We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (869)
Filter reviews
869 results
Traveller rating
350
320
141
38
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
350
320
141
38
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view sea front leisure facilities marriott hotels steam room corner suite leisure club separate shower trouser press superior room two double beds lounge area seaburn beach bit dated car park room was large comfortable hotel
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 869 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Had a lovely stay on easter sunday,room was very nice with a good view,room was lovely and clean with a lovely large bathroom,staff were very friendly and helpful especially the young man called Eamon who was very polite and helped us sort our door key out straight away as the first one did not let us in the room,Breakfast was very nice with a good selection,loved the spa facilities,plenty of good restaurants nearby received excellent service hope to stay here again soon.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Yvonne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandMarriott, Executive Office at Grand Hotel Sunderland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Hi Yvonne D
Thank you so much for your high scoring of the hotel and its facilities. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, particularly your visit to the leisure club. We look forward to serving you again soon when your travels bring you back to the area.
Kind regards
Liz Codling

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We have stayed here several times. The staff are very welcoming and friendly.

The hotel is very clean with a very nice reception area. The bar is also a very nice place to spend time. Free newspapers are provided in the bar.

The restaurant is spacious and nicely laid out. The buffet breakfast is plentiful.

The bedrooms are large and clean if somewhat in need of updating, especially the beds which are uncomfortable. The bedrooms have a seating area. the bathrooms are big and usually have a bath and separate shower. large fluffy towels and toiletries are provided. I would advise anyone to book a seaview room as the views are wonderful.

There is a swimming pool, spa and gym onsite which is free for guests.

There’s plenty of onsite parking with extra spaces in the two enclosed car parks.

Room tip: Book a seaview room.
Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank gerbilhoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandMarriott, Executive Office at Grand Hotel Sunderland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Hi gerbilhoward
Many thanks for your valuable feedback on the facilities and services we offer here at the Sunderland Marriott. I am pleased you enjoyed the location and the great views, overlooking the sandy beaches at Seaburn and the North Sea.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when your travels bring you back to Sunderland.
Kind regards
Liz Codling

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We had two (reward) nights here in room 352. Very nice room with views over the lighthouses and the sea. It was explained on check in that as gold members we couldn't have an upgrade as it was very busy. The first time it's ever been said to us and we haven't had them in the past. It was appreciated. We did have a sea view though in a large room. We could have had a car park view so we must have been considered somewhat.
The bathroom too was large with separate bath and shower cubical. The bed though was tiny. We've got a larger one at home. I look forward to the king size beds and there is plenty of space to install one. I was disappointed.
The breakfast was average and the serving system seemed awkard with cast iron pots to hold the hot food and keep it warm. The lids weigh really heavy. All the eggs are cooked to order except scrambled. I ordered a fried egg and had finished my breakfast when it came out.
I didn't use the spa area and I like a steam room but we were busy. I opted for a long walk on the beach instead.
The beach is the star here and the people. It's a very dog friendly area with hundreds of them along the beach. We met lots if nice folk out there and had a superb walk.
I would return but only if I could ensure a king bed.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank garstonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandMarriott, Executive Office at Grand Hotel Sunderland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Hi garstonian
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review and for sharing your experience in a forum such as Tripadvisor. I am sorry we were unable to upgrade you to one of our superior rooms, as a Gold Member. Also, please accept our sincere apology for the issues you encountered, particularly your disappointment with the double bed. We do have rooms with kings beds so may I suggest that you request a king bed when making any future bookings as they can't always be guaranteed. Thank you again for your valuable feedback and we hope to serve you again very soon.
Kind regards
Liz Codling

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

The top Management should be extremely proud. Nothing is too much trouble for any member of staff and everyone we encountered went the extra mile.
All departments - reception, housekeeping and especially the restaurant were simply superb.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank markstradling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandMarriott, Executive Office at Grand Hotel Sunderland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Hi markstradling
Thank you so much for your lovely feedback on the great customer service you received during your recent stay. Your kind words have been shared with the team and we hope to serve you again when your travels bring you back to Sunderland.
Kind regards
Liz Codling

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

This hotel is ideally situated on the sea front.
We stayed for two nights and had a room with a sea view. It was comfortable and spacious. There were two double beds in the room and also a small table and two arm chairs. Breakfast which is buffet style was excellent. There was a good choice and the hot food was fresh and hot. Eggs can be made to order. The staff were friendly and helpful. I would recommend a visit.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank May L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandMarriott, Executive Office at Grand Hotel Sunderland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Hi May L
We appreciate that you have taken the time to review the hotel and its facilities in a forum such as this one. It is always nice to receive such nice comments and we look forward to being of service to you in the future.
Kind regards
Liz Codling

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews