We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Family holiday and 40th birthday celebration”
other travellers have booked this property
The Milking  Parlour Grande
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Milking  Parlour Grande
The Dinning Area The Bathroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
The Milking  Parlour Grande
The Dinning Area
The Bathroom
The Lounge
The Bedroom
The Kitchen
1st floor 3d plan
Ground floor 3d plan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
9 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Alfreton, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
leewW352E...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“50th birthday celebration”
Reviewed 12 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We attended as a large group of couples for a 50th birthday celebration. I think we probably expected a more secluded site but it is attached to a smaller property with a small panel fence between the outside area.. it wasn’t a huge problem but not expected. The biggest problem we had was a wasp nest in the patio area which made it pretty much impossible to sit outside as you were constantly under attack. The patio area isn’t very big either, although there is a large shared grassed area nearby for us by the whole site. As it was a warm summer they flew in the open windows so even inside you weren’t safe. It took 5 days for this to be dealt with by which time we were leaving. The other issue was the shape of the building which to be fair we should have realised was long and thin, but didnt give it a thought. The consequence is that for such a large group it isn’t easy to socialise. There is a large table in the main lounge area which is OK but that’s about it. The other issue was the size of the rooms. The end two bedrooms were very large, the rest I found quite small and with a double bed in there it was very cramped. Not all rooms has en suite either so this was an inter sting dilemma with a large group. Other issues were you have to pay 25 pound to use the outside brick BBQ which consisted of 5 firefighters, some kindling and tools. Seemed very expensive and unnecessary. The hot tub was fine although when we got there there was a glass in the bottom of it, so it couldn’t have been cleaned in between visitors. Location is good, in th countryside with a pub nearby but I think my expectation for a property boasting so many rooms would be more socialising space and bigger rooms/en suite. What I will say is we still had a good time, but the people were the major factor here and I think for the cost of the property there maybe better value to be had elsewhere. It wasnt terrible, but we have stayed at others as a group previously , which were better , which is why I give this a three out of five.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2018
Thank you for your review, most helpful.

I have now reduced the cost of the BBQ to £20 inc VAT so we get £16.66 this is for a dedicated BBQ area away from the main building due to fire risk, utensils, a grill and unlimited charcoal and fire lighters which I think your group took advantage of.

A glass in the hot tub is not acceptable and an enquiry is underway to put further safe guards in place so this can never happen again.
Sorry if we did not meet your expectation about room size however this property has been opened for nearly 3 years and we invariably only get praise.

Turning to the wasps which in my opinion what was mostly responsible for your woes.
The properties are in the heart of the Derbyshire countryside and therefore one would expect some tolerance for the forces of nature, the wasp problem was however a total one-off as in my nearly 30 years at the village I have never experienced this problem at such a level, we did get a pest controller to visit as soon as we were aware of a problem but not in enough time for your group, sorry about that, although it should be noted that at the time the media was full of reports of the wasp infestations nationwide see The Guardian, The Sun, The Mirror and various reports on TV.

Vic Fell
Owner
Oakerthorpe Holiday Village
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jannaloui...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Family holiday and 40th birthday celebration”
Reviewed 10 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We spent a week in the old milking parlour grande and also hired Elliott House for the weekend. In total there were 21 adults and 5 children

Oakerthorpe Holiday village is exceptional and I am already plotting a return visit.

The booking process was so simple and Rachel was really helpful (we had lots of questions and she didn’t seem to mind!!)

The accommodation is top class, clean and of a high quality. The beds are super comfy and I had a lovely nights sleep.

The kitchen is fully stocked with equipment and glasses, we had everything you could need. The oven is nice and big so it was easy to cook for everyone.

There is a nice outside area with a hot tub that we enjoyed chilling out in.

What made it extra special was Farmer Vic, the tour of the orchard was loved by the adults and kids alike. (We got to eat some yummy cherries) He was a gentleman and a pleasure to chat with. He’s constantly working and looking after the grounds which is why it is such a nice place.

If you are considering staying here then I am jealous as I want to go back now!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmaharri...
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Exceeded everyones expectations”
Reviewed 31 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Perfect venue for a relaxing hen weekend. Great living space and comfortable bedrooms! Towels and bedding all felt luxury! Well equipped kitchen although the baking trays don't fit in the oven flat but we managed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry P
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Milking parlour grande”
Reviewed 21 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We stayed over the weekend of the 11 may 2018
13 adults 2 babies 4 children
Facilities were brilliant for everyone gorgeous house full of all the things we could possibly need ; hot tub and the play area where well used vic and rachel were great vic made the children's day taking them to see the animals rachel helped with any queries nothing was to much trouble .
The only point I would bring up is the family sleeping down stairs felt it could do with a bit of sound proofing for people walking above
...
But overall a fabulous weekend for a family celebration would go back in the blink of an eye x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_morganha...
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful stay in wonderful weather”
Reviewed 21 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

19 of us stayed for 3 nights during the wonderful May sunshine. Ages ranged from 6yrs to 86yrs. Everyone loved the accommodation and the courtyard and hot tub was a great hit with all. The facilities were mainly as expected, we loved bring able to eat and sit together, it would have been nice to have more outdoor seating in the courtyard though. The orchard and playground was a favourite with all ages and we spent time exploring the local area. Great place for a family celebration.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing