We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (277)
Filter reviews
277 results
Traveller rating
191
53
15
6
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
191
53
15
6
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate poolbeach restaurantsri lankarekawa beachthe ownerwi fiseafoodvilla nramazing massagebeach boyslong sandy beachsmall hotelsbeautiful beachperfect peacehotel locationfirst floorspent nights here
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 277 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

We did not really know what to expect after reading different reviews here, some real good and other the total opposite. We could not be more happily surprised. The promises are beautiful and the staff is really welcoming and friendly. The owners have done a great job creating an unique space. During our one night stay we were so lucky and got an upgrade from a suite to a private villa. Villa nr 5 was everything we could dream of after several days traveling around Sri Lanka. We just wanted to relax, and the place is perfect for that. The beach is very private and nice, and we enjoyed good meals and great service at the beach side restaurant. As we wanted a late check out, they were kind to offer us a free room we could use after leaving the villa. I would recommend this place in a heartbeat!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kathinka B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

i travel often to sri lanka this was my 19 th visit. This time we decided to chance the location for celebrating my friends birthday , we usualy go to kandalama hotel at Dambulla. We both had a stressfull copple of months after us so we decided to go for a beach relaxation and booked good karma hotel at rekawa. The place was not that easy to find; only 2 verry small signs. lucky we had a local driver so he could ask his way. the road to the place is not paved so lots of holes in a earthy small road leaded us to good karma hotel. we were welcomed and escorted to managers office. the place is owned bu 2 Russian families but managed by sri lankan. the manager was one of our least favorite persons. he was so fake in his communication; was like a robot using same conversation over and over, how are you how was your day any questions.... after check n we were leaded to our villa with private pool we stayed at villa nr 3. the place is so nice packed with exotic plants; we loved the place so much. we went to the restaurant on the beach we had to cross the street and walk true to garden of the hotel were there are 6 buidling with each buildiing 2 rooms 1 down and 1 upstaris. with a commong pool with seaview. The restaurant is right at the beach and you can eat a la carte. the choice is good but not big and sometimes items or not avaible and promised to be avaible the next day and then they weren't. the seafoods is verry fresh and tasty and good prices every dish is around 1050 lkr. The waiters Akila and Supun ( who just started working there since 4 days) gave excellent service. t's a place to relax and unwind. there are only 17 rooms in total 12 rooms and 5 villa's. the vlla was a room badroom outdoor kitchen and private pool . we booked a massage at the spa runned by a private compagny. the treatedments were good in a openair room to be intouch with nature, sounds of ocean, wind, birthsounds to get a compleet deep relaxation. Sameera the therapist was verry good iin what he does. the ladies working there were quitte poor in English. we stayed 3 night and we came back reborn. the beach is so quitte and clean. hope masstourism won't destroy this gem.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kvnw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018

A taste of luxury, it ain't that cheap but it isn't extortionate - fantastic accommodation, service and food.
The restaurant guys (Aquila and Kasun) were ON IT and amazing - made you feel very special.
The location is secluded and away from any madness, a place to really switch off and relax, very few other places to explore on foot but that isn't an issue as you have a HUGE beach and the quality of food and service means you don't need to go anywhere else.
Dumi the manager was extremely professional and helpful. The owner did a Yoga class one morning which was actually really good.
The spa looks nice but the quality of the masseuses wasn't the best, it felt a bit low rent.
We stayed in a private villa with its own pool, stunning gardens and a huge room - a real taste of luxury to end our holiday.
Highly recommend.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms would be good here...
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DarrenA764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018

Reading the comments/reviews of other travellers I have to state: one has to make some study, before the place is chosen. And only this case you have a chance to be satisfied. Wonder, if Leona.D and her friend new, what they can expect from Grand Karma.
I can not argue, that the price is set a bit high. But if 2 single (obviously good looking) girls expect from GRAND KARMA, that it offers handsome beach boys, and a lot of fun around- yes: they surely rank this place ** out of five.
To help some future travel-planners from getting disappointed, let me share some info:
The Grand Karma is located on a 4-5 kilometre long sandy beach. When I tried to count the people laying on the beach here: I counted total 5. (including ourselves). This is what we wanted – so our rate of satisfaction is maximal.
This beach was hit by the 2004 tsunami. Wiped off all bungalows, cottages, small hotels completely.
Apart from a few challengers, who already invested in this territory – the rest area remained a virgin place (you may call it coconut forest, with a sandy shore).
The investors of the GRAND KARMA found this potential interesting, and started to plant flowers, trees, bushes in their property –sometimes 6 years ago.
Made a paradise-garden out of it.
They built 5 buildings (each with 2 apartment) – plus 3 or 4 villas on the other side of the road.
Repeat: a paradise garden.
With open terrace restaurant and bar right on the beach, and a nice sweet-water pool in the yard.
Also offering AYURVEDA treatment with 2 skilled therapeutics.
You may like it, or looking for something else –there are other offers (SHANGRI LA, etc) which may more fit your demands.
To name the only difficulty is the access to the place.
Very poor quality of off-road leads to the property –which is planned to be paved in 1-2 years of time.
Thus it takes 15-20 minutes drive to Tangalle center- to find a number of restaurants.
Or a 5-10 minutes TUK-TUK drive to the nearst (small) food-store.
I liked very much the owner’s readiness to help.
I was completely satisfied with the services of the chief receptionist, , with the staffs at the restaurant,
We had one of the best fish-dinner of my life at the table, which they arranged for us right in the sand. Have to name -in special- AKILE at the maitre - we got very friendly service from him.
And gladly remember the smile of the porter –to great us days, and night

.

Room Tip: Consult with hotel: which rooms is far away from "pray" of near by shrine...
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank handhungary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018 via mobile

I’m really struggling to understand how this place has such good reviews. I stayed with a frend for 3 nights in he romantic villa. At first we were impressed by the service of the staff but things slowly slipped. The villa itself is lovely although questionable whether the price tag attached to it is worth it. It’s not really a villa. It’s a bedroom and a bathroom with a small pool and outdoor areaa. None the less it was clean and great to have our own pool.

The food at the restaurant is very bad. Breakfast was just about the only meal I could eat but all others were littered with mistakes- Galic bread left off of the ceasear salad, rice served instead of chips etc. You also annoyingingly have to order your dinner at lunchtime if you want to eat at the restaurant at dinner which is inconvenient of course.

As the food was so bad we found ourselves sting in Sunshine Cafe next door for most meals- much better food and service!

We also booked a tour and spa treatments with the hotel. The tour of Udawalawe was good until we realised we had to pay the driver and not the hotel as the man on reception had instructed. This left us with an awkward exchange with the tour operator at the end where he marched behind us into our room demanding the money. Not something you want to deal with as two young girls travelling.

The spa treatments where good although be warned they add on a 10% service charge which they do not tell you about (another way to swindle more money or if you) but I’d still suggest tipping the staff as I doubt very much that the service charge goes to them.

It was an average stay with a large price tag.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Leona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews