We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice for Oslo airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Oslo Airport
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Gardermoen
Porsgrunn, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for Oslo airport”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We stayed here for one night, prior to travelling from Oslo airport, because we would have had difficulties getting to the airport on time in the morning. We arrived rather late, and decided to opt for a taxi to the hotel instead of waiting 20 minutes for the shuttle bus. That was a huge mistake, as we ended up paying over NOK 300 just for the taxi. What a rip-off! The shuttle bus was NOK 65 per person, but that is a standard rate for all the hotels at Gardermoen, except for the Radisson, which is within walking distance. The ride was only 5 minutes, so there was no stress. Check-in and check-out were fast and efficient, and staff was friendly and polite. The rooms were rather small, but nicely decorated. The in-room TV had plenty of stations, also in English. Bathroom was small, but practical. Breakfast was good, with a wide selection of items, and the breakfast room itself was large and bright. All in all, a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bugman_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    316
    117
    52
    24
See reviews for
162
129
64
230
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kopavogur, Iceland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

This hotel is perfect example of not buying a book y the cover. It looks really fancy, new and elegant, but turned out to be quite the opposite. The rooms were dirty when we arrived, with food-leftovers lying in the room, (so the housekeeping is very poor) the service was horrible, (the staff was rude and no one seemed to care) and the restaurant was a total disgrace, really overprized and what you got was not what you ordered.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Halldor t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We chose the Scandic because of its price and proximity to the airport. It was a pleasant hotel: quite clean, comfortable and most of all quiet! There was a large breakfast buffet with quite a variety of choices, hot and cold. There's also a small convenience shop next to the front desk.

The beds were comfortable. The television in the room can also be used to set the temperature and as an alarm clock.

There is a bus that leaves (usually) every twenty minutes to/from the airport. A ticket dispenser at the bus shelter outside the hotel provides tickets which can be purchased with a credit card. Here is where I have to add a couple of caveats: build in plenty of time in case your shuttle bus does not arrive. The first morning there, several people missed their flights as a result of buses not coming. We took a van and that wound up costing over 200 NOK (about $30) for a very short drive.

Also, there is a large markup on drinks served at the bar. if you simply want a soda or tea, you're better off buying it at the shop next to the reception.

This is the perfect place to stay at for your first and last night in Oslo due its proximity to the airport. It is not a good choice for touring around Oslo.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baystater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

This was our second time at Scandic, and we got a really good rate through their frequent guest-programme.

The receptionist couldn't have been more cheerful and service minded at check in.
The room was modern and comfortable, with a desk, two chairs and two single beds. Many of their rooms are accessible, and the beds are remote controlled. Super for watching TV in bed! Rooms are not huge, but large enough, with free Wi-Fi.
The bathrooms are large and light, with a shower and the usual "Lux" soap dispenser.

Our room faced the airport, and we could hear some noise from the aircraft (little or no traffic in the nighttime, though). We slept very well, but if you are a light sleeper, I would suggest asking for a room facing the rear.

The last time we stayed, we had an early flight, and we had a simple, but nice breakfast at 04:30. This time we had time for the full buffet, which offered a large selection of hot and cold food. You could also make a lunch box for NOK 65? if I remember correctly.
There is a gym and a restaurant as well as a cosy area with seating around a gas fire. Further down is an area with a large TV and some travel books.

Our children spent some time in the (somewhat uninspired) play area, but the flight simulator in the lobby was a huge success!
The lobby also have a small shop where you can get sandwiches, drinks, a clean T-shirt or some of the essentials one is likely to forget, like soap, toothbrush etc.

The hotel offers parking, and you can catch a bus to the airport outside the hotel entrance. The ride is NOK 65 per adult and takes 5 minutes. (Tip: If you park at "Gardermoen parkering" across the road, the shuttle is free for the whole family when showing the car park ticket.)

The hotel is convenient for the airport, but there doesn't seem to be much to do in the local area.

Will definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Some aircraft noise in the rooms facing the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank erschel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

So the breakfast was like being in the states with eggs, bacon, sausage, rolls, potatoes, plenty of fruits and cereals and a table of the euro lunch meats. Room is trendy and nice. hallways all have tv's everywhere, tons of meeting areas, kids flight simulator in the lobby, nice resteraunt and bar. staff friendly, best stay in europe so far. 30 min from oslo is only down side.
Rent a car, I took a cab that was a 6 min ride and it was over $50. cheaper to rent a car!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HUSA4342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gardermoen hotels
1.8 km away
Radisson Blu Airport Hotel, Oslo Gardermoen
0.9 km away
Comfort Hotel RunWay
Comfort Hotel RunWay
#1 of 14 in Gardermoen
1,113 reviews
2.1 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Oslo Airport, Gardermoen Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Best Western Oslo Airport Hotell
0.8 km away
Clarion Hotel & Congress Oslo Airport
5.6 km away
Scandic Gardermoen
Scandic Gardermoen
#12 of 14 in Gardermoen
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Oslo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Oslo Airport

Property: Scandic Oslo Airport
Address: Ravinevegen 15, Gardermoen 2060, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Akershus > Ullensaker Municipality > Gardermoen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gardermoen
Price range (per night): $122 - $285
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Oslo Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 243
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic Oslo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Oslo Airport Hotel Gardermoen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing