order though ), bacon etc. The pre prepared omelette was particularly excellent. Coffee from a machine. Also tea. All good food, enough choice. The snacks during the day include various kinds of pastries and cakes, nuts, other nibbles, and every day, something called pea cake - a savoury filo pastry basically but nice. One day the tacos with beans was particularly outstanding. Complementary beer and spirits and wines are served for two hours every evening. Local wines and beer, and rather average brands of spirits.

There are four eating outlets two of which are proper restaurants. We dined at the Blue Elephant , a Thai restaurant, with excellent food at very reasonable prices ( see separate review ). The Lobby cafe is nice to sit but not an extensive menu, and the minestrone soup we tried was entirely average ( though there is no mandatory recipe, I was disappointed to find neither pasta pieces nor beans in it. ).

The concierge service is very efficient, and every staff member was warm and welcoming. The house keeping services are excellent too, the room was kept immaculately well. Any request for assistance was promptly attended to. We booked a taxi pick up from airport thru the concierge and the service was excellent.

The lifts are high speed.

Specific mention needs to be made of the lovely pools - a very large leisure pool, a good sized swimming pool, and best of all, an excellent indoor heated pool too. I just loved to swim there. In addition, there is a huge facility that has spa, steam rooms, showers, table tennis, gym , squash, weights, you name it, there it is, for those who are fitness minded.

I do need to say with amusement, that the hotel hands out towel cards at check in, which are to be produced in order to borrow a towel for the pool. When the towel is surrendered, your card is returned, , You better ensure you produce all the cards given to you when you check out, else you will be charged for missing towels ! ( The check out process too was very smooth and easy ).

Minor shortcomings - the Hotel facilities are a bit of a maze to negotiate... And the menu in the Lobby could be better ....

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank ArunRatnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marika_121, Duty Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

Dear ArunRatnam,

Thank you very much for staying at the Hilton Malta and taking a moment to share you feedback on your stay with other travellers.
We are pleased to hear you were very wowed by our hotel and found our staff very friendly and helpful. Our team takes great pride in your feedback and all your comments.
Thank you for recommending us so highly and hope that you have the opportunity to come and stay with us again soon. Until then, on the behalf of everyone at Hilton Malta, I wish you all the best!

Kind Regards,
Marika Caruana Smith – Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018 via mobile

Excellent hotel superb friendly efficient staff very well trained downside is the site of hotel very dirty area rubbish every where empty beer cans cigarette buts everywhere walking out Friday and weekend a disaster rowdiness massage parlours everywhere around st julians so sad to see as having spent so many happy times in the past

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Killygordn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marika_121, Duty Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

Dear Killygordn,

Thank you very much for staying at the Hilton Malta and taking a moment to share feedback on your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future. Until then, on the behalf of everyone at Hilton Malta, I wish you all the best!

Kind Regards,
Marika Caruana Smith- Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2018 via mobile

We stayed there for a full week. The staff is very polite, always smiling and ready to help. The rooms were large enough with great view - ours overlooked the bay and the little Casino peninsula. It’s quite, clean - really nice to stay at. I didn’t like the location much because we hit traffic every time we went out. Still, there are a few very nice places to have breakfast and dinner around it.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Denitsa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marika_121, Duty Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

Dear Denitsa H,

Thank you very much for staying at the Hilton Malta and taking a moment to share feedback on your stay with us.
I am delighted to see you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and that you had a wonderful overall experience in our hotel!
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future. Until then, on the behalf of everyone at Hilton Malta, I wish you all the best!

Kind Regards,
Marika Caruana Smith- Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2018

We stayed at Hilton Malta 8 nights. It was our first visit to Malta; we were there more to see the sights than to relax by the pool. I am still undecided whether staying in St. Julians was a better idea than staying in Valletta as it took over 1/2 hour by bus to get into Valletta and then for other destinations on the island, we had to change buses at the Valletta bus station. Traffic is horrid.

The hotel appears to cater to a wide spectrum of guests from families w/ kids to honeymooners to business types to sightseers. There are several dining rooms, 4 swimming pools and over 400 rooms and suites. It's clean and comfortable. The decor is eclectic; our room was decorated in mid-century modern with white and multicolored formica furniture. The location is on the sea and curves around to overlook a small marina. A couple blocks away is a bus stop for public buses going into Valletta. The Hop-On Hop-Off bus also stops nearby. There are a number of restaurants nearby in addition to what the hotel has.

We ate breakfast at the lavish buffet each morning in the Oceana Room and had 2 very good dinners there as well.

Wi-fi is fairly slow in the rooms. The sliding glass doors to the balcony don't have screens so you cannot leave them open and must use air-conditioning for ventilation.

Besides the lovely swimming pool area, what sets this hotel apart from myriad other resort properties is the staff. They are friendly, helpful, courteous, good humored and really seem to want to make your stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CultureVulture60657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marika_121, Duty Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

Dear CultureVulture60657,
,
Thank you very much for staying at the Hilton Malta and taking a moment to share feedback on your stay with us.
I am delighted to see you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and that you had a wonderful overall experience in our hotel!
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future. Until then, on the behalf of everyone at Hilton Malta, I wish you all the best!

Kind Regards,
Marika Caruana Smith- Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews