We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good breakfast, free parking ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Caen Cote de Nacre Herouville Saint Clair Hotel
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

I stayed here 2 nights while visiting Juno Beach, the Canadian War Cemetery and other sites in the area. The hotel had free parking right beside the hotel (an absolute bonus when in France). The water pressure for the morning shower was superb. Their breakfast buffet is worth every penny with a selection of scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, selection of fresh pastries and breads, juice, coffee, fresh fruit, yogurts and cereals. There is a lot of room to sit in the morning and the staff was pleasant. My only complaint was the internet. It reached as far as the front door/washroom area of my room. Once I sat at the desk or on the bed, I was lucky to get 1 bar or most times my devices could not find the network at all. They had comfortable couches and seats in the lobby were the signal was very strong. This was the only inconvenience that prevented me from giving them a perfect score.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BOSTON14200, Directeur at Mercure Caen Cote de Nacre Herouville Saint Clair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

I see with the provider to improve the wifi network

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 344 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2017

Hotel room itself was clean modern a bit like a premier inn bed was so comfy all amenities were up to scratch the food was OK at dinnertime, the breakfast was really good bacon sausage scramble's toast continental all good cup of tea was a bit of a let down all in all a good hotel ,just one mention to the barman in the evening was so polite especially when there was one member of our party who we did not know was soooo rude well done to him

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kags507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BOSTON14200, Directeur at Mercure Caen Cote de Nacre Herouville Saint Clair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Thank you for your comment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

Stayed here as part of a 14 day tour of France. Rooms were good but food was horrendous. We had a set 3 course meal starting with vegetable soup which was so salty that no-one could eat it - when we complained they just tried adding cream to it, this was followed by chicken or fish - the chicken was not cooked properly so was also inedible, followed by apple tart or fruit salad. Not enough desert was provided so many in our group had no desert. At no point were we asked if we wanted a drink with our meal. Bar staff were surly and drinks were expensive. Breakfast was poor - hot food was lukewarm to say the least. Were glad to leave

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BOSTON14200, Directeur at Mercure Caen Cote de Nacre Herouville Saint Clair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

I am sorry that the meals were not good. I inform the Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

This is spotlessly clean with helpful staff. There is plentiful outdoor parking. Hotel of choice on crossing from Portsmouth to Caen. Also good as a base for exploring Bayeux Tapestry, Falaise, Fontevreux and more recent history of D Day Landings.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank _kathy_catpaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BOSTON14200, Directeur at Mercure Caen Cote de Nacre Herouville Saint Clair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Thank you for your comment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017

Stayed with a large group for the D Day celebrations beginning of June, staff couldn't open the bar for us to buy an expensive beer but had no problem giving French people who checked in a free drink. We didn't get a free drink when we checked in... totally rude and will make sure this hotel doesn't get our group booking ever again. The Mercure in Caen centre is a better option, nice staff and cheaper beer with a bar that stays open to a reasonable time.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Overlandandsea1905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BOSTON14200, Directeur at Mercure Caen Cote de Nacre Herouville Saint Clair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

We offer drinks at the bar to Accor club members/hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herouville-Saint-Clair
2 km away
Ibis Budget Caen Herouville
Ibis Budget Caen Herouville
#2 of 5 in Herouville-Saint-Clair
436 reviews
1.3 km away
Novotel Caen Cote de Nacre
3.1 km away
Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Best Hotel Caen Citis
Best Hotel Caen Citis
#3 of 5 in Herouville-Saint-Clair
75 reviews
11.1 km away
Riva Bella Hotel
Riva Bella Hotel
#2 of 8 in Ouistreham
508 reviews
3.5 km away
Best Western Plus Hotel Moderne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Caen Cote de Nacre Herouville Saint Clair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Caen Cote de Nacre Herouville Saint Clair Hotel

Address: 2 Place Boston | Citis, 14200 Herouville-Saint-Clair, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Herouville-Saint-Clair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Herouville-Saint-Clair
Price Range: $116 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Caen Cote de Nacre Herouville Saint Clair Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With great road transport links, and close to the tram station, this 4-star hotel offers spacious, air-conditioned rooms. Ideally situated within easy reach of the D-Day beaches, a stay here is a great opportunity to explore the pearls of the Côte de Nacre. This is a perfect haven of peace and relaxation for business travellers and families alike. It is also a great venue for events and business seminars as well as for leisure activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Caen Cote de Nacre Herouville Saint Clair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Caen Cote De Nacre Hotel Herouville Saint Clair
Mercure Herouville Saint Clair

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing