We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Last minute find in a cosy dog friendly place”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Swallow Barn

A rural retreat with walks from the door.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A rural retreat with walks from the door.
Open plan layout making it light and airy.  Comfy living room with  dining area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
A rural retreat with walks from the door.
Open plan layout making it light and airy.
Comfy living room with  dining area.
Double bedroom with ensuite shower room
Fully equipped kitchen.
Enjoy summer evenings on the patio
Rated 4-star by Visit England
Chelmorton village in the Peak District National Park
Close to Bakewell, home of the famous 'Bakewell Pudding'
Convenient for Buxton Festival - opera and literature in the hills.
Moors and heather - away from it all....
Walk or cycle across a spectacular viaduct and through tunnels on the Monsal Trail.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Chelmorton, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Diane W
2 reviews
“Last minute find in a cosy dog friendly place”
Reviewed 10 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Fantastic service and hosting, no bother and the place is small and cosy - just what I needed to retreat into the peak district. Highly recommend this place to get away from the hustle and bustle of hectic everyday life.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Mar 2017
Thanks Diane, glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nancy8m90
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful relaxing stay”
Reviewed 7 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Loved this place; we had a fabulous short stay at Swallow Barn. Barn was well equipped and well presented; spotlessly clean and bright and fresh. Great walking and cycling country and hosts were more than happy to advise on the best places to go. Very welcoming.
Would definitely go back another time. Thank you so much for a lovely stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferW...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great cottage, fab location”
Reviewed 7 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We stayed here mid-December and will definitely go back! The cottage is well equipped and really cosy and clean, with great walking routes either straight from the front door or with good access by public transport. The owners, Gill and Dave, were so welcoming and very knowledgable about the local area, they really went out of their way to make sure we had a lovely time during our stay. Very dog friendly owners, our dog Jasmine had as much of a relaxing holiday as we did!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2017
Glad you enjoyed your stay Jennifer, hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon J
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good base for Peak District”
Reviewed 21 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

This was our second stay at Swallow Barn. The cottage is cosy and warm, just right for two. Chelmorton is a good base for exploring the northern Peak District, with easy access to Buxton by car or bus. There are lots of good walks, you can walk straight from the cottage if you don't want to drive. The cottage is easy to live in, with a good kitchen area, comfortable bed, good TV reception and effective shower. Wifi may be a bit dodgy, but this is the countryside! It worked OK for us, but you may have to ask the owner to reboot it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Audeade
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cozy and clean”
Reviewed 17 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We found Swallow Barn perfect for the two of us, with good facilities. The wi-fi was a bit patchy but once rebooted was much better. Chelmorton is a lovely village and a good base for walking. Even though we don't have a car we found it easy to get around, as the Trans Peak bus service on the main road is good (although a little pricey!) if you don't mind an easy 5-10 minute walk from the village. We would definitely stay again if we return to the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Good location
Liked least: Patchy wi-fi & phone signal (can't be helped!)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Nov 2016
Thank you for reviewing your stay in Swallow Barn and glad to hear that you got around ok on public transport. The Transpeak bus service is really good, you can get on it to go to Derby in one direction and Manchester in the other direction. Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing