We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing place, didn't want to leave”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Green Farm Barn

Light and airy, a great space for 12 to 14 people to get together
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Light and airy, a great space for 12 to 14 people to get together
Spring lambs enjoying the sunshine Green Farm Barn
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Light and airy, a great space for 12 to 14 people to get together
Spring lambs enjoying the sunshine
Green Farm Barn
Fully equipped kitchen
Wonder around the farm
Cow shed super king bedroom with en suite
Luxurious bedroom
Dining area
Relax in our Sauna
Wander the farm and meet the animals - all very friendly!
Our private Farm Spa
Why not book a treatment using wonderful ESPA products
Spa treatments, relax by the log burning stove after
Fairies in Fairyland?
Farm Spa - We use Espa
Are you wanting to help with hay making?
Signposts point the way around the many walks right outside Green Farm Barn
Walking in the ancient woodlands - a popular pastime for our guests
All our animals are very friendly
We are very proud to be highly accredited by VisitEngland and Produced in Kent. These are our values
Layout of the property: 4 bedrooms in the barn (see other plan), 1 in the Cow shed
Floorplan for the barn - start allocating your rooms!
We are proud to have received this reward for our work with Kent Wildlife 2 years running
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Shadoxhurst, Ashford, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
k8candy
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing place, didn't want to leave”
Reviewed 30 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Had a fantastic weekend here with 12 friends in June for my birthday using both the main barn and the cow shed. The location was excellent - close enough to London and main roads and yet in peaceful, relaxing countryside with wonderful walks. The barn itself was perfect, very well equipped - especially the kitchen which is a rare find - and a great open plan space for entertaining with large groups. The accommodation has been sympathetically restored retaining original features whilst being practical for large groups and very luxurious. Even the grounds have been loving attended to with stunning planting.

It was great to have the maps for different walks around the fields and woodland which we used and ended up in 'Fairyland' which was magical! It is great to see what Martin and MaryAnn have done with the land and how they are carefully considering the environment and social impact in all they do - we saw some of the garden planting they have started which looked exciting - and fresh duck eggs were a treat!

The newly opened spa was a welcome treat and the massages were wonderful. The hot tub was a relaxing added extra which we thoroughly enjoyed although it was a shame it closed at 10pm as once you have fed 13 people for dinner there was no time for an evening dip! Not sure how the hot tub situation will work once the spa is properly up and running but we were glad our group were able to enjoy it in private for a few sessions.

We had a wonderful weekend in this stunning location which was perfect for my birthday - I hope we didn't disturb with our celebrations! The barn was absolutely spot on for large groups and had everything we needed, we didn't want to leave. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the property and will definitely be back! Thank you to Martin and MaryAnn

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2016
Hi k8. Thanks for putting so much effort into this review, we do appreciate it. You were great guests (as most of our guests are, of course) and no, you didn't disturb us. Rest assured that when you come again, you will still have private use of the hot-tub & walled garden; we will keep our farm spa as small and special so, even if we have spa guests, there will be plenty of time for you guys. We do understand your thoughts about the 10pm cut-off; I'm sorry that it impacted on you but glad that it didn't detract from your enjoyment of your stay - we do have to fix a closing time as we have had some abuse in the past. Please come again soon, we'll look forward to seeing you again. Thanks, Martin & MaryAnn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theresebe...
Witley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful Barn”
Reviewed 5 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We have just come back from a fantastic long weekend at Green Farm Barn for our dad's 60th. The accommodation was perfect. It was cosy, clean and the beds were super comfy! We loved the open plan layout of the barn and the kitchen was well equipped. The hot tub, sauna and walled garden were a great added bonus, especially as we had beautiful weather. A few of us had excellent massages too. Martin and Maryann were really kind and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Highly recommend this holiday barn and no doubt we will be back again in the future!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 May 2016
Hi. Thanks very much for your review; really de;lighted that you all hade such a good time - the first time that our guests were abble to use the new spa walled garden to maximum effect. Looking forward to seeing you back here some time. Best wishes, Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
505Rach
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Just fantastic”
Reviewed 25 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Had a great time at Green Farm Barn. Super easy to get to from Ashford station, making it pretty much the perfect place for a weekend out of London. The barn is finished to a really high standard and is the perfect place for a get together. The kitchen has everything you need for a self catering weekend away, including plastic champagne flutes for use in the spa/hot tub which was a great addition.
Being able to get eggs from the farm and having milk in the fridge for a cup of tea on arrival was also a super nice touch.
I would very much recommend a trip to Green Farm Barn.

Thanks Martin!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2016
Thank you Rach, you were great guests and left the place super-tidy. You'll have to do more with our private farm spa than just enjoy the hot-tub next time. Take care, MaryAnn and Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah F
West Chiltington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A place that ticks all the boxes.”
Reviewed 2 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We have just had a wonderful stay at this lovely property. The hot tub and sauna were well used to rest and relax after a day out sightseeing. The location if perfect for visiting a whole variety of local attractions, we ticked off a whole load of National Trust properties. If you get the chance the railway is brilliant and easily accessible with a wheel chair. Martin and Mary Ann made us feel very welcome and we saw the new baby calf before we left. We will definitely return for another visit and recommend it to our friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sauna
Liked least: Limited mobile phone signal
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Apr 2016
Thanks for the review, looking forward to seeing you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bambino79...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Luxury weekend!”
Reviewed 3 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

My family had a fantastic stay at Green Farm Barn, where we were celebrating my Dad's 70th birthday. There was lots of space for 7 adults and 5 children, including a large dining table and lovely sofa area with woodburner. The kitchen was great and well equipped, and the children loved going to feed the chickens and sheep in the morning! The property is decorated immaculately throughout and feels very luxurious. When asked where my niece wanted to go on holiday next, she said she only wanted to come back here! Thanks for a lovely stay.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing