We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome experience”
Review of Koonwarra Store

Koonwarra Store
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Koonwarra
Price range: AU$5 - AU$30
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Cafe restaurant & regional produce Store - Gippsland produce based menu served with love served all day - breakfast lunch morning & afternoon tea plus speciality dinners /events Fully licensed handmade pies deli items drinks cakes desserts & condiments Excellent espresso Devonshire pots of tea tumerix milkshakes vegan / fresh juice local icecream Beautiful garden courtyard dining - bikes children & dogs all welcome Takeaway options newspapers post office and super friendly
Reviewed 10 October 2020

Well another couple and us dropped in on a drive to the South Gippsland country. It was lunch time so we ordered different pies with salads, I had a chicken and leek and it was absolutely fabulous, the salad was nice and crispy with a sauce to die for. My companions were all impressed with their meals. We sat outside under the dappled shade of a cherry blossom tree, the weather was kind. We were in the middle of a quaint garden. The Food store is now ethical and so all the food is sourced ethically. I would highly recommend trying out the place. The service is friendly but not overbearing and we found out that mum was the cook/chef.

Date of visit: October 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ash R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2020

They have now changed the store to an ethical store where they give you organic product. Drinks where really bad due to ethical milk, menu is massively over priced for what u are getting. Truly disappointed!

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank Saveyreviewsjason
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 August 2019

I have reviewed this as average as we eat out often and compared to other establishments it does not provide the quality required compared to the price that is being asked.
The is nothing wrong with the simple meals but shoestring chips a handful of salad and some deep fried fish you are simply better off elsewhere.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank marksJ1387JQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 August 2019 via mobile

We stopped in at the Koonwarra Store on a whim for lunch and had a beautiful GF Burger & fries and the kids had GF Fish & Chips ... all with yummy homemade tomato sauce on the side ..
The staff were very friendly and approachable..

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank Sharyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 May 2019

The Koonwarra Store has long been known for it's 'slow food' but today's experience took it to a new level as our Mother's Day lunch experience was dire. We booked for 1.30pm., at their suggestion. A one-hour wait for our table - outside in the cold - was one thing, but once we were seated it was another 45 minutes before our food arrived - the starter at the same time as the main. I ordered fish and chips and the fish was so overcooked, tough and dry it was inedible. My husband had the salmon with mashed potatoes, and the potatoes were cold. The friendly waiting staff did their best but nobody seemed to be in charge. Nobody asked how our food was, if we would like dessert, coffee, etc., and not one apology for the unacceptably long wait. A complete shambles.

Also ... somebody needs to be in charge of cleaning. We sat at the back corner table, near the kitchen window, and the cobwebs under the shelf were impressive. And the loo is horrible. The doors are so grimy that you want to wash your hands again after touching them. And the splashes on the wall near the wash basin have been there for far too long. It's not good enough. It's looking very, very shabby.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Koonwarra Store also viewed

 
Meeniyan, Gippsland
Leongatha, Gippsland
 

Been to Koonwarra Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.