We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mellington Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mellington
Certificate of Excellence
Neston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff”
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Perfect for a quiet relaxing weekend. Don't stay here if you want to walk to the local pub etc as you need a car just to reach the end of the driveway ! Friendly and knowledgable staff more than make up for the isolation. General decor is very jaded but always clean and tidy. It would definately benefit from some investment. Lovely location for touring the Welsh border towns or walking on offas dyke. Don't trust sat nav to get you there !

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the front (lovely views)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AggSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    87
    42
    20
    14
See reviews for
74
200
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We had a groupon voucher which ran out in early may, but they let me use it even though it was late. We had a lovely stay. Breakfast and evening meal was good and plates scalding hot which did keep food hot, that's not a bad point. Staff very friendly and rooms clean. We had a lovely time. Places to visit, you would needed a car but a few nice walks on hand. My first visit to Wales and I wasn't disappointed.

Room Tip: Read some reviews re the caravans, we didn't have a problem with this and never heard a thing. O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sexybum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

This is not a hotel in the conventional sense. Seems to be a weekend wedding venue that does a poor job at tolerating guests in between.

OK, we arrived early to be told that rooms not available until four. Perhaps they could have said instead that we could have a drink and get the room ready for us as soon as possible.

The interior and exterior fabric are excellent, the food was good, but the service was such that you felt that you were imposing yourself like an uninvited guest.

Breakfast we were told was from 8 till 10, but at half eight there was nobody around - reception was in darkness and the doors locked.

The room was adequate for a cheap overnight stay, but in great need of refurbishment.

We hoped that this would be our mid walk touch of luxury and instead turned ou to be a great disappointment. At £135 per night B&B it is hugely overpriced and the service disappointingly poor.

I think if you stayed there at weekends it could be a much better experience than we had.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RyedaleRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saddleworth. UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Just stayed here for 2 nights. Its a very beautiful location right on the welsh/Shropsire border, had a lovely time exploring the area.
The Hotel is a stunning building. Our room was the Montgomery Suite which again was far better than we expected. Huge kingsize bed, another room with twin beds, bathroom with shower and a seperate bath, stunning views accross the countryside.

There is a holiday park within the grounds but its not off putting as the caravans are all Green in colour to blend in, of a very high standard and the grounds around them are exceptionally well maintained.

If there is a downside it would be the food its all very nice but nothing special which I think is needed to match to hotel standard. I ordered muscles & chunky chips in the evening but only got the muscles, had to ask later for the chips. We ate breakfast on both mornings and the cook didn't quite get order right, salmon & eggs wasn't served well, just salmon cut into tiny squares and placed ontop of the eggs. no bagel, no chives, tasted fine but presentation poor!

I feel awful complaining when we had such a lovely time but I think a top quality chef with an excellent menu would truely compliment this hotel and make it very worthy of their prices.

Having said that, please do not be put off as this hotel is definitely worth a visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing front of hotel for the amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cinders18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neston,UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights at Mellington Hall. It is in a beautiful peaceful location. We stayed in The Priest Weston suite which had stunning views from the window. The staff were so friendly and helpful which made for a relaxed atmosphere.We had an excellent meal in the restaurant on the first evening,they also do bar meals.We are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellington
7.1 km away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
712 reviews
5.8 km away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Montgomery
252 reviews
21.8 km away
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Caersws
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 km away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Welshpool
568 reviews
20.0 km away
Knighton Hotel
Knighton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knighton
182 reviews
29.9 km away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mellington Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mellington Hall Hotel

Property: Mellington Hall Hotel
Address: Mellington | Churchstoke, Mellington SY15 6HX, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Mellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mellington
Price range (per night): $153 - $285
Hotel Class:4 star — Mellington Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Odigeo, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mellington Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mellington Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing