We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not bad!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mellington Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mellington Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mellington
Certificate of Excellence
London England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“not bad!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Went at the end of April on a Groupon offer and having read a number of comments on TripA felt was a little wary of what awaited us. Beautiful building in a stunning location with great views. Friendly staff who were helpful in the extreme. Food was good but not outstanding and I thought dinner a little expensive for what it was. We stayed in the Church Stoke room (which seems to be the standard double) view was great but the furnishings were a little delapidated - drawers/wardrobe ete were cheap melamine and in bad nick - it wouldnt cost a huge amount to have some antique furniture in the room and would make all the difference with the overall feeling of comfort and period. Lock on the door kept breaking and wasn't really put on securely, but when mentioned to staff they dealt with it immediately. I felt the furnishing around the common areas of the hotel were a like a 'job lot' and a bit mis-matched (though comfortable) but it was such a gorgeous house that with a bit of imagination it could have been outstanding.

We had a great weekend and enjoyed it immensley, and would definitely go back but have to say I probably wouldnt only do so if it was a special off and wouldn't pay full rack rate.

Room Tip: In it's current state - any room but Church Stoke - other wise I heard some of the other rooms w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eilis007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    87
    41
    20
    13
See reviews for
73
199
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

We got married there on saturday 26th may and we coudn't have wished for a more perfect day. From start to finish, Kim, Vanessa and the team were accomadating in every single way especially preparing rooms early for guests travelling from 160 miles away. The food was exceptional ,both the evening meal we had the night before and the wedding breafast were fantastic all our guests commented on the high quality of the food and service. Nothing was too much trouble and if there were any problems we knew nothing about them. We had 4 children with us and they looked after them brilliantly while we were running around getting ourselves ready. The rooms are beautiful, even the basic double are super comfy, the Mellington suite is out of this world we didn't want to get up the following morning. All our guests that stayed agreed that the rooms exceeded their expectations. We honestly can't praise it enough, we will definitely be returning soon. If you want a wedding venue to take your breath away then Mellington is the place to have it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kate s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

Stunning hotel building, nice room, friendly staff.
Stunning countryside, Offa's dyke runs through the hotel grounds.
Very peaceful, and good breakfast each morning
What more could you want?

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stuartporky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

Perfect for a quiet relaxing weekend. Don't stay here if you want to walk to the local pub etc as you need a car just to reach the end of the driveway ! Friendly and knowledgable staff more than make up for the isolation. General decor is very jaded but always clean and tidy. It would definately benefit from some investment. Lovely location for touring the Welsh border towns or walking on offas dyke. Don't trust sat nav to get you there !

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the front (lovely views)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AggSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

We had a groupon voucher which ran out in early may, but they let me use it even though it was late. We had a lovely stay. Breakfast and evening meal was good and plates scalding hot which did keep food hot, that's not a bad point. Staff very friendly and rooms clean. We had a lovely time. Places to visit, you would needed a car but a few nice walks on hand. My first visit to Wales and I wasn't disappointed.

Room Tip: Read some reviews re the caravans, we didn't have a problem with this and never heard a thing. O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sexybum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellington
7.1 km away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
5.8 km away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Montgomery
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
21.8 km away
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Caersws
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 km away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Welshpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
29.9 km away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
19.9 km away
Knighton Hotel
Knighton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mellington Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mellington Hall Hotel

Property: Mellington Hall Hotel
Address: Mellington | Churchstoke, Mellington SY15 6HX, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Mellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mellington
Price range (per night): $133 - $260
Hotel Class:4 star — Mellington Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, HostelWorld, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au and Odigeo so you can book your Mellington Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mellington Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing