We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely converted barn in a tranquile country...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Swallow Barn

A rural retreat with walks from the door.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A rural retreat with walks from the door.
Open plan layout making it light and airy.  Comfy living room with  dining area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
31 reviews
A rural retreat with walks from the door.
Open plan layout making it light and airy.
Comfy living room with  dining area.
Double bedroom with ensuite shower room
Fully equipped kitchen.
Enjoy summer evenings on the patio
Rated 4-star by Visit England
Chelmorton village in the Peak District National Park
Close to Bakewell, home of the famous 'Bakewell Pudding'
Convenient for Buxton Festival - opera and literature in the hills.
Moors and heather - away from it all....
Walk or cycle across a spectacular viaduct and through tunnels on the Monsal Trail.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Chelmorton, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
99shirley
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very poor, does not warrent a 4*”
Reviewed 25 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

When we arrived the area was quiet and lovely, just what we wanted and was a good base to surrounding area's. The cottage itself was less than what we expected, it smelt damp and there was so much dust under the bed it would have filled the hoover in one go. The windows were dirty and there was no way of opening them, and there was dirt under the lounge rug (we pulled this up because of our dog and wish we hadn't!!).
We had previously asked the owner if the garden was totally secure, but again this was not the case. We have a Beagle who would have jumped over the wall (low in places) and there was even a gap in the wall which the owners had placed a piece of plastic mesh - again our dog would have gone straight through this.
We did speak to the owner who had offered to place some boards up, but we had said that our dog would still get through. Then she brought round a chain which was rusty saying that we could chain him up, ( oh my god, I have never chained our dog up and don't believe that any dog should be chained up ). So we packed up and left.
I would not recommend this cottage to anyone until it as an upgrade and a thorough clean.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Coming home
Liked least: All of it. Don't like being lied to.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Oct 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your visit as we hope all our guests are completely satisfied, which has always been the case.
To answer the points in your complaint....
Our current guest has multiple allergies and is on her 10th visit due to the guaranteed spotless cleanliness of the property. This includes vacuuming under all the furniture, including the bed and rugs, after each visit (the bed is easy to move as it on castors on a solid floor). The 'windows' are actually rooflights in the ceiling and easy to open with the pole provided. They are cleaned regularly, both inside and out and, along with the full height patio doors, ensure that the property is lovely and light and airy.
During the 13 years we have been letting Swallow Barn no doggy guest has ever escaped as there is a surrounding wall which varies from 3ft - 7ft in height. The piece of plastic mesh you refer to has 2 inch square holes; no dog could go 'straight through'. Had you explained when you booked that your beagle required a 6ft high fence (as you have had to build around your own home) we would explained that the property was not suitable. Also, we accepted your last minute request for you to bring a second dog, a puppy, which we would not have done had we known it was 10 weeks old and not housetrained (which was the reason I asked you to roll the rug up out of the way).
We hope you enjoy other holidays in the Peak District, as you say it is a lovely quiet area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msurmacz
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely converted barn in a tranquile country village”
Reviewed 20 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

It was our first trip to the Peak District so we wanted a good central location but in a quite location. Swallow barn offer just that located in a lovely village with a superb country pub, The Church Inn. Places like Buxton, Castleton and Bakewell are all within a 20-30 minute drive away and well worth a visit. The converted barn itself was great with all of the required amenities and furnished to a clean and modern standard. There are some super folders that have been created by the owners for you to use and explore the areas for walking and cycling. So overall a very enjoyable stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim L
1 review
“Perfect location for bicycle touring!”
Reviewed 17 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We booked Swallow Barn for the week before the Eroica vintage cycle event because it was available in a time when bookings were very tight for the area, and the helpful responses of the owners. It turned out to be a terrific find, a short drive from both Bakewell and Buxton, gorgeous setting in pretty Chelmorton, and a perfectly comfortable self-catered lodging. Loved the walks, the bicycling in the area, and the perfect pub (the Church Inn) just up the street. Lovely, serene getaway any time of the year. Hosts are excellent and very knowledgeable of the area.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2016
Glad you enjoyed your stay Tim and well done completing Eroica Britannia. We got round the 30-mile route and are hoping next year (with a bit more training) to do it again but without having to push the bikes up all the hills...!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lizzipark...
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Real Gem of a place to spend a holiday”
Reviewed 20 June 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed here in April for the second time,was beautifully redecorated,a real surprise!
Very friendly owners,very helpful & approachable.
Lovely little village setting,breath of fresh air.

We can't wait to return in September,highly recommended ,ten stars!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quaintness of the property & setting
Liked least: Loved the whole experience
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2016
Thanks for your kind review Lizzi and glad you liked the new kitchen! See you in September.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ann D
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
“wonderfull stay in a charming and well equiped home”
Reviewed 18 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed 1 week in this nice barn. The interior is very cosy & decorated with taste.
Well equiped kitchen, good seats to read books, nice private terrace & excellent bed. The barn is situated in a quiet village with nice walking routes in the vicinity, in between the Black & the White Peaks.
The cottage is well kept & the owners are very nice.
Perfect for a couple in search for a peacefull stay.
Thanks to the owners!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the decoration & the equipment
Liked least: the boiler in the bathroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 May 2016
Thanks Willy. Pleased you enjoy your stay in the Peak District and hope to see you again sometime, regards, Gill & Dave
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing