We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Well equipped and comfortable gite in great...”
other travellers have booked this property
Mountain view from the living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mountain view from the living room
The House with rose and wisteria. Living room  through open patio doors.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Mountain view from the living room
The House with rose and wisteria.
Living room  through open patio doors.
Cosy fireside.  Hi-Fi for streamed music or CDs (classical/jazz provided)
Kitchen and dining area. Also utility room fridge, freezer, washing machine, tumble dry (not shown)
Log burning stove. (Logs provided free)
Dining area and high chair. CD and book selection
Master bedroom
Bedroom 3 with two 90cm single beds
Bedroom with two single bunk beds and cot.
Bathroom and 2nd toilet
Mezzanine with multi-channel TV and  DVD Player (selection of dvd's provided).
Pool table on mezzanine
The fireside from the mezzanine.
View from the house across the valley.
Our house from the floral  rock garden
View from terrasse with shade sail
Snow capped Montcalm from the patio in summer
Montcalm above the morning mist
Cave Painting at Niaux (10km) 12,000 BC. A must-see.
Butterflies,birds and wildlife abound in this free-from Parc Naturel Regional.
adventure park (7 minutes). Also walking, climbing, canyoning, fishing, paragliding, canoeing...
Swimming Pool Auzat (10 mins) (Open July and August)
Ancient Dolmen de Sem opposite us in the valley.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Foix, Ariege, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jlarco186...
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Well equipped and comfortable gite in great location”
Reviewed 27 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Vicdessos is a good base for exploring this part of the Ariege. The village has most of what you need and there are great walks - especially from Soulcem valley. The gite is 5 minutes from Vicdessos in a car and even though the road is narrow we didn't meet another car the whole week we were there.
The gite is very peaceful, with great views across the valley. It has all you need without being fussy. Even though we visited in June it was cold in the evenings and the wood fire was a bonus.
Eric and Cecille who welcomed us to the gite were punctual and helpful.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy B
Scottish Borders
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paradise in the Pyrenees”
Reviewed 8 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Our stay at La Fontane exceeded all expectations. We were given a very nice welcome by the keyholders and shown round the house, our jaws dropped further and further until we were speechless - it is wonderful! The layout is perfect for a holiday house with lots of spacious sitting areas. A few evenings we had a roaring log fire, other evenings we had the huge glass doors open to enjoy the warm scented mountain air. The house is beautifully appointed and kitted out and our party of six adults were all comfortably accommodated.

La Fontane is completedly secluded but only a two minute stroll through the woods to the village of Orus perched up above. There are lots of wonderful things to do in the area, but we chose to spend most of our time in the locality as it was so beautiful. The village of Vicdessos in the valley has a Spar supermarket, a butcher, baker and a Thursday market which satisfied all our needs.

We were there in May and the wild flowers were wonderful and carpeted the paths to the other mountain villages. It was a real privilege to stay here with Mont Calm looking over the valley.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2016
Thank you Wendy for your kind review. We adore it too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“You Can Never Get Bored With The View Or The Emotional Feelings The Surroundings Give You.”
Reviewed 5 February 2016 for a stay in June 2015

This was the second year my wife and I had stayed at 'La Fontane', and I wrote a review about our stay in Jan 2015. I wondered if going back we would have the same feelings about the holiday we had last year. I should not have doubted the charisma that 'La Fontane' oozes by the bucket load. We both got out of the car walked to the terrace and just gazed into that view that pulls at every emotion in your mind and heart. Just like last year, we just stood there and gazed without a word being spoken. If you could bottle that view, you would make a fortune. Of course not to mention the homely spirit that 'La Fontane' herself gives you. Everything you could want in a house, plus a pool table! We both would have loved to have made it three years in a row, but due to personal circumstances we will miss out being there this year. However Peter, if you will have us in the future we will be back! It is good to see it is very booked up, as we nurture the thought that other people can enjoy the same pleasure's we get from staying at 'La Fontane'

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Just being there!
Liked least: Leaving to go home.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2016
David,
Thank you once again for your kind review. You're welcome back whenever you want.
Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony G
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning views, peaceful, perfect!”
Reviewed 3 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We spent a week here and loved it. The weather was fantastic which always helps of course. The house is lovely and the views are amazing. We took our two boys (7 & 11 months) and my mother and everyone had a great time.
Peter was very helpful with any questions that I asked and a pleasure to deal with. Many thanks!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2016
No problem!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Jun 2016
Thank you. What more to add?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing