We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Roker Hotel, BW Premier Collection(Sunderland)(Great Value!)
USD 73
USD 70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 76
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boars Head Boutique Hotel(Sunderland)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
USD 51
Booking.com
View Deal
April Guest House(Sunderland)(Great Value!)
USD 80
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Sunderland High Street West(Sunderland)(Great Value!)
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    The Abingdon Guest House(Sunderland)(Great Value!)
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    Lemonfield Hotel(Sunderland)
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Hawksley House(Sunderland)
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    Reviews (821)
    Filter reviews
    821 results
    Traveller rating
    333
    302
    133
    38
    15
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    333
    302
    133
    38
    15
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewssea viewsea frontleisure facilitiesswimming poolsteam roomcorner suiteleisure clubseparate showertrouser presschanging roomssuperior roomtwo double bedslounge areabit datedseaburn beachcar parkroom was large
    Filter
    Updating list...
    26 - 31 of 821 reviews
    Reviewed 3 April 2018

    Had a lovely stay on easter sunday,room was very nice with a good view,room was lovely and clean with a lovely large bathroom,staff were very friendly and helpful especially the young man called Eamon who was very polite and helped us sort our door key out straight away as the first one did not let us in the room,Breakfast was very nice with a good selection,loved the spa facilities,plenty of good restaurants nearby received excellent service hope to stay here again soon.

    • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank Yvonne D
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    SunderlandMarriott, Executive Office at Sunderland Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

    Hi Yvonne D
    Thank you so much for your high scoring of the hotel and its facilities. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, particularly your visit to the leisure club. We look forward to serving you again soon when your travels bring you back to the area.
    Kind regards
    Liz Codling

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 2 April 2018

    We have stayed here several times. The staff are very welcoming and friendly.

    The hotel is very clean with a very nice reception area. The bar is also a very nice place to spend time. Free newspapers are provided in the bar.

    The restaurant is spacious and nicely laid out. The buffet breakfast is plentiful.

    The bedrooms are large and clean if somewhat in need of updating, especially the beds which are uncomfortable. The bedrooms have a seating area. the bathrooms are big and usually have a bath and separate shower. large fluffy towels and toiletries are provided. I would advise anyone to book a seaview room as the views are wonderful.

    There is a swimming pool, spa and gym onsite which is free for guests.

    There’s plenty of onsite parking with extra spaces in the two enclosed car parks.

    Room Tip: Book a seaview room.
    Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    Thank gerbilhoward
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    SunderlandMarriott, Executive Office at Sunderland Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

    Hi gerbilhoward
    Many thanks for your valuable feedback on the facilities and services we offer here at the Sunderland Marriott. I am pleased you enjoyed the location and the great views, overlooking the sandy beaches at Seaburn and the North Sea.
    We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when your travels bring you back to Sunderland.
    Kind regards
    Liz Codling

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

    We had two (reward) nights here in room 352. Very nice room with views over the lighthouses and the sea. It was explained on check in that as gold members we couldn't have an upgrade as it was very busy. The first time it's ever been said to us and we haven't had them in the past. It was appreciated. We did have a sea view though in a large room. We could have had a car park view so we must have been considered somewhat.
    The bathroom too was large with separate bath and shower cubical. The bed though was tiny. We've got a larger one at home. I look forward to the king size beds and there is plenty of space to install one. I was disappointed.
    The breakfast was average and the serving system seemed awkard with cast iron pots to hold the hot food and keep it warm. The lids weigh really heavy. All the eggs are cooked to order except scrambled. I ordered a fried egg and had finished my breakfast when it came out.
    I didn't use the spa area and I like a steam room but we were busy. I opted for a long walk on the beach instead.
    The beach is the star here and the people. It's a very dog friendly area with hundreds of them along the beach. We met lots if nice folk out there and had a superb walk.
    I would return but only if I could ensure a king bed.

    Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    Thank garstonian
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    SunderlandMarriott, Executive Office at Sunderland Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

    Hi garstonian
    Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review and for sharing your experience in a forum such as Tripadvisor. I am sorry we were unable to upgrade you to one of our superior rooms, as a Gold Member. Also, please accept our sincere apology for the issues you encountered, particularly your disappointment with the double bed. We do have rooms with kings beds so may I suggest that you request a king bed when making any future bookings as they can't always be guaranteed. Thank you again for your valuable feedback and we hope to serve you again very soon.
    Kind regards
    Liz Codling

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 2 April 2018

    The top Management should be extremely proud. Nothing is too much trouble for any member of staff and everyone we encountered went the extra mile.
    All departments - reception, housekeeping and especially the restaurant were simply superb.

    Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    Thank markstradling
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    SunderlandMarriott, Executive Office at Sunderland Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

    Hi markstradling
    Thank you so much for your lovely feedback on the great customer service you received during your recent stay. Your kind words have been shared with the team and we hope to serve you again when your travels bring you back to Sunderland.
    Kind regards
    Liz Codling

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

    This hotel is ideally situated on the sea front.
    We stayed for two nights and had a room with a sea view. It was comfortable and spacious. There were two double beds in the room and also a small table and two arm chairs. Breakfast which is buffet style was excellent. There was a good choice and the hot food was fresh and hot. Eggs can be made to order. The staff were friendly and helpful. I would recommend a visit.

    Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    2  Thank May L
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    SunderlandMarriott, Executive Office at Sunderland Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

    Hi May L
    We appreciate that you have taken the time to review the hotel and its facilities in a forum such as this one. It is always nice to receive such nice comments and we look forward to being of service to you in the future.
    Kind regards
    Liz Codling

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews