We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful atmosphere and fresh food”
Review of Koonwarra Store

Koonwarra Store
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Koonwarra
Price range: AU$5 - AU$30
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Cafe restaurant & regional produce Store - Gippsland produce based menu served with love served all day - breakfast lunch morning & afternoon tea plus speciality dinners /events Fully licensed handmade pies deli items drinks cakes desserts & condiments Excellent espresso Devonshire pots of tea tumerix milkshakes vegan / fresh juice local icecream Beautiful garden courtyard dining - bikes children & dogs all welcome Takeaway options newspapers post office and super friendly
Reviewed 27 March 2021

Visited here for lunch. Ordered a sausage roll to share to share and that was absolutely delicious! For main we ordered the stores beef burger. It came with a really unique root vegetable salad which was so flavoursome and fresh , coupled with thick cut skin on potato wedges. The burger itself was really fresh but the beef patty was a little bland in flavour and undercooked. I was really happy that they served my favourite drink, a wet chai but it was unfortunately prepared very weak in taste. The service was amazing, and they cooked my beef patty more upon request. Overall good dining experience.

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank 980leighah
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2020

We had an “ethical pie” which consisted of three or four minuscule bits of meat and a couple of green peas floating in a sort of pumpkin soup, all of which tasted of absolutely nothing and cost twice as much as an “unethical” pie down the road. What a joke.

Date of visit: November 2020
    • Service
1  Thank 132berndr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 October 2020

Well another couple and us dropped in on a drive to the South Gippsland country. It was lunch time so we ordered different pies with salads, I had a chicken and leek and it was absolutely fabulous, the salad was nice and crispy with a sauce to die for. My companions were all impressed with their meals. We sat outside under the dappled shade of a cherry blossom tree, the weather was kind. We were in the middle of a quaint garden. The Food store is now ethical and so all the food is sourced ethically. I would highly recommend trying out the place. The service is friendly but not overbearing and we found out that mum was the cook/chef.

Date of visit: October 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ash R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 January 2020

They have now changed the store to an ethical store where they give you organic product. Drinks where really bad due to ethical milk, menu is massively over priced for what u are getting. Truly disappointed!

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank Saveyreviewsjason
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 August 2019

I have reviewed this as average as we eat out often and compared to other establishments it does not provide the quality required compared to the price that is being asked.
The is nothing wrong with the simple meals but shoestring chips a handful of salad and some deep fried fish you are simply better off elsewhere.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank marksJ1387JQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Koonwarra Store also viewed

 
Meeniyan, Gippsland
Leongatha, Gippsland
 

Been to Koonwarra Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.